We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central to central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Exhibition Hotel
Ranked #17 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Central to central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here to catch the airport train for a morning flight and the location was excellent literally right across the road from the station. Room was large with a type of sitting room and was much more than we expected for $119 booked right at the last minute. Didn't experience any issues with noise but we stayed on a Thursday night. Would stay again just for the sheer convenience for central station.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    54
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
60
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Thanks to Troy and his staff. From the time that we made the reservation to the time that we were greeted, the service was excellent. We were advised when the booking was made that we would have a larger room, as we flew from Canada direct to Sydney. The charm of this hotel is wonderful and so close to central station (across the road) busses and taxi's, only 15 minute walk to Circular Quay. The restraunt has a great variety of food dishes and are resonably priced for the location. The rooms are well appointed with flat screen tv, clock radio, air conditioning, seperate bathroom, which looks like that they have been upgraded recently. There is a elevator to all floors, If you are looking for a hotel close to all the ammenities in Sydney, then look no further. The Exhibition gets 5 stars from our stay and would stay again and recommend to our other friends that go to Sydney.
OInce again, thanks Troy and your staff

Room Tip: Book early, and do not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MACK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Royal Exhibition three nights, including New Years Eve 2011. We arrived early and the staff allowed us to stow our luggage while we toured the city. The location is great-walking distance to Central train station, which makes getting around a breeze. Distance to airport about 10 minutes and distance to all the attractions about 10 minutes. Multiple trains go to the Central train station stop, so no worries finding the right train. Check-in is at the bar downstairs. We didn't find the room noisy, but we always wear earplugs to sleep-even at home. My husband had hurt his knee and the bar staff downstairs provided an ice bag each night. A good value if you want to get away from the touristy area of The Rocks & Circular Quay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussielover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The location of the hotel is fairly good - easy walking distance to many attractions. Also, the room is of good size. But when it comes to sleeping, this was probably the worst place I've ever stayed at.

Our room had windows to the street. As there are some 24h pubs located down the street, there was constant noise on Thu and Fri nights until late. The windows are very thin and every passing truck will be very easy to hear.

The cleaner started vacuum cleaning the floor at 8am in the morning with the noisiest vacuum cleaner so no possibility for sleeping in - the noise was very loud in the room.

Also the noises from the corridor and sometimes even from other rooms can be clearly heard. This makes it feel like there was no privacy at all.

Also, there were problems with electricity twice - the room had a total blackout.

So if you party until late and don't mind getting up early, perhaps you will enjoy your stay. For others, I recommend avoiding this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

A combination of bistro, pub and hotel, the place is placed directly in front of Central Station, which makes it very practical if you need to catch a train early in the morning. 

Be aware however that a lot of people going out on weekend nights go back home in a train, so the surroundings can get a little busy and noisy. 

Our second floor room was quite quiet, but it was also in bad need of a full restoration. Picture stained carpets and a general air of weariness. 

Good for one night, if you need to be close to the station to catch a train. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redderzooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,700 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Exhibition Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Exhibition Hotel

Property: Royal Exhibition Hotel
Address: 86-88 Chalmers Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,353 - ₹ 8,946
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Exhibition Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly opposite Central Station, with direct link from Airport. Only 10minutes from heart of the city, with Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, The Rocks and city shopping at our door. We have 10 refurbished Standard Double rooms rated 3 star by the Australian Accommodation Association and 4 Deluxe Boutique rooms all serviced by a modern elevator. All our rooms are tastefully decorated, and have queen beds and feature their own ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen television, coffee and tea making facilities, refrigerator, safe and are all serviced daily.Facilities with the hotel, Public Bar, Gaming facilities including TAB, Restaurant serving lunch and dinner 7 days, Beer Garden and Terrace Cocktail Bar and Functions area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Exhibition Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing