We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Walking Tour!”

I'm Free Walking Tours
Ranked #2 of 341 Tours in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover Sydney, on a Free Tour at 10:30am and 2:30pm everyday. Join your friendly and knowledgeable local tour guide as we reveal the history, stories and secrets of Sydney. This 3 hour easy walking tour meets everyday at the anchor in Town Hall Square beside the Sydney Town Hall building. Rain, hail or shine, no booking needed, just show up and there will be a guide in a bright green T-shirt to show you around. Or join us at 6pm each evening for a one and a half hour exploration of The Rocks our most historical district, starting from the water side of Cadmans Cottage. How are we Free? We work on a tips only basis, so everyone can enjoy Sydney as much as we do, whatever your budget.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Walking Tour!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Had a great time! Good information, great guide and learnt a lot! Would highly recommend it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaede02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    194
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sydney in a nutshell”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This tour was a great start for our 4 day trip in Sydney. Although I have been to Sydney many times before (many years ago), my husband hadn't been before and I wanted to go on a tour that would give us an introduction to the main attractions/areas before we really explored it on our own.
The 3 hour tour goes to the main areas of Sydney and gives you a brief introduction to each area passed. It gives you the opportunity to figure out if an attraction is something you are interested in and allows you to figure out if it is worth visiting on your own.
You also get a great map at the start of the tour that contains information about cheap eats, transport and tours. You can also find this map at some Sydney tourist information booths.
We had Justine as our tour guide who was friendly and interactive. There were about 20 of us on the tour of all different age groups. We met at the anchor outside Town Hall and ended the tour at The Rocks.
The tour guide makes it clear that although it is a 'free tour' you can give them a gratuity at the end for what you beleive it is worth. I guess you can say it's like a 'try before you buy', which is great.
I highly recommend this tour to any age group. It is best to do this at the start of the trip so that you know where to go and what to do on your own while you are in Sydney.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fauzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Do this first!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This 3 hour tour is a good introduction to inner Sydney. Ross the tour guide was informative, and answered questions throughly. I would recommed that you do it at the beginning of your visit so you get an idea of what you may like to come back to. We were happy to tip for the good tour. The tour guide makes it clear at the beginning that you can pay or not. When the tour ended we had lunch at the Museum of Contemporary Art, a wonderful view over the Harbour Bridge and Opera House.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A introduction to Sydney”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were only in Sydeny for 3 days and due to flight times and other planned activities we could only do the tour on the 3rd day of our visit.

The Tour starts outside the Town Hall which is easy to get to. We arrived at 10.15 for the tour to start at 10.30 and there was already plenty of people waiting. The tour Guide arrived and spoke to each couple or group of people individually and handed out a map with lots of useful info on it, such as cheap activities or meals and other free local acctivites.

The Tour lasted about 2hr 45 in total with plently of stops ever 5 to 10 minutes. You are free to ask questions etc as you walk or at any of the stops. The Guide was clear insightful and informative and you could tell she had a real passion for the tour and for Sydney.

The guide makes it clear that she works on a tip basis and it is completly up to you what you paid, if you wanted to pay.

I would reccomend that if you do this tour, do it at the begining of your stay in Sydney as this will really help you find your way around. And the Map will help you find value for money meals and attractions as unfortunatly Sydney is not cheap!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
“Tips and recommendations”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great help in sorting out a night in the city!! Good tips and recommendations!! Keep it up but congrats

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed I'm Free Walking Tours also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to I'm Free Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing