We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sangria and Tapas ..hidden gem”
Review of Subsolo

Subsolo
Ranked #128 of 6,793 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 18 - US$ 36
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: NSW Spanish Restaurant of the Year. NSW Tapas Restaurant of the Year. Subsolo Restaurant & Bar is Sydney’s finest urban dining space providing modern tapas, fantastic wines, cocktails & award-winning Spanish cuisine. Located on Sydney most prestigious retail corner.
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Went here for a work dinner and will definitely be making it a regular for myself and friends. We had a large group and they served us promptly with a smile. The tapas was great and the Sangria was the best Ive ever had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli85AUS, Public Relations Manager at Subsolo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Megan B,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience. We're pleased you enjoyed the evening and also the food. I'll be sure to pass on your comments and compliments to our team.
Thanks for your recommendation and visiting, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Gracias,
Juliana P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2017

We were a large group and Subsolo were amazing.
Each of us ordered a tapas each and then we added a few Paella and a couple of Espatada mixed grills.
It worked out to be $30 per person and we had ordered
enough food to fill our large table of big fat men. lol

Every thing we ate was amazing. The flavours were devine. All of us were happy with every plate that came out.
The peppers filled with Lamb ragout was one of my favourites as was the Lamb Shoulder salad with mint and pomegranate molasses.

Food came out in a timely manner, with no long delays. All the staff always seemed to have big smiles and helpful, they could of maybe come to the table to ask for drinks maybe a couple of times more. Cocktails were over priced, in my opinion, and it did stop me from ordering any. The wine was a tad pricey for the bottle but it is to be expected and didnt stop me and a couple of others sharing a few bottles.

Would i go back? Hell YES!
Would i recommend Subsolo to others? Without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Klayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Critic380, Public Relations Manager at Subsolo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Klayton,
Thank you very much, for such great review! We work really hard to offer the best food in the best positive environment, so we are happy to see that reflected on your last visit. Hope to see you and your friend again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Subsolo's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a great restaurant !!! On a scale of 10 it's 9/10
In a relatively quiet part of King Street near Elizabeth Street, is an unobtrusive entry taking you downstairs to a quality room at basement level. Away from the noise of the street at lunchtime, this is an excellent place for a business lunch or just lunch with friends.
The lunch menu is long enough and offers a good range of tapas, paella and other mains.
Two of us had Croquettes, Paella Balls and Pork Belly. Quite simply very good. My favourite was the pork belly which will be a repeat the next time we're here.
Check out the menu and book yourself in.
Note that the tapas are big serves which are suitable for two or three diners.
Service is attentive and relaxed.
We'll be back

1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliana P, Public Relations Manager at Subsolo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Hi Frank, thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. Your feedback is really important. We hope to see you soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We were staying at the Sheraton on the Park just 2 blocks away. We found this restaurant by accident and ate here our first night in Sydney. Wonderful Tapas selections and nice wine list. We came back in to Sydney 2 weeks later and decided to do the 4 course meal with wine pairings. Wow, what a great meal. Wait staff is wonderful and friendly. Highly recommend!

Thank drwillie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli85AUS, Public Relations Manager at Subsolo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear drwillie78,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us and others with a review of your visit and experience here at Subsolo Restaurant.

We're pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and experience, I'll be sure to pass on your comments and compliments onto our team.
Thanks for visiting us, and we look forward to you joining us again.

Gracias,
Juliana P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in here before a show at The State Theatre with a few friends. Chose a great tea get of tapas to share between ourselves. All food was of excellent quality and delicious, particularly the chorizo with black pudding. Servings are small and quite expensive so be aware that your cost could increase without to much attention. Entry may be difficult for those with walking problems.

Thank bulegila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juli85AUS, Public Relations Manager at Subsolo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Bulegila,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your experience. We're pleased to hear that there were elements of your visit you enjoyed and also appreciate your constructive comments also. I'll be sure to pass these onto our management team.

I'm glad you enjoyed the dishes. I"ll be sure to let our chef and team know. We value all guest comments and are always looking for ways to improve our offering.

Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again in the future.

Gracias,
Juliana P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Subsolo also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Subsolo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing