We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent last meal in Sydney”
Review of Mercado

Mercado
Ranked #73 of 6,957 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Located in Sydney’s CBD and housed in the historic 350 George Street building, Mercado is at the gateway of the city’s bustling and beautiful European-style Angel Place. We work with many small farmers, growers and producers to source the finest ingredients. These tireless people work as we do with the love and care for producing only the best. Just like in a market place our menu changes from week to week. Our Spanish/Moorish influenced menu is designed to share and is complemented by our Spanish-wine list. Mercado is about the revival of the old mixed with the new. Chef, Jason Dean’s passion for food derives directly from a love of reviving forgotten kitchen skills. Through whole animal butchery, meat curing, bread baking & preserving we aim to continue these traditions by hand with a great respect to the way cooking was and how we can use each method in the modern kitchen.
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Service was excellent, we didn't feel rushed at all. Staff even took the time to provide us with some travel tips, after hearing about our upcoming trip.

With a group of four we ordered: polenta & parmesan fritto, kingfish ceviche, 4 Spicy beef empanadas, spiced cauliflower, Turkish style pumpkin ravioli, wood roasted flathead and the Wagyu rump. Plenty of food, but we absolutely cleared our plates. Don't miss out on the polenta, it was great.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ATravelingNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

We were looking for something close to our hotel & found Mercado on TA. Flunked the last table & fantastic friendly service from beginning to end. The grilled octopus & waygu rump were the standouts for us, nicely washed down with Torbeks Shiraz. Also the biggest selection of Spanish Albariño I've seen in one place. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank oztraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

LI booked Mercado for a work dinner for 30 people and we had the set $65 menu which is excellent value for money.

Absolute flawless service from our waitress. Our wines were never empty and constantly topped up - I lost count.

Standout dishes were the smoked hummus with flat bread, the turkish ravioli with yoghurt and burnt butter, the grilled chorizo and lastly the suckling pig which was tender and juicy with crackling!! Wow and I mean wow!

I have walked past this place a million times and never noticed it - what a hidden little gem.

Highly recommend especially for a corporate dinner and I would definitely book again. Looking forward to returning!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank alwayshungry75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Another great find via TripAdvisor. I love Spanish food and although tapas all the way in Sydney seemed like a risk, we were not disappointed. Everything was delicious from the warm, soft, perfectly seasoned flatbread to the wonderful pumpkin raviolis. Our waitress even informed us they had fresh truffle and offered a few slices for the top of the pasta. What a treat! The servers were attentive and let us order as we went. The servings are pretty generous. Our group of 3 had about 2 starters and 3 entrees which was plenty. Also a really cool vibe tucked away behind busy George Street. We really enjoyed our experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank wanderingmillenial24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Don't get me wrong - very pleasant when it arrived. I was dining alone, and have never experienced being ignored by fast moving staff quite that much anywhere else. As in actually surveying the table to see what was needed and then moving on, while I was waiting, hands folded, trying to make eye contact. Just silly. Food was good but not spectacular. Wine list is amazing.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercado also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mercado? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing