We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
13
8
9
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
8
9
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

New owners have done a great job. Very friendly and helpful. Let us in later than normal and was really nice to deal with. Even gave me a beer on arrival!
Room was neat and tidy and bathroom was clearly recently updated. Great proximity to the Big Banana, family enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 752zoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliestar, Manager at Sapphire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thanks for the feedback! We’ve worked hard to freshen up property so we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The room was Set out well for a family. Double bed and three single beds. A table and chairs and basic kitchenette.
The room was very Musky and outdated but useable. We were just grateful for a night out of the tents.
Had Cockroaches and rat poo throughout the room.
Entire place inside and out Really needs an over haul.
Looked good in pics but not worth staying at for the money. Very disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank TideyTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliestar, Manager at Sapphire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there, sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay but I'm pleased to report that this week Sapphire Motel opened under new management. We have spent a lot of time (and love) doing a total freshen/facelift up with new décor and fresh clean crisp linen. We hope you'll give the Sapphire another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Where to start..terrible room really dated and creepy and smelly like it has been closed since ages (and I really believe it considering we were the only customers)
We came back in the room at 10 pm and we couldn't go in because of a million of bugs all on the outside floor so we called the owners which he came to us with the worst attitude ever talking to us (we are italian) in a very racist way
I asked for the refund and he surprisingly gave to us telling us that that was the very first time in his all career..Whatever

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Ilaria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliestar, Manager at Sapphire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there, sorry to hear you had a terrible stay but I'm pleased to report that this week Sapphire Motel opened under new management. We have spent a lot of time (and love) doing a total freshen/facelift up with new décor. We've also had a major pest control and tided up the gardens which should help the bug situation. We hope you'll give the Sapphire another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

The motel wasn't very busy. The motel is old but the price reflects that, the owner was really friendly and helpful, the air conditioning worked ok, but the kicker for me was the bed, it was just too hard for my preference.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dinkum23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliestar, Manager at Sapphire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there, sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay but I'm pleased to report that this week Sapphire Motel opened under new management. We have spent a lot of time (and love) doing a total freshen/facelift up with new décor and fresh clean crisp linen. We hope you'll give the Sapphire another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Can't fault the hosts for friendliness and service, having accepted our booking over the phone for New Year's Eve the night before.

The room was a bit dated and somewhat small but generally clean. Fine for a Dad & daughter, besides anyone staying in their room all day at Coffs Harbour needs to get out more- you're only minutes from some wonderful beaches.

However the bathroom was too small and very tired- in need of an overhaul, and a clean- the grouting was exhibiting some mould, and both the ceiling fan and window flyscreen badly needed cleaning. Plus dirt/dust in corners near the sink area.

The door was stating to delaminate at the bottom, so too the very old storage cupboard. In fact, the storage needs to be rethought into something more efficient given the room size.

There was a 'blue cheese' smell in the fridge which I eventually traced to the ice in the icebox (I blame some previous occupant). The hosts did come to help earlier when I requested and had mitigated the smell with vanilla.

There's a pool and a BBQ area- both utilised by us, although the BBQ could do with an upgrade.

You're on the highway so there's some road noise but there's buildings in front of you and the back row is set back and with several buildings should be quieter.

As far as I could tell,there's no internet/wi-fi service.

The main feeling I get is the hosts just need a bit of help and it would be a much nicer place. Perhaps contract cleaners once a week to assist plus some new fittings would make all the difference.

Room Tip: Back row will probably be the quietest
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeaJayOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliestar, Manager at Sapphire Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm pleased to report that this week Sapphire Motel opened under new management. We have spent a lot of time (and love) doing a total freshen/facelift up with new décor and fresh clean crisp linen. We've also got a great new BBQ area with new BBQ and setting, pool furniture etc. We hope you'll give the Sapphire another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews