We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Canberra of my childhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brassey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brassey Hotel
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Canberra of my childhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

As a boy growing up in Canberra, the Brassey is a trip down memory lane. It has the look and feel of Canberra 40 years ago. An 'old fashioned' hotel in many ways with some squeaky floors in the passage way. Great for work, near Parliament, Manuka and Civic. Very clean room, very comfortable. Very good value and much more soul that shiny lifeless hotels nearby. Breakfast service a little slow though the food was fine. An easy choice and my next stay will be here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuTravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    224
    96
    35
    20
See reviews for
72
178
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I can't understand all the bad reviews. I just spent the weekend in this charming motel, yes it is a bit dated but, the rooms were large and clean, the staff were very helpful and welcoming and it's just a short walk to lots of Canberra's activities and restaurants.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is my second visit. As a mum with child it is a friendly, helpful place with well sized rooms and well placed to visit question or eat at Manuka shops

Room Tip: The rooms with a queen and single are big with room for a rollaway. Very family friendly. Have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My traveling companion picked the Brassey and I was very nervous after reading the reviews. However, I believe it is a delightful place in a lovely setting. It is a historic hotel so it is older but I think that makes it even more charming. Our room was large and well appointed. We walked from the hotel along the lake front to the National Art Gallery (20 minute walk) and then on the National Portrait Gallery. . Franklin street with its restauant and shops is only a short drive away. The whole experience was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woy Woy, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I travelled by train with my 84 year old mother, I was a bit reserved as I had read the reports of staff members being rude. We did not find any of this, we were treated courteously, and a staff member even carried my mum's bag up the stairs for her. I loved the size of the room, a twin share, the bathroom was also a good size. One thing I did not think of, was to ask for a ground floor room, maybe none of the ground floors were twins, it was a bit of a walk for my mum up 3 flights of stairs. We were lucky even though the shower was over the bath it was low enough for mum to still get it in, so not a problem. This was entirely my fault as I did not ask in the first place, but we still managed. If travelling with elderly people I would call a taxi to go to Parliament House, it is a lot further than it looks, especially when you have to walk around when you get there. Ok for the young and fit. We caught a taxi each time after this, each trip I paid $10, had five trips, including to and from the station, so it was still cheaper than hiring a car. It is a 15 minute slow stroll to Kingston shops, and a short walk down the the water, it was beautiful in the evening. We both liked the decor, felt it went with the hotel, lovely little sitting rooms with verandas around the place. The breakfast was good, the pancakes lovely, fruit was also nice. The usual eggs bacon, toast, were also good. I would stay there again, and our experience of Canberra and the Renaissance Exhibition was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
0.1 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.6 km away
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
1.7 km away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brassey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brassey Hotel

Property: Brassey Hotel
Address: Belmore Gardens & Macquarie St | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,010 - ₹ 11,433
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brassey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the footsteps of the Parliamentary Triangle, the Brassey Hotel is set on two and a half acres of manicured gardens and lawns. This 1920’s hotel has old world charm with all the comforts of a quality property, with a range of accommodation options. Each room offers complimentary WiFi, reverse air-conditioning, writing desk and Foxtel. Positioned within one of Canberra’s most prestigious suburbs of Barton, you will be a short stroll from all the iconic attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery of Australia, the National Library, Old Parliament House and Lake Burley Griffin. The Brassey Hotel is metres from the Realm Precinct which allows guests to partake in all of the amenities afforded by the 5 Star Hotel Realm. The Precinct offers a range of dining options, including French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brassey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brassey Of Canberra Hotel Canberra
Brassey Hotel Canberra
Brassey Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing