We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“four stars, but only just”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brassey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brassey Hotel
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“four stars, but only just”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Despite the fact there was a large wedding in the venue the night of our stay, our room was very quiet. We faced a garden so no view to speak of. While this is a hotel clearly built in the early days of the establishment of Canberra with some atmosphere of those times remaining, the overall effect somehow just misses.
Our room was large but curiously laid out, with a SMALL screen TV a very long way from the bed. Until that problem is dealt with the hotel is in real danger of falling into the 3 and a half star category. The hotel advertising says it is a short walk from the National Art Gallery, Manuka shops and restaurants, and other major destinations. Short is in fact about 15 to 20 minutes, depending on your age and shoes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Brassey Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thanks for your comments. Just to set the record straight, The Brassey is one of two hotels that are closest to the National Gallery of Australia. Walking times from The Brassey to the NGA ..15 minutes, to Kingston 7 minutes and to Manuka 13 minutes. These time are based on my Mum's walking pace.... she is 84.
regards
mark@brassey.net.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    224
    97
    35
    20
See reviews for
73
178
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We used a Getaway voucher and paid to upgrade to a Heritage Family Suite for 3 nights.
Our check-in was handled efficiently by a very pleasant young lady.
Our room was on the top floor and had a great view of Parliament House.The family suite has a separate bedroom with 2 single beds and 1 bathroom with shower over the bath. This was perfect for our needs. The only thing that was missing was a table and chairs. There was room for this and would have made the room far more comfortable
The breakfast choices were limited but everything offered was very good. The staff in the dining room were very professional and pleasant and an asset to the hotel. We had dinner 1 night and while on the expensive side( a dinner roll with butter had to be ordered for $1.50)
was good.
The building is very interesting and as others have noted the historical photos on the walls are good to look at. The pipes were very noisy but it has to be remembered the hotel was built in 1927 and in my opinion a building like this is much more interesting that a brand new construction. The Brassey does have the feeling of a B & B about it.
The location is very good as you can walk to Kingston or Manuka and many tourist attractions such as Glassworks and the Old Bus Depot markets on a Sunday.
We enjoyed our stay at the Brassey and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edie83Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, Liberia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for business. Average experience: renovated bathrooms, tired decor. The hotel is like a maze and very confusing! Overall, it was fine and, really, the location was the main attraction. It is an old building, though so beware as you can hear the pipes!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NibblingNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have been staying at The Brassey for many, many years for weekend trips from Sydney. My husband booked the hotel this time so we could visit for the Enlighten Festival. It would be good if the staff were also a bit enlightened as to the fact that the customer might appreciate an apology when things go wrong. When we arrived we were advised that we had no booking. We were shown the guest list. Our names were definitely not on the list. After quite some time the young receptionist found us booked for the same date in 2022 instead of 2012. How the computer could have accepted this is beyond my understanding. No apology, even if it wasn't the same person who had taken the booking. My husband was quite stressed about this. We were then given a room number ( luckily they had a spare). The saga continued when we opened the door to the room number given to find it occupied! Luckily the occupants weren't at that moment in the room! Despite all this, no little gesture of compensation. A real shame, as we will not stay there again. Otherwise the hotel, although we considered it overpriced, as all Australian hotels seem to be compared with European ones, is not bad as far as location, breakfast and rooms go. There is no service to speak of. You certainly won't feel special here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one as they often have functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rennyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Manager at Brassey Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
To read a comment like this was disappointing. Commonsense could have prevented the entire sorry episode and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. However, names and dates would be of assistance here. We have guest comment forms in all our rooms and if you have a complaint you can always ask to speak to me. This affords instant an response. Happy to talk to these guests mark@brassey.net.au

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. The Garden View rooms are small with a double bed and a wardrobe. There's a tv and a small writing desk. The bathroom was clean and functional and reasonably modern. The rest of the decor is very 20's/30's. While the room would be a squeeze for two people, it was perfectly adequate for one.

I ate at the restaurant the first night and while the food was nice, it was quite pricey. The buffet breakfast which is included in the room price, was your standard buffet and a good start to the day. You get a couple of discount vouchers which can be used in the bar/restaurant and they offer nibbles with your drinks for an hour or two in the evening.
Stay away from the mini bar if you can. There's a drink/food vending machine next to the stairs on the ground floor if you need water/soft drink/nibbles.

Based on the minimal TA we get, this is the best in the area that fits in the price range. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are small and only suitable for one. For more people you need the more expensive option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.1 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 km away
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
1.7 km away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brassey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brassey Hotel

Property: Brassey Hotel
Address: Belmore Gardens & Macquarie St | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,963 - ₹ 11,242
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brassey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the footsteps of the Parliamentary Triangle, the Brassey Hotel is set on two and a half acres of manicured gardens and lawns. This 1920’s hotel has old world charm with all the comforts of a quality property, with a range of accommodation options. Each room offers complimentary WiFi, reverse air-conditioning, writing desk and Foxtel. Positioned within one of Canberra’s most prestigious suburbs of Barton, you will be a short stroll from all the iconic attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery of Australia, the National Library, Old Parliament House and Lake Burley Griffin. The Brassey Hotel is metres from the Realm Precinct which allows guests to partake in all of the amenities afforded by the 5 Star Hotel Realm. The Precinct offers a range of dining options, including French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brassey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brassey Of Canberra Hotel Canberra
Brassey Hotel Canberra
Brassey Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing