We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value for the money in Canberra” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for the money in Canberra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Forrest Hotel and it was good value for the money in Canberra.

The hotel is an older style hotel that has undergone a “modernisation”. I stayed in a second floor room that was freshly painted, new carpets and furniture and TV. It seemed cleaned. The makeover of the bathroom was limited to the suite with the tiles and shower remaining from before the makeover. It was still a neat, small and seemingly clean bathroom. The bed was ok and I slept through the night.

The location was good for me, however I did have a car. The hotel has views of Parliament House across a park. It would be about a 20 minute walk to Manuka.

The staff were friendly at both check in and check out. Hotel prices in Canberra are high so I was happy with the value for the price.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kissesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Kissesk,

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Forrest Hotel & Apartments.

We at Forrest continuously strive to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. We boast value for money in a fantastic location. Our rooms are warm, clean and have comfortable beds. We offer variety of accommodation from Standard rooms, Family suites to One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments.

There is free onsite parking available, a Barbecue area, a restaurant opens for breakfast & dinner (Monday to Thursday). We also have Pasta & Wine menu for after hours dining and over the weekends. Our Friendly staff ensures that your requests are dealt with priority. There is a also a Night Manger for after hours contact.

We are close to Parliament House, National Gallery, National Library, Portrait Gallery; 10 minutes stroll to Manuka that houses 40 restaurants and cafes, boutique shops, cinema, supermarket.

Please feel free to like us on Facebook for latest updates on accommodation, restaurant and conferencing.

Once again Forrest team would like to thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Dorothy Barclay
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    467
    251
    68
    39
See reviews for
325
346
87
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip, would choose it for personal use.
The room was 'compact' but had all the usual amenities such as kettle, tea coffee, iron, etc..
Whilst the bed was comfortable enough to sleep in, sleep didn't come easy with the noise around the complex; car doors slamming at all hours of the night, cases being hauled up and down stairs and being able to hear neighbours bumble in and out of their room made for a serious lack of sleep during my stay.
The breakfast was pricey, only stayed once and decided to leave for work early and eat in town.
This was my first trip to Canberra so I cant compare to anything else local but if I get a choice next time this wont be my first.

Room Tip: I would suggest an upstairs room, may have to lug baggage but it will certainly be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed at the Forrest for 2 nights for work related conference. The room was small (glad it was only me!) but clean. The bed was hard which was OK. This is definitely a motel style complex, not luxurious but OK. It seemed to be a bit overpriced for the offerings, but I don’t know what the benchmark is in Canberra. Breakfast was OK and staff were friendly and helpful. Location good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear 2011Marg,

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Forrest Hotel & Apartments.

We at Forrest continuously strive to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. We boast value for money in a fantastic location. Our rooms are warm, clean and have comfortable beds. We offer variety of accommodation from Standard rooms, Family suites to One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments.

There is free onsite parking available, a Barbecue area, a restaurant opens for breakfast & dinner (Monday to Thursday). We also have Pasta & Wine menu for after hours dining and over the weekends. Our Friendly staff ensures that your requests are dealt with priority. There is a also a Night Manger for after hours contact.

We are close to Parliament House, National Gallery, National Library, Portrait Gallery; 10 minutes stroll to Manuka that houses 40 restaurants and cafes, boutique shops, cinema, supermarket.

Please feel free to like us on Facebook for latest updates on accommodation, restaurant and conferencing.

Once again Forrest team would like to thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Dorothy Barclay
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Forrest Hotel in March. We paid $145 per night for the privilege. The room was adequate for our needs but it was starting to show its age in general wear and tear. The bathroom was "compact" to say the least. On the positive side it has a great location. The Manuka restaurant area is only a 10 minute walk away and it is only a 3 minute drive to the parliament section of Canberra----National Gallery of Art, The High Court, Archives Musuem, old and new parliament house etc. The room had a double door access to the adjacent room-- my unlocked door opened easily so I assume so does the other.-- security could be an issue.
Would stay there again but only for central location.

Room Tip: Canberra's motels seem to drop in price on weekends and then jump back to the normal rates from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickandKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Forrest Hotel And Apartments, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear MichandKay1,

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Forrest Hotel & Apartments.

We at Forrest continuously strive to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. We boast value for money in a fantastic location. Our rooms are warm, clean and have comfortable beds. We offer variety of accommodation from Standard rooms, Family suites to One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments.

There is free onsite parking available, a Barbecue area, a restaurant opens for breakfast & dinner (Monday to Thursday). We also have Pasta & Wine menu for after hours dining and over the weekends. Our Friendly staff ensures that your requests are dealt with priority. There is a also a Night Manger for after hours contact.

We are close to Parliament House, National Gallery, National Library, Portrait Gallery; 10 minutes stroll to Manuka that houses 40 restaurants and cafes, boutique shops, cinema, supermarket.

Please feel free to like us on Facebook for latest updates on accommodation, restaurant and conferencing.

Once again Forrest team would like to thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Dorothy Barclay
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you like staying in cupboard sized rooms with no sound proofing, then Forrest Hotel and Apartments is just the place. Clean, but incredibly uncomfortable. Once was enough for us.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 km away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#27 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.9 km away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
4.9 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forrest Hotel And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forrest Hotel And Apartments

Property: Forrest Hotel And Apartments
Address: 30 National Cct | Forrest, Canberra 2603, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,241 - ₹ 11,641
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forrest Hotel And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forrest Hotel and Apartments is a wonderful family owned and operated hotel in the heart of Canberra. We offer FREE WIFI FREE PARKING AND ESPRESSO COFFEE!!! Located just behind Parliament House in the leafy suburb of Forrest, we are ideally suited for government, business and leisure travel.We have 76 hotel rooms and 40 serviced apartments, with a conference room, restaurant and deck overlooking the beautiful parkland setting.Accommodation options:• Standard Room (sleeps 2): Enjoy the cosy comfort of double or twin share rooms • One Bedroom Apartment (sleeps 4): Spacious and private with separate kitchen and lounge area• Family Rooms Two Rooms (sleeps 5): kitchen/lounge/dining• Executive Two Bedroom Apartments (sleeps 4): Stylish decor and ultimate comfort and facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Forrest Hotel And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing