We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STINKS of cigarette smoke ~”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingston Court Apartments
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“STINKS of cigarette smoke ~”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

our room is supposed to be non smoking it absolutely stinks of cigarettes housecleaning leaves a lot to be desired the dishwasher wasnt unpacked when we arrived we have acquired a industrial vacumn left in the loungeroom and a filthy dirty broom left on the dirty balcony and a dustpan with no brush we are lookinhg forward to seeing what we will be left tomorrow great location but there is no way this is 4 star accomodation 2 1/2 maybe 3 really
the water saving shower head is so bad u have to stand for 20 minutes to feel like u have had a shower


dirty smelly and not value 4 money

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
3
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We recently had the requirement to spend a family weekend in Canberra and chose the Kingston Court Serviced Apartments in Kingston.

Price was ok (Canberra is expensive), location was excellent as we were 50m from Kingston Shops (lots of restaurants, IGA Supermarket, Post Office, Bottle Shop etc) and about 15 minutes walk from Manuka Shops (Cinema etc). There was underground parking for the unit in a secure carpark. The unit was on the first floor and all luggage had to be carried up the stairs.

The apartments had a great little mini tennis court that our teenage boys loved, with racquets and balls kept handy to play in a tin. There was also a good sized pool that we also partook of, it was clean and well maintained like the tennis courts.

The apartment was 2 bedroomed, with bathroom, laundry, kitchen and dining room. All was clean, well maintained and had instructions for tv channels etc. We hada King Sized bed in the main bedroom and two singles for the boys in the other room. Plenty of hanging space and storage, as well as good supply of plates, cups and cooking implements.

On the down side, the dishwasher had not been emptied and there was only 1 1/2 rolls of toilet paper in the unit when we arrived on the Friday night. They didn't service the apartment from check in till we left on the Sunday.

Overall it was ok to reasonable value for money, but very good location. The guy on check in was friendly and informative. I would recommend Kingston Court for a weekend family layover in Canberra.

Room Tip: No lifts, so ask for a ground floor apartment if you can't do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzie_Dan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The overall impression of our stay at Kingston Court is that the owners/managers are keen to extract the maximum price for the minimum effort. Although the apartment is spacious and well-laid-out, the kitchen was disappointing, and well below reasonable expectations for this type of apartment in an Australian capital city. We’d previously stayed in apartments in Sydney and Adelaide so I have a basis of comparison.
On arrival we inspected the kitchen and were unimpressed with food scraps in the cupboards, utensil drawer and fridge. We ended up running all the cutlery through the dishwasher on the first night. The bathroom was acceptably clean, fortunately.
Some of the kitchen equipment seems to have been found in an op shop. The glasses and plates were dirty, and the utensils were old and shabby, e.g., a peeler that was old and rusty.
I didn’t like not having a designated parking spot. The pool and half-size tennis court were enjoyed by the kids. The location is very convenient to the Kingston and Manuka shops, and the major tourist attractions in central Canberra.
I wouldn’t recommend this place, as it wants a premium price ($250/night) for a below-average product.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melbourne3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stay again, still dated but functional. They do need to chuck out the uncomfortable lounges and put in something you can actually relax on.

Wifi is a total rip off. Room at $200 per night makes this expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

Stayed for one night on business. Two bedroom apartment; huge. Lounge room, dining room, kitchen, laundry; two bedrooms. Separate bathroom and toilet. Very plain. No TV in bedroom (who sits up watching TV?). Decor from the 80's- could use it to shoot an old style porn movie. All flatpack wooden furniture and orange-ish purplish soft furnishings. Dim lighting - 8W flourescent light bulbs; just about needed a headlamp to read in bed. Clean enough - kitchen just a bit oily and sticky. Seemed quite well equipped - didn't really cook anything. Bathrooms clean with nice fluffy towels - so all is forgiven. Didn't pay myself as was on business and was pre-paid; but no doubt reasonable value for Canberra. Wi-Fi extortionately expensive - as usual in Australia. In summary - was OK for a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 km away
Griffin Hotel
Griffin Hotel
#50 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 km away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.4 km away
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 km away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston Court Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Court Apartments

Property: Kingston Court Apartments
Address: 4 Tench St | Kingston, Canberra 2604, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,876 - ₹ 11,706
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingston Court Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Kingston Shopping centre,with an abundant number of fine restaurants, Kingston Court is perfectly positioned for your stay in Canberra.Comprising 36 fully self contained Apartments,including,kitchen,lounge,dining room as well as laundry and shower with a separate bath.AAA rated 4 star, Less like a hotel....More like home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kingston Court Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Court Apartments Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing