We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Canberra

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
QT Canberra
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel and loved it. The hotel is is a great position for Canberra sightseeing, a short walk from the town centre. Our room had lake views. The room had just been renovated and had everything we needed. A couple of finishing touches needed in the bathroom , the tap was lose and a more thorough clean needed.

The Breakfast was really nice and the staff super efficient especially the gentleman who was in charge he had his eyes on everything, food was constantly re-filled.

We dined in the resteraunt it is an Italian Steakhouse and we really enjoyed our meal.

Reception staff were really helpful they extended our stay without any fuss when our car broke down.

There is secure parking but this is limited, if the hotel was full there may be a problem getting a space.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoydsAct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    528
    199
    56
    29
See reviews for
151
383
67
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I travel to Canberra every week. Have gotten to know a few hotels in my time and can easily say that you should consider one of the other hotels which cost about $15-20 more a night and get a much better experience.
Reception were pretty much useless. No warm welcome. No explanation of hotel facilities. No discussion of my room package until I was ushered to the lift area and then I thought to ask (meant to get upgrade, but hotel full- so not available; meant to get $25voucher for use in hotel- none left, so meant to get credit on hotel bill)
n-room experience started with finding each bottle of bathroom toiletries (shampoo, shower gel) were half-full.....can only assume housekeeping didn't replace them since the last guest.
Then I found a used cotton bud covered with ear wax sitting on my bedside table right in front of the alarm clock.....again, I can only assume housekeeping didn't clean down the bedside table....
Went to find the gym in the morning. Don't bother. It's not labelled in the lift- but is on floor 5. In a room without a sign on the door (and yes, I kid you not when I say the lady at reception didn't even blink when she told me that to find the gym I'd have to search for the door with no label on level five). The gym is the size of a broom cupboard and consists of one treadmill and one bike. No water. No fan. No music. No tv. Nothing more. I went for a walk instead.
Ordered breakfast room-service. Filled out the card, placed it outside my room the night before, only to find it there in the morning.....rang kitchen....an hour later card still outside my door. No breakfast ever arrived.
Hotel looks nice, but scratch below the surface and you see the cracks in service. I'll be staying elsewhere next week and the weeks after that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

For a one night stopover at the Rydges Lakeside, it was more than we could have asked for. After being completely refurbished, our room and bathroom was perfect for what we needed. The value for money was amazing - $169 for the night, including full buffet breakfast and free parking. The value throughout the hotel was great as well - $15 pizzas on the room service menu and $23 wagyu beef burgers, which is great considering how expensive some hotels can be! The TV was large and worked great. The 24 hour check in was great, and the bed was so so comfortable, I never wanted to get out of it. The buffet breakfast was also really good. We left refreshed and enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: The standard queen room is really lovely and comfortable but on the smaller side - if you need more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you're looking for a good, dependable, not-too-exxy hotel for a weekend in Canberra, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Rydges Lakeside (we stayed for Friday and Saturday evening in June). There's secure parking under the hotel for a nominal charge (we drove and didn't have any trouble at all - just be careful not to put your room access key near your mobile phone - if you do, the card will be wiped which will mean you won't be able to use it to get into the parking area!)

The hotel is very conveniently located and is within easy walking distance of the cafes along Bunda St (check out Dobinsons cafe - fabulous brunch and a mouth-watering selection of cakes, tartlets etc in the window). Next time we're in Canberra, we'll definitely consider staying here again. Well done Rydges.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels_with_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Got a really nice room for the weekend with a comfy bed, nice view of Canberra city and a gorgeous bathroom.

Service was fantastic, especially after my late night flight in.

Everything was clean and tip top. When I requested on the morning of my check out to have a late check out at 6pm, staff were only too obliging to accompany me for a fee - which I was happy with.

The only criticism I would have is that it's a bit too far to the closest supermarket/grocery store. I'm used to having something closer. If you like to walk, not a problem, but when it's freezing outside and all you want is a juice or something, it can get annoying. Due to location, I was a bit limited to cafes and restaurants within decent walking distance.

I was also slightly disappointed that there was no free wi-fi. A lot of other hotels I was looking at had free wi-fi and were closer to the city centre (however, I must admit, I was there solely to go to the theatre, which was five blocks away) - this will certainly be factored in to a future stay in Canberra.

Oh, it was a bonus that I had Foxtel. Nice for those quiet afternoons when you can't get out of the room due to weather.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 11th floor. The view was stunning, facing east. Don't get a room facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callisto922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.1 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.2 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
2.7 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Canberra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Canberra

Property: QT Canberra
Address: 1 London Cct, Canberra 2601, Australia
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,960 - ₹ 17,400
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
QT Canberra sits within the iconic Lakeside hotel that has been the scene of many a handshake deal and long lunch. In the great tradition of Australian politics we do business with a wink and a nod and know that after a gruelling day of question time (from the kids or the leader of the opposition) you need a place to put your feet up an a soft bed to fall into. Our 205 guest suites are kitted out with designer decor and all the business savvy mod cons we know you need to get the job done. Expect a seamless technology offering and a team geared to assist you with any left-field requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your QT Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeside Canberra Hotel Canberra
Rydges Lakeside Hotel Canberra
Canberra Rydges Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing