We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only 5-star hotel in Canberra!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

When in Canberra, I always stay here. Although other hotels claim to be 5-star, none come close to the level of service, professionalism and standard that this hotel delivers. The rooms are large and all staff are very friendly and very attentive.

Only drawback is the location. You will need a taxi or a hire-car to get around.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikumar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,271 - 2,275 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have to say that I was disappointed by my stay at the Hyatt Hotel in Canberra. I was there over Easter to see the Renaissance art exhibition.

While the service was great and the staff friendly, they were let down by the quality of the rooms. The room I was in was tired and showing its age. The bedding was a bit frayed and the sofa was worn.

I was also not impressed by the layout of the room. It was non-standard and not in a good way.

It just didn't live up to the other Hyatts I've stayed in and I would count this a four star hotel at most.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slingshot00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

A good quality place well situated and staff very helpful

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

What's not to love about this place! It has great charm, excellent service, super comfortable furnishings. Just all round an excellent hotel - reminds me of a grand old fashioned hotel. Definitely recommend you stay here if you get the chance! I was here for work and staying here made it a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: I don't know how you could really go wrong with any room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegsyMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Quick trip to Canberra to check out the portrait gallery and library so chose the Hyatt due to its location being as easy stroll to both. Lovely friendly welcome upon arrival, smooth check in and very clean and tidy room with a good size bathroom (we had a club king room). The club lounge was cozy and a nice range of pre dinner drinks and nibbles. Weather was a bit sad when we were there so the thought of driving over the bridge to town for dinner was all too hard and chose to stay put. The gym is a great size however it is very busy as it is open to the general public and it felt like going to the local Fitness First or similar. Overall a lovely overnight stay and would definately choose this one again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayfixation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.5 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,894 reviews
2.8 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,464 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 58 in Canberra
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
749 reviews
2.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.7 km away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: ₹ 11,392 - ₹ 34,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing