We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a good rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a good rate”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We normally wouldn't have considered staying at the Hyatt Canberra, unable to justify the cost. As a tip however, on my second phone call to the booking department I got in touch with a very helpful person, who advised that there was a deal where you get the second night for half-price. We were staying for 3 nights, so on average this deal made the stay a lot more reasonable. Also, if only staying 2 nights, or alternately 4 nights it would be better still.
I asked for a room away from the lift, easy access etc. The booking requirements were read back to me and certainly honoured by the staff at check-in.

The room was spacious and very clean. Flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed. Complimentary newspaper was good also.

It was clear that the bathroom had recently had a new shower screen installed. There were still a few traces of silastic on the tiles from the previous screen. The new screen made the shower slightly larger and the screen was of the newer frameless type. Yes, the bathrooms are black and white marble and yes, it is a bit dated, but the cost would be astronomical to change every room.

One complaint - the room next door had very noisy plumbing. Wasnt too bad, but I think it was one occupant. Had there been more in the room it may have been more of an annoyance.

I have a disability and on first entry to the hotel, there is no disabled access. I found this is due to the historic nature of the hotel and so I had to climb the stairs. I found the next day that the back of the hotel has the disabled access. That isn't to say the back of the hotel is inferior - it is quite modern in fact and very good access and parking nearby. Another tip - don't pay for parking ($25.00 per day), plenty of car parking on-site outside.

We had dinner there one evening and drinks in the lounge another afternoon. Food was perfect. All staff are attentive and polite as you would expect from a hotel of this standard and ranking.

Its very close to the Parliamentary Triangle and even walking distance to the National Library, Questacon, Old Parliament House and the Galleries. Hard to cross the road unless you walk up to a set of lights on the corner...so you have to back-track a bit but if the weather is nice, its a great place to be.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter and closer to ample parking outside, don't pay for valet unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salad2964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,409
    591
    200
    76
    52
See reviews for
375
1,030
104
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

After a long stint overseas with the Wife in early 2012, we again had to "frock up", this time for a business trip to our nations capital. - If you like the best, then the Park Hyatt is still the best Canberra has to offer in terms of 5 star.

Unlike many hotels, the Park Hyatt Canberra is not a high rise, it has a lot of tranquil old world charm and warmth in the entry and sitting areas, with soft lighting adding to the atmosphere and the rooms and suites are spread out far and wide over this sparse property which sprawls over the ample and tranquil grounds. - As a result, it can sometimes be a bit confusing to locate your room the first time as there are a series of signs deployed that seem to point in directions that your room is not actually in!! - In addition, for most rooms its a reasonable stroll down the vast corridors to get there.

We have stayed in this property several times, but its still a bit confusing until you get your room bearings.

However, once this is resolved, the hotel is quite nice. Canberra is a lot like Washington DC in terms of being sparsley laid out in many parts and the Park Hyatt finds itself situated in a very tranquil position which lends itself to the perfect environment if you have a desire to go into a deep sleep and never wake up ever again.

Front of house service is what you would expect from any Park Hyatt and the dress code for doormen and porters is a golf outfit from the 1920's including matching hats apparantly, so don't be alarmed if people who look like they have escaped in a time machine from this era greet you upon arrival ! - What the?

Rooms and suites have been upgraded recently with contemporary furniture, flat screen TV's, window furnishings, paint decor and Android device savvy items, such as iPhone docks. - However, the bathrooms are still in Black marble fitout, which is 1990's in drag!

That being said, a generous sized bath is offered in all rooms in addition to the shower. - Which by the way had enough pressure to peel the paint off the walls !

All in all its the best there is by a long shot in Canberra. Restaurants and bars in the hotel also offer fast efficient service and a good selection of food and beverage.

Personally, i wouldn't stay anywhere else in Canberra, this is the best they have.

Room Tip: Request one that has something to look at besides one of the car parks that are on 2 sides of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed a Saturday night and the staff blew us away with first class service at every opportunity. This hotel seems to have lifted to the next level since our last stay, So well managed indeed.

The executive lounge was actually as good as it gets both evening canapés and drinks and continental breakfast in the morning the service & staff were faultless. Well worth the extra

We were made to feel special from the second we walked in to the moment we left nothing was too much trouble late check out a mere technicality.

We have stayed at the Cowne plaza and the Novatel in Canberra over the last three months are they are good but the Hyatt takes you to that next level and reminds you of how customers should be treated and all you wants and needs fulfilled to the highest standards. We came away so refreshed albeit a one night stay. THANK YOU

Room Tip: front of the hotel only older section
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,194 reviews
383 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I typically judge a hotel by its service.
The space of the room is important but ultimately a room is a room is a room.
Today I have had a typical busy business day and my needs are fairly simple - just need some space, a glass of wine, catch up on the day's news (in Canberra today, it was predominantly the circus in Parliament House) and move on from the day's pressures.
A couple of weeks ago in Perth, my judgement of the Hyatt was quite harsh - they didn't meet the standards they had promised.
Tonight in Canberra, the Park Hyatt showed what exemplary service can be.
We went to the Club Lounge and for most people the food was wonderful.
For my wife though, they went that little bit extra - they were well organised and ready for her - a special plate with no wheat or dairy and they made it seem so easy.
The hostess was wonderful - she wandered around the lounge making everyone feel at home.
From the accents, there were guests from every continent and all were made equally welcome.
That wasn't the end though - towards the end she wandered back with another plate of different desserts - normally Lynn in a "good" restaurant is offered a fruit salad if she is lucky but tonight, she had a plate of 5 or 6 variations.
We returned to the room more than happy - good sized rooms and even better, the internet works.
All in all, an exceptional hotel, almost inderstated - it doesn't need a glitzy over-the-top facade to make it look good - it exudes quality.
I have been here many times and tonight is not an exception - what is also important though are the other facilities.
Other people enjoy the afternoon here - I prefer the health club and the swimming pool - it still remains my hotelof choice in Canberra.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed here again for the second time in six months.
Our first trip was very ordinary but I must say our trip in January was great. We had a room in one of the Pavilions. The room was really nice and bathroom was great. All the products were what you would expect for this cost. Service was unobtrusive and the room was very clean. We had no problems with noise from other rooms. The room was surrounded by well-kept gardens which made for a very peaceful environment. A very pleasant stay of five nights. We did not see any of the poor service we had experienced in August.
When we stayed in August 2011 we had a suite at the back overlooking the fitness centre. This was very disappointing as it was two ordinary bedrooms in which one had the bed removed and the joining door left open. Not worth the money. The service throughout the hotel was very ordinary.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the Pavilions
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddsheywo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
2.5 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,770 reviews
2.8 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,199 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,544 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,060 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Property: Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#3 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,610 - ₹ 30,342
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing