We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good Crowne Plaza.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Another good Crowne Plaza.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have stayed at a number of Crowne Plazas in a number of countries and always enjoyed our stays, Canberra was no exception.

Great location on the edge of the CBD, comfortable room overlooking the park, super comfy bed ,very quiet, the usual high standard Crowne Plaza service and we enjoyed the Redsalt Restaurant. The renovations in place did not affect us at all.

Crowne Plazas are great places to stay but always check around for deals as sometimes they do not cost more than an average to good motel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook pleasant park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    632
    284
    72
    38
See reviews for
293
402
81
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Overall this is crowne expectations but the name has lost its pazazz, the room was good but not exceptionally good for the price, unfortunately we got a "hot deal" and I can understand why we got this deal, there is alot of maintenance going on at the moment no lift so we had to drag our cases up 3 flights of stairs. We were awoken by someone tapping on metal at 6.10am but funny enough that lasted 15min and they were obviously told! but we were awake then also there is a mad man with a blower walking around the property and outside our window at 5am with it...argghhh so politely we checked out and found breakfast in canberra centre. I think that you should be warned of renovations when booking as we came across this at casino in sydney last year, but they came up with the goods. I would say that this property would be nice when its quiet, just bad timing on our behalf

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minx88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattA0808, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear minx88,

Thanks for sharing your view after your stay.

I am very sorry that some of our maintenance work interupted you. We are indeed conducting upgrades to lifts and compelting some painting in the foyer, however have made considerable effort to manage this process in such a way that it does not disturb our guests. I regret that we had some impact on your stay.

Please accept my assurance that the works we are conducting are certainly going to assist us in our goal of improving our service and product offering and I do hope that you will see the results of our efforts on a future visit.

Kind Regards
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is located right on the edge of the Canberra CBD, with all the main shops, and many cafes and restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes' walk.
Rooms at the front may hear noise from the front of the hotel, which is also the Canberra Casino, but on our weekend stay we heard very little. The queen size room was well equipped for a longer stay, and this is a popular business hotel. The room had a sofa, and a separate desk area, and large wardrobe. The windows can be opened. Rooms at the back have a lovely parkland view. The design of the hotel is low rise, only four floors, around an internal atrium, with the restaurant (where breakfast is also served) on the lower ground floor.
Generally the hotel is tired, but obviously money is being spent on refurbishment. One lift was out of service during our stay. Refurbishments also meant the car park lift was not working. Two floors up with our luggage would have been a trial, but a charming staff member materialized to help.
The buffet breakfast food was good, although the egg station was strangely disorganized.
We didn't use the outdoor pool, the early autumn weather was a little crisp.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a nice view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuefromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattA0808, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear SuefromSydney,

Thanks so much for your review.
The team have really enjoyed seeing the impact they had on your stay and I'm pleased that our procedures for while the lift is being upgraded, minimised the inconvenience of having this lift out of action. We have some other works being completed over the coming month and are looking forward to having the benefit of this investment to support our service delivery goals.

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Upon arrival, the staffs are friendly, check-in was a breeze. Our room is cozy and average in size. Two free bottled drinking water per day.Toilet needs a little upgrade since the towels although they are clean, it' s a bit worn out. They charge Internet access in the room. But if there's a free wi-fi at the hotel lobby, but you need to ask for a password at the front desk. Breakfast buffet is ok and dining staffs are very friendly and accomodating. Concierge are very helpful and very willing to help and assist their guest. One elevator gets a liitle bit confusing since our room is located at the 4th floor, the elevator light would indicate 3rd floor but is actually you are already at the 4th floor. Got gym and an outdoor pool.

Location of the hotel is walking distance to major shopping center (Canberra Civic Center). You can find a Target store near by and also Supermarket. A lot of restaurants, but early reservations required since it gets crowded during weekend. Airport is just about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

As I have lived in Canberra over the period for which I am reviewing the Crowne Plaza I have not been a frequent resident. However, in 2001 the hotel provided a wonderful birthday venue for my daughter and since then I have visited for the buffet; a wedding function; and stayed recently in March 2012. I could not fault the staff who were unfailingly polite, efficient and helpful on each occasion. The training that must be undertaken to achieve the standards I observed , is commendable - good on you management for giving your staff the best opportunity to excel.

In March we had a family function at the buffet - so easy, such nice food, pleasant service and thoroughly enjoyable. We also asked for a special coffee and pastry function to be arranged for us in pleasant surrounds - this was done, again with care and attention.

The room was large, with a comfortable bed and lovely desk space. Although the bathroom was dated it was spotless. The lifts were being refurbished, but someone always has to be in residence when that happens and this time it just happened to be us - not the worst thing that can happen!

I enjoy staying at the Crowne Plaza, enjoy the effortless way special functions are organised and the great staff. Even without the location I'd recommend it. However, to be near the the city as well as parks really is a bonus.

Room Tip: I agree with the reviewer who mentioned rooms overlooking the park. Ours was and I really appreciate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattA0808, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Cindylou45,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
I am really pleased to read your wonderful endorsement of our service standards. We will continue all efforts to keep improving but it is great to see that we are creating some valuable impact for our guests.
It was particularly pleasing to read your positive feedback in regard to holding some informal get togethers. Crowne Plaza brand prides itself as being "the place to meet" so this review could not be better and the entire team are very proud to read about the successful experiences you and your family have enjoyed.

Thank you again and we will look forward to seeing you again.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.9 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
2.1 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,333 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,275 reviews
2.6 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
1.2 km away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Address: 1 Binara St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#17 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,548 - ₹ 20,525
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you'll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation's Capital and within walking distance of the city's best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 296 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we're pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing