We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with spacious rooms in quiet area”
Review of Burbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Burbury Hotel
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just across the road from the Realm, this new hotel is a quieter alternative. Rooms are very well appointed and spacious with beds that are ridiculously comfy - I loved the real doona, a nice cosy touch. With windows you can open, you can also escape the constant air conditioning, too. I did enjoy a great night's sleep.
The decor is very modern and rich but a little dark. Bathrooms are well designed and provide all you need. Apple TV connects your TV, internet and sound so you can really make it feel like home away from home.
My only disappointment was the fact there is no room service yet. Meals are available in the fine dining Chinese restaurant downstairs or across the road at Realm. I often need to work in my room after arriving late so room service allows me to save a little time by not having to wait for dinner service etc. The whole precinct really needs some cafe style places that stay open for dinner.
I would recommend the hotel - just keep in mind that it IS new and is still developing it's soul & buzz.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing the back of the hotel (facing the Brassey Hotel) as Realm (across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerys2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 709 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Hotel is brand new and very modern. Everything is plush. The room is very large with a large entrance which had the bathroom area coming off of it (be careful if you're sharing as you may not feel comfortable in the bathroom, it only has frosted glass and the door does not go to the ceiling). The bed was amazingly comfortable. It was also fantastic to have the imac system as the TV, offered a great selection. My only complaint is the darkness. The hallways are extremely dark and whilst sensor lights do come on, its still quite dark. The room is also quite dark. The the lighting in the bathroom is not adequate, it was very hard to put make-up on and you appear to be a shadow all the time. The desk area is quite dark and would benefit from a light overhead, it was very difficult to work there and i ended up sitting on the bed with my laptop. The room was also meant to come with breakfast however we had an early flight and were told we would receive at breakfast box, we left at 5:30am and there was no sign of this breakfast box nor any staff!

The hotel has no facilities in itself, you need to walk the few steps over the road to Hotel Realm to go to a bar, get food, or go to the gym.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScientistTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed here just after the opening and was very impressed by the room and small things which made our stay pleasant including the great curtains which made the room very dark and apple tv, although sometimes temperamental and slow. Wasn't impressed my front staff though who mostly had attitude but otherwise a great stay and good location to walk to Kingston.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IStayThereforeIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

In Canberra for a business trip - Saw Burbury online, and thought I would give it a go.

Burbury advertises itself as a 4 or 4 and a half star hotel which is simply not true. There is no onsite restaurant (other than breakfast room on the top floor), no fitness center, and no 24 hour reception. These are all found across the road at Hotel Realm. Burbury is a 1 or 2 star hotel in terms of facilities adjacent to a 5 star hotel. (But it is like saying the Brassey Hotel a block down the road is a 4.5 star hotel because it's also near the Realm). Burbury rooms are modern, but that's it.

There is no 24 hour security outside the hotel (and the Burbury's desk is not manned 24 hours , which on my stay was worrying, given some of the people who were outside the hotel late at night when I arrived back - I felt a little scared and there was no one to assist).

Lastly the front desk staff at the Burbury are poorly trained, poorly supervised or simply don't care. I had to wait 15 minutes on checkin while the front desk (only 1 on duty) was on the phone dealing with a reservation and basically ignored me. I had to call 3 times for the faulty, stuck plug in the bathroom sink to be fixed (at time of writing, no one has come to fix it, as the communication between staff is poor or they just don't seem to care).

Won't be back - simply not worth the price and horrible service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ontheroad10of12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRealm_GM, General Manager at Burbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your review of the Burbury Hotel, Canberra.

I would like to express my sincere apologies for the lack of attention you received by our staff whilst staying at the Burbury Hotel. I will ensure that this situation is addressed and attended to.

The Burbury Hotel is rated by the AAA Tourism a 4.5 STAR hotel. The definition of a 4 star hotel is
'Very well appointed accommodation reflecting stylish décor throughout and a high standard of facilities and guest services. Must provide ensuites to all rooms, air-conditioning, 16 hour room service and housekeeping'.

The Burbury Hotel is secure and only accessible by hotel guest room key after 11pm - the 5 STAR Hotel Realm directly across the path from the Burbury Hotel has 24 hour reception which can be called upon by any guest at the Burbury Hotel 24 hours a day.

The Burbury Hotel will see the opening of Canberra's newest fine dining restaurant Malamay on the 15th of February 2012 - from the owners of Chairman & Yip and Lantern Rooms, Malamay is set to be Canberra's finest dining experience. Along with Malamay, Canberra's newest wholefoods cafe Maple + Clove will open in June 2012, offering nourishing foods, gourmet products, yoga and cooking classes.

As part of the Realm Precinct, the Burbury Hotel offers a wide variety of experiences from the on-site hairdresser, day spa, health club and many restaurants with more to come.

Should you wish to discuss your experience in further details, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel and I would be more than happy to assist.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Burbury is across the road from the Hotel Realm on capital hill in Canberra. This property seems to be the slightly cheaper cousin of the Realm.

Expect to find
- Dark, dimly light corridors
- Designer furniture
- Funky audio-visual
- Modern apartment hotel offering

The Burbury terrace is great for breakfast, with amazing views of capital hill.

But this isn't a luxury offering, the Realm is really that product of the group. The Burbury seems to be suited to the corporate traveller that wants just a little bit more from a hotel property. And on that front it delivers the goods.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the side directed onto the Realm, as there's an outdoor beer garden and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMMatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 58 in Canberra
1,106 reviews
0.9 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,857 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
4.1 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,395 reviews
0.1 km away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burbury Hotel

Address: 1 Burbury Close | Barton, Canberra, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: ₹ 8,065 - ₹ 16,455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Burbury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burbury Hotel & Apartments is contemporary and efficient in fit out. The 152 rooms, studios and apartments are furnished in the full array of superior in-room facilities and conceived for the corporate visitor and discerning traveller alike. Located on the footsteps of Parliament House and with hotel rooms, 1-2 bedroom studios and 1-2 bedroom apartments, Burbury's proximity to, and unique relationship with the Realm Precinct allows guests to partake in all of the amenities afforded by the 5 Star Hotel Realm. The Precinct offers a range of dining options, including French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. With its own rooftop space, the Burbury Terrace is unlike any other function space in Canberra. Overlooking the Parliamentary Triangle, Canberra City and Lake Burley Griffin, the rooftop venue at the Burbury Hotel is private, exclusive and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing