We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Service not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hotel is ok but not great. There was a very clear lack of directions from the staff and the sprawling nature of the hotel makes it difficult to navigate. Staff did not tell us car park was not attached to hotel and we struggled with bags up the street after parking then up and down many stairs to get to our room. Not a good start!! TV reception was appalling and staff were unable to help. I will probably not visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbie15711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    403
    197
    66
    19
See reviews for
108
450
106
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed for one night - hotel was fantastic, manages to achieve that nice modern feel without feeling sterile. Room was fantastic - very comfortable. Bed was AWESOME, bathroom great, convenient parking and very friendly and professional hotel staff.

Definitely one of the best hotels i've stayed in, and great value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happiestcamper000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

When the room was initially booked we were told it would be on a higher floor and with a view of the courtyard. Upon checking in, the room was unavailable but we were upgraded to a premiere room on the ground floor. The bathroom is very nice, the double doors are a great touch to the room. The only problem is that EVERYTHING is nickled and dimed, the mini bar, of course, but the snack table on the desk has many things at of course, a price. When coming into the rooms make sure to read the in&out card that is on the desk. It breaks down prices of everything. If I had not read it, I'd have thought that the room came with a few complimentary items. Unfortunately it is hooked to a tether. That chocolate chip cookie I see right now not only comes at a price of kilojoules but also with a price tag of 5.00. Couples with kids who bring their kids to the hotel, be careful since it is in plain view.
Reception is very nice, the staff are very hospitable. Internet was a bit of a hassle to get working since we were not told about the need for a password. The room did come equipped with a cable to plug into the laptop but as I said, you need to call the front desk for the password. The rooms offer broadband internet. It is free though. If you are on ground floor you may be able to log onto the network wirelessly. The TV is a flatscreen but positioned oddly in the room. IMO it should be on a TV stand or attached to the wall entirely, but it does include a DVD player. The TV does, however, need to be bigger.
There is a lounge in the room which is very nice. The wardrobe does lack storage space, but there are two of them. Complimentary slippers in one of them.
The hotel is very nice but not worth 300 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here last weekend whilst visiting my son at ANU. It's a great location to the colleges at ANU. It is a strange set up with the joining of the 4 buildings. My only complaint was I had to get my bag up 6 steps. I'm a petite woman who never packs lightly - so my fault.
The hotel lobby, bar and restaurant were lovely. The service was always great. The food in the restaurant (who does room service too) was delicious. The halls are dim and a little odd looking. But the room and bathroom was stunning. Beautifully decorated, very clean, everything provided, comfy bed.
Some great cafes nearby too and a great neighbourhood vibe.
With my son just starting his degree at ANU there will be many trips to Canberra in the future. This will always be my 1st choice in hotels.

Room Tip: Just ask for no stairs if you have heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juleshPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Really appreciated the environment and design - stylish yet simple rooms, comfortable bed - but found some of the basics of good service missing. Whilst I didn't expect five star service from what is essentially a three star boutique hotel, its important to do the simple things right - calls to room service and reception just rang out (until I used my mobile to call the main number), extended queuing at reception and there was no breakfast before 7.30am which doesn't work for business travellers. Even a quick shower caused the half the bathroom floor to flood and the water didn't drain away overnight. The nearby 'gym' is pretty sparse and poorly equipped, you would be better off driving to Fitness First in the CBD.
The 'women's pack' initially seemed like a thoughtful touch - until I realised that the Vogue was 4 months old... obviously a cost-saving tactic, but doesn't leave a good impression.
Overall great concept, but let down in the execution.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenniferck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.2 km away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
2.9 km away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
4.1 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Gallery Hotel

Property: Peppers Gallery Hotel
Address: 15 Edinburgh Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)
Region: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#9 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,245 - ₹ 19,347
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra combines a unique CBD location with Peppers signature boutique features, designer ambience and service experience. The Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra building is heritage registered, with original features that blend effortlessly with a modern Peppers setting. Every detail has been well thought out - with Bang & Olufsen technology, marble features in boutique rooms and apartments. All Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra rooms have rain showers, luxury bedding, smart technology and original artwork. Choose from Hotel Room, Deluxe and Premier Rooms, and Suites. Unwind in your fully self-contained apartment with one, two or three bedrooms and a balcony. Located within the original Hotel Acton building, this historic and heritage listed site has been transformed into the NewActon Pavilion - Canberra's first true urban village, where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra has taken up residence as the city's first luxury boutique hotel. Featuring the renowned Bicicletta Restaurant and Library Bar, guests can enjoy true Italian cuisine. Bicicletta specialises in homemade pasta and produce from different regions of Italy and Australia, catering to all occasions including formal sit-down meals. Relax at Soma Day Spa or explore the New Acton precinct, close to the iconic Lake Burley Griffin and within walking distance of Canberra's many high-end attractions. The where Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra provides complimentary WiFi in all rooms as well as public areas. Australia's Capital Territory is home to some great attractions, many within walking distance from Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra which is located ten minutes from the city centre, near Canberra's many cafes, bars, shops and restaurants. The National Zoo & Aquarium and National Arboretum Canberra is a short drive away, as are the Botanical Gardens and Telstra viewing tower. Peppers Gallery Hotel Canberra is located just 7.5Km from Canberra International and is on the doorstep of Canberra's key cultural, entertainment, sport and commercial facilities, making it the perfect choice for your next Canberra stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Peppers Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Canberra - By 8 Canberra
Hotel Diamant Boutique
Diamant Boutique Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing