We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great scenery”

The Lock - Wilkins Tearooms
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Heybridge
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I love coming here.
Breakfast is great. Food always fresh.
You can sit inside if cold and wet or outside .
Situated right on the basin so the scenery is beautiful.
This is a popular place and gets very busy at times.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank TheRedButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We come here regularly for a light lunch or afternoon tea. Owned by Wilkins of Tiptree, jam manufacturers, the quality and service levels are always very good and very popular.
It's location is great overlooking the Blackwater estuary right alongside to the lock gate were boats can travel to and from the canal which links Chelmsford to
the sea. The food is always very good and freshly prepared with adequate staffing to cope with this busy venue.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Peter George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Great selection, friendly service, very clean and the salads we had were fresh and tasty.
Will definitely return soon

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We love Heybridge and have visted regularly but as we usually have the dog with us we are normally limited to siting outside and have never managed to get a table. Today we had no dog so we sat inside as no outside spaces. It was a lunch visit (just a light lunch) and we ordered toasted sandwiches and drinks. Service was good, but a bit slow. The drinks arrived well before the food. When the sandwiches arrived they were toasted but the cheese had not melted and was cold as was the ham? The cheese was tasty but would have been better melted with the ham. Came with about 8 crisps and a minute bit of salad. So really felt a it let down after trying so many times to get in! The prices were on the high side for average food.I know it is not the staffs fault but also found the noise from children very load inside. I wish parents would keep them under control and stop them screaming! I am a grandparent and know they do play up but screaming is not acceptable when left unchecked.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neal192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The tea room overlooks the River Blackwater and offers both indoor and outdoor dining. On a glorious sunny day the tea room offers a beautifully view, looking across to Northey Island, which is steeped in history.

The café serves traditional café-style breakfasts, home-made lunches and ‘Tiptree’ cream teas. Enthusiastic staff take full advantage of fresh local produce: hand-made local cakes, fresh salads, jacket potatoes and ‘Tiptree’ preserves with home-made scones. Whatever the weather this tea room offers outstanding dining whilst enjoying the relaxing views.

There is a large free car park in Heybridge Basin which is a five minutes walk from the tea room.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank PipEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lock - Wilkins Tearooms also viewed

 

Been to The Lock - Wilkins Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing