We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early evening supper”
Review of The Jolly Sailor

The Jolly Sailor
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Heybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family & dog friendly pub located on the Blackwater estuary where you can enjoy a pint on the seawall as well as dine in our eating areas, inside or out. We serve fresh homecooked food and seafood all day, all year round. We often have music and charity events which are great fun for all the family. We cater for large groups, walking groups or parties and functions for up to 50 people and have the Barn Eatery which is often used for private functions.
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Lively, cheery environment staffed by very friendly, attentive and efficient staff. Fish and chips all round; enhanced with a pleasant South African Chenin Blanc. Overall, a really enjoyable, inexpensive experience. The Jolly Sailor is well worth a visit.

1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b, Manager at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for a lovely review! And so glad you enjoyed your fish & chips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

5 of us visited here the other Saturday. Lots of places to sit outside but we sat in the out building which seats a lot more people. Staff were very nice and the food was excellent. Will be returning.

Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b, Manager at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Glad you had a lovely meal with us! Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Headed out to Heybridge Basin for a walk in the sun and a nice meal. Ordered two drinks and wanted to order food. Was told we have to go to another till for food. Paid for drinks with last of cash. Ordered the cold seafood platter from other till and was told they had run out of small shrimps. Still got charged £28.00. Older staff were abrupt. After a long wait, partner had finished his pint. Went over to the other side and ordered another pint. Was told you can't pay by card under £10.00. So he didn't get one. Platter arrived with 2 dips and a pubic black hair! Spoke to nice young waiter he apologized and passed it to snr Waitress who then darted about showing other staff. Snr Waitress replaced dip with a lid and a quick sorry about that. No offer of a drink to compensate. Whole experience awful. Will never go back. Oh and, if crayfish came in puzzle form, the portion size wouldn't make a whole one! Oh and don't put crab sticks on a £28.00 plate of food even though it's not a good plate of food. No flavour apart from the roll mops vinegar! Have been put right off seafood now.

1  Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b, Manager at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

What an unfortunate and atypical chain of events for your experience at The Jolly Sailor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Was given a Groupon voucher as a present. As the weather had been dire ie., snow, we had to cancel our booking as we had abit of a journey, but it was honoured even though out of date a few weeks later when the weather improved. Thoroughly recommend the food, although very small inside and a little squashed in.

Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b, Manager at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Glad you enjoyed your food. The groupon offer has an expiry date because we are very busy after March and space can be limited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderfully cooked roast dinner. I had the lamb shank, my family had the turkey roast, and the plaice. We were all very satisfied, generous portions and delicious. Compliments to the chefs! They understand how to please people with food! I’ve not had such a good meal in a long time. We didn’t have to wait long for our meals either. First class!

Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria b, Owner at The Jolly Sailor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for a lovely review! We are very pleased you were happy with your food and hopetosee you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jolly Sailor also viewed

 
Tollesbury, Maldon
 

Been to The Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing