We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
182
188
66
34
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
188
66
34
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrocery storepool locatedminute walk to the beachnice beachbeach towelsfull kitchenbeach barmaster bedroomfishrented a carlounge chairslarge balconycrystal clear waterplay golfcruise shipexplore the islandgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We rented an apartment in "The Hill". Very spacious apartment, new and clean Gorgeous, huge balcony with great view over the resort and the sea. The whole apartment is air-conditioned (which we needed, even in December, as you can't get a breeze through the apartment). The kitchen was fairly well equipped for cooking simple meals. The beach at Blue Bay is very nice but quite small. Get there by 10am to get a lounger and some shade. Snorkeling right off the beach is excellent - lots of fish.
Unless you want to eat all your meals at the beach restaurant and spend every day at the beach (or golfing) you will need a car. Blue Bay is in a good location on Curacao - only 10 minutes to a supermarket, 20 minutes from Willemstadt and 45 minutes from the North of the island. Curacao has many lovely beaches to explore (try Cas Abou and Porto Marie) and the old part of Willemstadt is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: You need to be on the 3rd or 4th floor of "The Hill" to get a good sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Came back to Blue Bay, this time with my girlfriend and we had a fabulous time. This was my 5th time back on the island but her first and she completely fell in love with the island as well as Blue Bay.
We stayed in the Ocean apartments facing the sea, caught the sunset daily with a glass of wine and some cheese. Now who can complain with that. We explored the entire island but came to the conclusion that there was no need to leave our beach at blue bay as it is so accessible with a fantastic bar and cafe serving great food (try the fries there and pizza as well as banana milk shake :)
Being that this wasn't my first time back at Blue Bay, I was aware of certain things like internet. I think if Blue Bay had good internet it would be unbeatable. Make sure you ask for the $25 card at the front desk. I had good internet access on the balcony as well as in the bedroom.
Also, they clean rooms I believe every 3 days so be aware of that. I had already known this so asked for extra towels at check in. Also when you check in make sure you get beach cards for the beach towels.
Other than that, it was a great trip, great food, and a very romantic atmosphere at Blue Bay. They even played music on the beach on Friday and Saturday nights which created a nice setting out on our balcony.

Regarding food, we bought all our produce at centrum and I cooked breakfast every morning. One day we made steak whereas the rest of the days we ate out.

Blue Bay is in a great location. We rented a car, which is a MUST! We traveled to Spanish waters which took 25 min if you know the road and to Westpunt which was around 30-40 min.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank pbure9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Beautiful hotel, huge room, very quiet place and honest price. Just make sure that they have your reservation, we got there after a 16 hour trip and nobody knew anything about it. I made a reservation trough Booking.com and canceled, then made trough the hotel's website and they canceled without asking. The manager on duty had left and came back to solve the problem, they put us on a room and let us choose a different in the morning, but did not help with heavy luggage. On second day the key for our room stopped working and they had to send some guys to fix it, while we waited at the bar. Hotel paid for a couple beers...when a asked for a late check out I had to pay U$75,00 for it, even after we had a few problems. Would recommend anyway...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TalesTicianelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

i have stayed 1 week with 2 friends in a 2 bedroom appartment in The Hills - Blue Bay. Appartment is spacey - clean and brand new. Indeed the first day it had a strange smell but that quickly went away after opening the balcony doors. The best part of it is really the beach and all it's amenties. This beach is perfect for lazing around, snorkling and or diving. For a wedding it is also a perfect location. I saw 2 or 3 wedding during the 1 week stay. The kitchen is fully equiped and very modern - 2 bathooms and 3 toliets. You can share the appartement but still have all the privacy you need in your room. Nice flatscreen TV's. I would come back to Blue Bay resort, Beach towels ran out 3 times during the week. WIFI is 25usd a week however was not working during the whole stay. Food at the restaurants are ok.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Angel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The accommodation is very comfortable, spacious and the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Some staff is very nice, others however are quite rude and militantly remind you of the price of every aspect of your stay. In addition, the internet didn't work. Free wifi was supposed to be included in the room price but the internet didn't really work and it's only free for one device. So they'll happily charge you for the extra devices to be online while the connection is weak and sporadic at best.
The beach is beautiful and the food served there is good though it's also quite expensive. Finally, receiving multiple reminders about your check-out time or else you'll be fined anything between $50-$75 dollars is not very customer friendly.
We booked a transfer but they didn't show up and we had to get a taxi ourselves. Was ultimately cheaper than using the hotel service though. Meanwhile, they did try to add it to the bill.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews