We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
203
9
2
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
203
9
2
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainbow reef dietary restrictions the reefs cottage boat fiji diving meals resort trips shore island bure deck currents rainforest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2020

My wife and I stayed at Sau Bay resort for about ten days. This is exactly the unique off the grid experience with all our comfortable amenities we needed. The resort is a perfect place to have your vacation with so many activities and kind staff, it was so easy to snorkel out front and see beautiful soft corals, fish and even an eagle ray! Or enjoy the soft green grass and read all my books in the lounging chairs. The diving was one of a kind and you should really experience it for yourself. Having dived the South Pacific myself, rainbow reef is nothing short of incredible. The equipment was brand new and Nigel and Ylva made us feel really safe as we explored together the different dive locations. I Just wish we dived some more of these one of a kind sites.
At the end of every day we enjoyed some hilarious conversations with the owners Carol and Nigel. They truly have created something special and you can feel it around every nook and cranny. I'm looking forward to coming back.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank getcooked32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol D, Owner at Sau Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Bula getcooked32,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you stayed with us for your honeymoon; may the magic of Sau Bay be you both throughout your life together!
We hope to welcome you back to your Fiji home.
Vinaka and Sota Tale ( till we meet again)
Your Sau Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

Can't wait to get back. Incredible location + great staff + good food = Awesome Vacation.
The size makes Sau Bay very intimate and incredibly relaxing. If you need to disconnect and relax for a while, this is where you need to come!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol D, Owner at Sau Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Bula Simon,

Thank you for the great review - we are all really appreciative when our guests have an awesome stay.

We know with everyones high speed life it is important to be able to find a spot in the world where you can disconnect and relax!

Hope to welcome you 'home' again soon.

Vinaka
Your Sau family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

We, 5 of us (3 daughters in their 20s), visited between Christmas and New Years. It was an amazing experience, from the first view of Sau Bay by boat when you walk through the beautiful water to a coconut drink handed to you on the beach, to playing with all the great dogs. Even though we had gone to dive, but couldn’t because of the cyclone, we had an amazing few days at Sau Bay. It is breathtakingly beautiful, the accommodations are lovely, the food and staff are amazing. The only thing that might have been better is to have a bigger selection in wine (I think we only had one red that we could choose from).
We’re planning on going back.

Room tip: Highly recommend the tent/yurt
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol D, Owner at Sau Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Bula Elayne and family,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that despite the cyclone that you still enjoyed your stay.
We are so sorry that you did not get to experience our underwater wonderland...we are happy to report that there was no damage to our reefs.
We look forward to your return to your 'Fiji home',and experience our Sau magic both below and above.the Ocean.
Vinaka
Your Sau family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020

The best family vacation spot we have been to and the very definition of paradise; Sau Bay is the perfect place to get away from it all. The food was excellent and made to order by an amazing cook and pastry chef. The accommodations were luxurious. I especially enjoyed the outdoor shower in our cabin. 

In the mornings they took my daughter out to scuba dive at rainbow reef and to the most beautiful diving she has ever experienced. In the afternoons they staff held a ‘uses of a coconut’ lesson and we participated in a hermit crab race! One of the staff even brought us on a tour of his village. 

There is something here for everyone in the family. My husband and I enjoyed snorkeling in the bay and resting in the hammocks, while our daughter enjoyed scuba diving, hiking and playing with the many resort dogs. 

The staff was exceptionally accommodating and treated us like one of the family. This is a very relaxed place that is off the grid and runs on Fiji time. 

We will miss Sau Bay and are already planning our next trip! 

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maye78652
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol D, Owner at Sau Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Bula Maye 78652 and family,

We were thrilled having you visit us and to add you to our Sau Family! Your great review is gratefully appreciated. It makes it so much easier for prospective guests to read reviews and make a decision about visiting.

We hope the rest of your vacation in the South Pacific was enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you 'home' next year.

Vinaka and Lolomas
Your Sau Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

I spent 5 days in Sau Bay and I was super impressed by the level of service, food and the warm Fiji family feeling that the staff extend to all of the guests. The dive boat is really well done with a great ladder and setup. The reef is incredible. If you're looking for a relaxing cozy spot. This is the place. Good for solo dive travellers.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank victa2000r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Carol D, Owner at Sau Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Bula victa2000r,\

It was great meeting you and to share some of our Sau Magic with you - both topside and underwater.

We all love to share our tiny slice of paradise with our guests and then have them join into our growing 'family'.

Thank you for your great review.

Vinaka from your Sau Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews