We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
174
128
65
33
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
128
65
33
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews resort dinner excursions parents lot
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Build once for international tourists looking for budget trip to USSR resort, this гпу hotel went to the poor state and now owned by presidential administration and renewed. You find here the 4* conditions and the mediocre services. Breakfast is so-so as well as other food served.
New and clean, it has a nicety of new bath equipment with a cheap board furniture. Westerners would note that corridors are stone-floored and thus noisy. There are no safe fire doors, existing doors are all the time fixed open, inviting the fire. The reception is overcrowded all the time, and unprofessional.

Room Tip: not the room looking to the entrance if lower than 7th floor
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We travelled to Dagomys for a children's theatre festival. The rooms were excellent - clean, tastefully furnished and with nice balconies. We had three meals a day. Typical Soviet style food in a modern atmosphere. Healthy, edible but with little variety over the four days. My main complaint is that almost all of the emergency exit doors were padlocked shut. See photos. For me this is reason enough to blacklist a hotel. Our room was on the 6th floor, situated at the end of the corridor. The set of emergency exit doors nearest us was wired shut and when I tried to break the soldered connection I was unable. In the dining area there was an entire wall of glazing with emergency exit doors along it. Every single door was locked shut. At the back of the main lobby where there was a balcony, the doors were also locked shut. We complained to the management but they said it was their regulations. Obviously they are not too concerned with the safety of their guests. The lifts broke down several times during our stay and the power also went out for about 20 minutes. The beach is a short walk from the hotel. It is a pebble beach with a new boardwalk and amenities along part of it. The train runs along the shoreline. Clean, calm but nothing spectacular. See photo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view/
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferO777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Remodeled Hotel Dagomys looks brand new and every facility works perfectly well. Rooms are updated and refurbished with IKEA kind of furniture. Airconditioning and WiFi in the room and in the public areas. Elevators are fast and quiet, almost no waiting, except for beach elevator, and even then never waited longer than a minute or two. Clean and beatiful surfaces everywhere: granite blocks on the park paths, marble in the foyer, halls and atriums. Gorgeous and intelligent young staff, three kinds of working Banking machines, still troubles with English langauge speakers, but probably fluently speaking English specialists prefer big cities and high salaries of Moscow and St Petersburg. Main Restraunt uses buffet style serving, food is excellent and healthy. Keep in mind that resort is a Health Spa as well, with doctors and treatments of all kinds.
Every possible effort was made to blend Russian traditional cuisine with Western requirements. Still, Russians have their dinner at lunch time, and at dinner time they have supper. This can't be helped! Great choice of meats and fish at every meal, vegetables and healthy pastries as well. Two kinds of beer at dinner time at no extra charge. Food was priced very reasonably, hotel rooms were priced close to Mexican resorts. Beach is well equipped, there are clean and comfy changing and shower rooms plus to regular lavatories.Play areas for the kids with supervisors, so that parents can have some time alone, but not for the whole day, just couple hours.

Room Tip: Comfort Suite has separate bedroom and living room, and equipped with two bathrooms and two balconies
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K1n0dar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

So where to start? We are informed that the hotel is complete and all facilities are in operation. You cannot get to the sea easily because they have not finished the bridge and even when you get there it is just a shell with iron rods and cement packets everywhere (this was supposed to be completed in July 2013.) Traveling around the hotel is a risky experience, the roads and paths have holes everywhere and most are still being finished. Our room has no WiFi signal and we cannot get a signal for most TV channels. The breakfast is awful and is the same everyday. The lifts keep breaking down and we just hope we are not caught in the middle of a breakdown with our 5 month old baby.

The swimming pool is huge and the spa facilities are very good (excellent actually) however, the pool sides are not cleaned enough and the tiles used are very very slippery! Our daughter slipped and another families daughter had a bad crash - worst still, my wife had a fall on the stairs and badly injured herself.

So complain I here you shout! Oh what a great idea... The best we could do was write a comment in a comment book because no manager would see us. Maybe it is a Russian thing but there is no customer service. If we do not like it go somewhere else seems to be their attitude.

As a warning choose any other hotel - Sochi is a lovely place and the Ski facilities will be great when the Olympics are over. Just choose anywhere else!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view as there is nothing exciting the other side!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 302mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

I was a bit upset with a review by a previous author and do not want you to be discouraged by it.

I grew up in Sochi and know the area very well, and even if I do not live there anymore, I still visit city regular for the vacation.

Dagomys, unfortunately, is not 'one of the best' hotels in Sochi; it used to be, however, about 20 years ago. Since 2001 it has been renewed, as I have seen it with my own eyes last May. Some older hotels renewing room by room, consequently, renting old rooms for less money. Most hotels in Sochi will give you a price list with several rooms, do not go for chip ones, as you might get a truly horrible room with old newspapers and not working soviet TV.

For a little more money you will get much nicer room with better facilities. If you do not speak English, and are serious about visiting Sochi, I would suggest Hotel Zhemchuzhina, Redisson Park Hotel or Redisson Lazyrnaya (different spellings)

Dagomys area, places to visit: If you like beautiful montain views and love nature, there are a lot of excursions to Korita and Soloh-Aul (various spelling, please, see pictures). Also, in Dagomys you could see the tea plantations, the most northern part of the world, where tea plants grow. Within about 20 minutes drive from the hotel are the Tea Houses, where president Putin loves to go, beautiful Russian traditional houses with traditional teas and pastry.

In the centre of Dagomys you can find few Georgian and Armenian restaurants with a distinctive cuisine. Also, it is a very little crime and is safe going outside the hotel area. But please, remember, Dagomys Hotel is situated within about 30 minutes drive from Sochi city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Yulja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews