We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jelen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mlyn(Zavar)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Linea(Piestany)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
IMPIQ Hotel(Trnava)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Harmonia(Piestany)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
4
4
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
4
6
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We all know it. Sometimes you arrive to a hotel with no expectations and all these are met. Our stay in Jelen was very pleasant, even though it was only one night.
The location is perfect. Right in the heart of Hlohovec, directly on the main square. Parking is just in front of the hotel, though paid during working days.
Staff was nice, helpful and polite. As always in Slovakia.
The room is good, there are a lot of details that make your stay nice, so you won't miss a thing. The only small con is that the double room consists of two beds put together instead of a double bed.
So I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

My wife and I are regular visitors to Hlohovec and had always enjoyed visiting Hotel Jelen, usually for drinks on the outdoor terrace area and occasionally for food. It has always been OK, but on our most recent visit we found that there is now a grill at the outdoor area, and when we arrived and ordered drinks, we were told by the waitress that we couldn't have just drinks outside as they were busy, and we'd have to go inside instead. We chose to simply leave and take our custom elsewhere, not just that day but every other time we had drinks during our visit. Not good business sense, Hotel Jelen. Not good at all.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

This could be a good hotel, I recently stayed here with a group of students, the rooms are a very good size, but sadly, not very clean, we stayed or 5 nights and the carpets were not vacumed, the beds were not changed and the bathroom had a quick wipe over on one day, one room was thick in dust when we arrived, two rooms had not been made up from the previous guests, but apparently they had a new cleaner, so lets hope she/he has been sacked and replacement put in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good, hot or cold food. The restaurant food is also very good, we ate here on a few evenings and it was always good and always busy with locals. apart from the rooms everywhere else was very clean. My only real complaint which is out of the hands of the hotel would be the noisy (church) bells at the front of the room at 6am, the rear rooms after 11pm are probably the best, so if you wish to go to bed early and get up early have a room at the front, if you wish to go to bed a little later and get up later go to the back rooms.. I would stay again, but would be a little more insistent about the room being cleaned regularly. But in the hotels defence they were full on most evenings.

Room Tip: as per review, rear for a late get up, front for an early get up (rooms 1 to 10 at the front by the church bells.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here for business travel. The room is average and a little bit old but there's air conditioner in the room which is good for summer time. I had room facing the hotel's yard and it's a little bit noisy in the evening with people drinking and laughing in the yard. But it's getting quiet after 11 P.M. There's no elevator in the hotel and if you carry huge luggage, please choose the room on the ground floor.

Parking is free in the hotel's yard and you should use the room key for entering the parking lot which is secure.

Breakfast is OK with a selection of omelet, bread and fruit but my dinner experience here was not a happy one. I sat in the open area and there were several flies flying around which is annoying. The steak is a little bit overcooked and I believe the restaurant near the church is better than here.

Hotel staffs are nice, both the front desk and girls in the restaurant are friendly and speak English.

Room Tip: If you have huge luggage, choose the room on the groun floor. If you're a light sleeper, avoid the room facing the yard.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The only reason why this place would get a good rating is because in Hlohovec you have no other alternatives. Hotel is average, and I will not talk about the food, because this is really a problem. Typical Slovak overcooked food that taste as if it was coming from a lunch dinner . Just really bad, worse then bad, really horrible..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews