We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Roman Empire ruins in Kaiseraugst and Augst.

These sites are a treasure! The museum includes relics back to AD 35. I was fascinating by the... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
wendyjog2018
,
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Visited at the Roman Festival with lots of locals visting. Great for the kids.

If you can come at the 2-day Roman Festival, you can enjoy a great day out with your kids, they... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2018
Mushroom12345
,
Hong Kong
Read all 168 reviews
  
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
24
40
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
40
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman ruins few hours silver collection minute walk animal park car or bike roman home interesting place walk around museum basel site amphitheater theatre switzerland remains rhine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

These sites are a treasure! The museum includes relics back to AD 35. I was fascinating by the history of this area.

Thank wendyjog2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

If you can come at the 2-day Roman Festival, you can enjoy a great day out with your kids, they will love them. All Roman things, sword, food, booths (more than 50+).
Nice shows and great food as well.

Thank Mushroom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Imagine clearing a site for new construction and coming upon a treasure trove of ancient silver! Digging a bit more carefully uncovers a whole Roman City with temples, state, amphitheater, baths, coliseum, shops and more. This is what is in store when you visit this site. The Museum and parking on site are fee based. A small snack bar near the amphitheater is available.

Thank cellofool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Very close to Basle and definitely worth a visit. Museum does not have enough to charge an entry fee. Well maintained. Enjoyed our visit.

Thank jpiks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

We were staying very close by and found this on Trip Advisor having not heard about it previously. We decided to go and have a look and were very glad we did. The ruins are free to view. You can spend as long as you like wandering round, and decide how far you want to walk as some of them are quite spread out. But it is a pleasant walk. We parked at the museum and then drove round afterwards to the animal park. This was not very exciting. We also paid for entry to the museum, which was quite small but well laid out and we found it interesting. A nice way to spend a few hours, especially if you are interested in history. We had two little children with us aged 2 and 5 and they also enjoyed exploring the ruins and museum.

Thank tripnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We were taken to Augusta Raurica by my cousin and her husband when we were visiting Basel. We were not aware of the ruins until they told us about them. It was amazing to find such a well-preserved area in the middle of Europe. We spent a few hours exploring the Amphitheatre, housing and work areas. The preservation group have done a wonderful job of showing the life and history of the area. A must see for anyone visiting the area.

Thank cdndave1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This is a nice place to walk around and look at. It is quite large so it is more of a place to walk around on a nice day rather then spend time inside. Bring a picknick, there are many places to eat, relax in the shade and take a break fro m looking at ruins when the kids get bored.

Thank David_Tagliaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Of course if you visit Rome and then Augusta Raurica....it will looks a bit empty. But the place is nice for a quite walk.

Thank Georgebanks85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Augusta Raurica just outside Basel used to be one of the biggest if not the biggest roman settlement north of the Alps. There is still lot to see. It has a museum, an Amphitheater where concerts are played once in a while and a big roman festival in August with roman soldiers, gladiators, shops (tents actually), food stands and much more.

1  Thank PascalReiniger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This is an awesome site to visit. You don't necessarily think of Roman ruins when you think about Switzerland but this adds to your trip tremendously. Take a couple hours to explore the ruins and museum.

Thank Ken Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews