We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience in the jungles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
K Gudi Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience in the jungles”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This place is within the jungles. The staff are very cooperative and nice. Don;t expect very exotic food here but the staff takes extra care for special request especially for young kids. The property is excellent with animals (mostly deers) roaming around. Lot of birds and squirrels roaming around. They have two safaris all inclusive but don't expect to see many animals. There are many deers which is a treat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhumitaGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    118
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
118
66
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

After a sensational visit to the Jungle Lodges property in kabini a couple of years ago, we, a group of five over 50's - decided to try K Gudi

Part of the problem was the season..the wet season is really poor for animal sightings, which is one of the main reason to go here one would have thought

Apart from relatively hard to spot wildlife, for which the resort cannot be blamed of course, my real complaint is with the lack of facilities. Not expecting 5 star luxury but for a lodge priced at the same level as Kabini, the food was not as good, and the complete absence of hot water meant you couldn't really bathe at all. so it was like camping but paying quite a lot for basically staying in a tent with no hot water and no power for most of the day. Power is not available between about 830 in the morning and 630 at night, which makes it quite difficult to say use the bathroom during the day.They do provide a battery operated lantern
of sorts buts it's very wimpy.

It's real jungle of course and there are reputed to be 35 tigers and 73 leopards in the reserve, but overall for what's on offer, I'd say pick Kabini or some other place.Unless camping is your thing and you are prepared to pay a very hefty price for the privilege.

People were friendly, the driver guide tried his best to find animals for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeker372011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is one of the most pristine forests in India for sure! The staff are very helpful and attentive and the manager - Mr. Sunil is very hospitable. Two of our family members fell ill and he personally came to the log hut to enquire about food, medicines and even called a doctor. He takes care and it shows. The rooms are spotlessly clean and one very unique/good thing is that there seems to be no mosquito menace in the area. Therefore, one can sit out in peace. We stayed in the log huts which was very comfortable. The bathroom is very clean. They have a programme that you adhere to mostly, but its good because they take care of everything from the safari to the food etc. The food is simple and yummy. The safari is twice a day in the evening arund 4 and then in the morning at 6. They take pains to try and show you around, but you have to be lucky enough to spot a leopard, sloth bear or tiger! You will get to see turtles, lots of deer, sambar etc. Of course, one can also go and see the domesticated elephants they have and go near them etc. Highly recommend this trip for any one who wants to see nature at its best and chill on the hammock looking at some very tall trees!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pakhibagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This hidden gem is one of the resorts of Jungle Lodges & Resorts in Karnataka. We arrived in the village near the sanctuary by bus and had a hard time to find a suitable 4WD taxi (a tuk tuk would not be able to reach the camp). Note: the taxistand is located about 1 km from the busstand! The hour drive uphill to the Camp with a 4WD would set you back 700 Rs. On our way up the hills we already saw plenty of wildlife and nice scenery. Only after passing a checkpoint with guard and showing our reservation we were allowed into the sanctuary and arrived in the camp. The staff welcomed us with coffee and tea, before showing us our loghut, which was beautifully set on the hills. We were the only guests and we loved the silentness and serenity of the place. Late in the afternoon we had our first safari, followed by many in the 3 day's we stayed. We were lucky to see lots of wildlife (gaur, deer, mongoose, wild dogs, serpent eagle, wild boar etc) and to top it of, we even saw leopard! The guide was very professional and eager to show us everything. Our loghut was very spacious, clean and had a bathroom with shower and toilet. Unfortunatly hot water was only available after the last safari in the evening. Electricity was available in the evening but we did need our flashlights to walk back to our loghut after sunset. The service provided by the staff was good, as well as the food (buffet)! Only a few other guest arrived during our stay and sometimes we felt that we had this Sanctuary to ourself. Although it is a bit expensive (140 Euro per night for 2), everything was included (3 meals a day, coffee/tea, and 2 safaris a day) and it was well worth it. It is a shame that not many foreigners visit this part of South India, but it also makes this place unique in every way, we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutchkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

the BR Hills Jungle Lodges is one of the few jungle lodges actually inside the jungle. The resort itself is a bunch of tent cottages with all the amenities (full bathrooms, hot water etc).

the big downside of this place is:
- There seem to be very few animals in the forest (lots of birds though). We went on 4 safaris over two days and saw almost no animals except for some deer and gaur. Definitely for bird-lovers only
- The current manger (Ashish) is a real jerk... we were in a family of 10 people, including adults & kids. We requested to go on one of the larger vehicles which fits 10+ people. But he insisted on giving the 10 person jeep to a couple because they were "photographers"... the rest of us "underprivileged" people had to squeeze into a tight fitting jeep meant for a smaller #.

the rest of the staff were superb and more than made up for the manager's rudeness. Went out of their way to help us.

All in all, i recommend saving your money and staying away from this place except during peak animal season. You can get much more value for money at other jungle lodges (and not have to deal with rude managers either) :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stylebhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelandur
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikkamagalur
76 reviews
19.5 km away
Nijaguna Residency
Nijaguna Residency
#2 of 3 in Bandipur
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Raya Resort
Raya Resort
#1 of 1 in Mudukuthore
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
#14 of 37 in Sakleshpur
64 reviews
0.0 km away
Bhimgad Adventure Camp
Bhimgad Adventure Camp
#2 of 39 in Belgaum
3 reviews
0.0 km away
Stone Valley Resorts Sakleshpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Gudi Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Gudi Wilderness Camp

Property: K Gudi Wilderness Camp
Address: Kyathadevara Gudi | B.R. Hills, Yelandur 571313, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chamarajanagar District > Yelandur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Yelandur
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,659 - ₹ 15,270
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inimitable rush of untamed terrain - gorges, valleys, forests and swirling, swollen and frothing white water: that's what the Kali Adventure Camp at Dandeli is about. A sprawling bungalow on the banks of the majestic Kali River, this wilderness camp is all about making a connection with nature. Take a walk down the wild side and discover just how invigorating it can be. Discover the sheer adrenalin rush of being alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your K Gudi Wilderness Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Gudi Wilderness Camp Hotel Yelandur
K Gudi Wilderness Camp Karnataka/Yelandur, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing