We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Kedarnath Temple
from US$ 459.20
More Info
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
49
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
49
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

What an awesome experience and amazing feeling I have had from my very recent trip to Kedarnath Temple.
Here the ancient history, myth, facts and an awe inspiring nature have all mingled with each other to gift a visitor an amazing feel and a certain peace of mind.
Those who are even not aware of Indian history and spirituality will surely be amazed while visiting this place at almost 12000 feet altitude.
Requesting all visitors to please read the brief historical background of this temple considered to be one of the most powerful Jyotirlinga of Lord Shiva.
Where it is very difficult for mankind to reach this place.. it seems really unbelievable that how this temple was constructed during 7th Century by Sree Sree Adi Shankaracharya when there was no road and transportation.
Those who will not be able to trek 21 kms steep hilly road to reach the temple can avail of services of choppers by booking online.
Though a little bit of cold... yet October and 1st week of November is the best time to visit this heaven as there is less crowd and less traffic from the gateway Haridwar.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Subir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

If you really want to find god in heaven then you should visit this place. Although very very difficult to climb but the feel you get after climbing you’ll feel great. You’ll come to know what achievement is. You can stay up in the mountains if you want but be careful snow and rains can come anytime to greet you. Stay is not that expensive and you’ll find food as well. Chopper service is also available to go up but try to climb

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank priyanshj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The mountains, the flowing river, the cold air and the whole of nature come together to define Divinity and accentuates the allure of the temple. The setting is truly spectacular. The trek to the temple is difficult and arduous and hence we took the helicopter services, considering that we had aged people in the group, although we saw so many aged people reaching there via other means, drawn by the allure of the Lord Neelkantha !

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank soummo1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

After 2013 disaster,now the periphery of temple is reconstructed in a very planned manner. Now the trail is longer it's 16 km from Gaurikund but the way is completely constructed with concrete and stone tiles.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Devender S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2018

First of all I would thank UTTTARAKHAND TRIP TREK (UTT),

We visited kedarnath in Sep first week with my family, weather was cool and rainy. There was no shops for tea, snacks. When we had visited the temple helicopter Service had not started due to bad weather, so we completed the journey by Trek. As it was very rainy when we reached so there was no queue we did darshan 4 times, watched the temple aarti. The river Mandakini flows near the temple and joins alakandanda at Rudraprayag. Kedarnath temple is also one of the 12 jyothirlingas of lord shiv, The view of the valley and the mountains and choppers landing and taking off. Its just awesome.

Overall experience was very good, would like to visit again despite the fact that way is very dangerous, no amenities are there.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank FellowTraveler814826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews