We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of Taverna dell'Orso

Taverna dell'Orso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We went there as a last minute resolution, based on the positive reviews. The menu was intriguing with lots of choices for appetizers, pasta dishes and main course. We weren't hungry, so we only had one pasta dish and a piccata to share. I got the spaghetti della taverna - basically a carbonara with the addition of truffle- and my uncle got the pici cacio e pepe with guanciale and truffle. Both pastas were outstanding! We also loved the steak, cooked just right. Shout out to the staff: when we got there they were fully booked. They told us to go check out the castle of the nearby town.... not to wait for a table to clear out. They called us when the table was ready. Very friendly and efficient staff. It was much a better meal than the ones we had downtown Perugia, and cheaper too! highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2018

I booked a table for a bridesmaid luncheon and was very pleased with the entire experience. The chef helped me select just enough food to keep the ladies fed. Great antipasto plate, an assortment of pastas and delicious desserts. The view is also excellent, but it was pouring rain the day we ate there.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank F2664PKwilliamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Food great. Service confident and friendly. Atmosphere very cosy and thought-through.

We are a British couple travelling through Umbria and stumbled on this place. Well-signposted but hardly in the middle on anywhere famous.

Worth a detour.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Parry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Well, where can I start! We were made to feel welcome by the owner who explained with great knowledge where gaps in my fair knowledge existed with his menu. His advice was first class and that carried the same with his wine recommendation. As for the foods quality and presentation: this guy needs a Michelin star in our opinion. Book a meal here, don’t miss this one, highly recommended. ( Do book though unlike the person who didn’t and found it shut who left a negative review, he really did miss out through his own stupidity)

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank J0nmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

great Italian food and a breathtaking location! the wine was excellent. wish I can be there again! ciao

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcct974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna dell'Orso also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna dell'Orso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing