We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for dinner”
Review of Taverna dell'Orso

Taverna dell'Orso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We were looking forward to having dinner here, but upon our arrival, the place was closed. The sign in front of the restaurant stated clearly "Open every day for lunch and dinner". Their website (that I had consulted earlier that evening) didn't have any notification that the restaurant was closed.
In this day and age one should be able to rely on modern social media to be up to date. So.... bad service.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonardo m, Proprietario\Chef at Taverna dell'Orso, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Peter, we are so sad to see that you made a so bad review, especially because is a consequence of your distraction and not our direct responsibility, i try to explain even if my english is not too good....
First of all the restaurant was closed for a week for vacation and is not possible on tripadvisor website advice customers about that, is only permitted in case of a big renovation of the restaurant for long period.
Posted on the door of the restaurant was a big notice about the vacation, directly under the opening hours table, obviously in italian.
In accord of what you explain about this age, we posted the notification of the vacation period in ours FB page and in ours web site also, the FB post is still there from September 1 if you want to check.
However if you " were looking forward to having dinner".... maybe was more appropriated to sand an e-mail or just using the phone to make a reservation.
We are really sorry for what happened but at the same time we would like you and other customers to know that we have done our best to respect our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great food and excellent service in an authentic casual setting on a cosy crowded terrace surrounded by Italians (locals and tourists). Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank gino1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

My boyfriend and I stopped here for lunch on our road trip through Italy, because the ratings were so great. We were not disappointed! We fell in love with the outdoor scenery and atmosphere as soon as we arrived. The service was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and patient with us. They explained what we didn't understand on the menu, as it was all in Italian. The food was delicious. We both had pasta, which was so fresh with incredible, unique sauces. All for great value compared to everywhere else we had visited in Italy. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aecroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a dinner place outside of the city and came across to this place.
Situated on a hill with a breathtaking view of the area and on Perugia - with a wonderful sun set.
Food was great at quite low cost.
We had the house starter with different starters from the area and 2 pastas - both with truffels.
Staff is very well trained and were giving good suggestions.
Specially to mentioned that the waiter was following us to the car and to bring us the 10 Euros we obviouly paid too much.
We'll get back to this place whenevet we are in the area

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank koboldmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

We had both appetizers and pasta. It was great. Excellent and friendly waitstaff. Crostini was great, the gnocheletti and taverna pasta with truffles was also very very good.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Smckee1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna dell'Orso also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna dell'Orso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing