We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
58
62
19
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
62
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roast pork pudding good size light sleeper bar food birthday party lovely lunch modern bathroom wooden floors only stayed one night breakfast was included sunday lunch main restaurant my partner excellent hotel the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Our party of 8 adults stayed for one night on Saturday August 25th 2018.

First impressions, a very "green-leafy" location, ample car parking & very welcoming. On arrival we were given a guided tour of the bar, restaurant & bedrooms, all of which were beautifully presented.
The bedrooms were spacious, well appointed with modern fittings.

We dined in the main restaurant, low lit & again beautifully appointed in "Heritage" colours to compliment the building. The food on offer came up to & exceeded all our expectations, all our party choosing different from a very varied imaginative menu & all agreed it was an excellent meal, very well presented & served with friendliness & enthusiasm.
We all agreed we couldn't wait to visit again, it is a pity we all live some distance away from The Chequers Inn Hotel.

Thank you to all the "Chequers" team for making our brief stay such a memorable one.
We will return.

Room Tip: The rooms which face the roadside have unrestricted views of open countryside.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for the British feeling, without loosing the comfort of modern life, than this is the place to be. You will find all the old fashioned details in the pub and entry, but the rooms have all the modern comforts you need. The service is good and the restaurant serves good British meals.

It is a good choice, at a price. It is not cheap or average.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Adam_Borek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We were a mid-sized family party, celebrating a birthday. It was a fairly low key event and we simply wanted to have Sunday lunch somewhere lovely. The restaurant environment is absolutely that - lovely. The pub/bar and restaurant are both tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The establishment provides excellent parking facilities. The menu is large and varied, even on Sunday lunchtimes you can chose from either the roast menu, or the everyday menu. Our party ordered from both menus. The fish and the burgers were impressive, the roast meals that 3 of us had were absolutely delicious and we ate pretty much every bite - nothing to complain about at all. Great portion sizes, the meat was tender, great flavour - simply perfect. From a food perspective we would all definitely eat there again. We really have no complaints, other than, one of the waitresses (the one serving us the most) seemed frosty and off-hand when we arrived. As the restaurant emptied, she seemed to thaw out a little, but overall our welcome could have been warmer - it won't stop us going back, but in this review its the difference between 'very good' and 'excellent'!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trudiestottor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Stay regularly in this area. Have visited once for lunch but decided to stay this time. Lovely room, with modern bathroom, nice touch to have complimentary bottled water provided in mini bar. Really enjoyable bar snack and nice wine served in the glorious sunshine outside. continental breakfast was very good with lovely fresh fruit.

Well run family country pub/restaurant and will/are returning September.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LOPont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night, cosi bed, completely remodeled. State to the art bathroom. Clean quite if you ask to get a room facing to the Garden.

Breakfast, served and tasty.

Staff very friendly, will come again.

Fully recommended.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews