We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”

Review of The Burren

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Burren Rear view of The Burren
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Burren
Rear view of The Burren
Sitting area
Dining area
The other side of the kitchen
Downstairs seating area
One of the bedroom
Another bedroom
View of the living area from the terrace
Upstairs seating area
One of the ensuites
View from the upstairs seating area
Upstairs seating area
One side of the kitchen
View from the balcony
Rear garden
Front garden
The Burren from the beach path
Path to the beach
Our local beach
View from the balcony
Another view of the beach
The beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Tyrella, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendyh35
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can't rate this holiday letting high enough. The house was fantastic - equipped with everything you would need & more. Everything was spotless & easy to see that the owners look after the property well. The location was beautiful with easy access to the beach. John & Claire were extremely helpful answering any queries. We hope to return very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath R
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A haven, wonderful accommodation and an adventure for children and adults alike”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our week 16 -23 August 2014 had been planned from early 2013. Our objective was to have a family reunion with aunts, cousins and their children who live in Mourne as well as having a annual family holiday, going out and about the local area to explore. This review is about the house and I will report on the surrounding area in separate reviews. Suffice to say we enjoyed our time in Northern Ireland, especially County Down.
We'd seen the photos, read about it, and thought, wow, so booked it. However, upon arrival it even exceeded our expectations. The house was so well equipped, the internal space was amazing and the outside areas were superb for the kids. The location was brilliant, quiet, in the countryside, with views of the Mourne Mountains to think you were dreaming, a 'private' beach and headland about 100 yards down the track, Tyrella Strand, a Blue Flag beach, about 5 minutes away on one side and and the National Trust nature reserve on the other. We were an extended family party of 9; 2 sisters, 1 brother, wives, husbands and their families ranging in age from 60 (guess who that is). The children were 12, 10 and 7. This house suited us perfectly with plenty of bedroom space to suit our personal needs. Additionally, the upper and lower living areas (with both having fantastic views of the Mournes) allowed the children to watch film DVDs upstairs whilst we could watch TV (the men could watch football on Sky), browse the internet through WiFi or listen to music on our I-phone through the speakers.
The outside area of the house allowed the children to run, climb trees and imagine. There were even water pistol fights, knights defending the castle (the gates being the watch towers), picking blackberries and feeding carrots to horses in the nearby fields. Daily, we saw sparrows teaching their fledglings how to fly and as dusk settled bats flying around the house.
During our stay we invited our aunts, cousins and family for a family party. Again, the house met and exceeded our expectations - the kitchen was great for catering for large numbers, the living areas (upstairs and down), the outside patio and the garden areas allowed great flexibility for adults and children.
My final comment, on my family's behalf, is to say THANK YOU to the Ritchie family for providing the perfect base for our great week. We loved it and hope to be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The equipping of the house, it was so well thought through
Liked least: Having to leave - we all wanted to stay longer in the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. The location is very special to us and it gives us great pleasure to hear about big family reunions at The Burren John on behalf of the Ritchie Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaKir...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for famiy reunions”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal house for large families. Well equiped kitchen. Excellent facilities. Lovely wall art. Perfect location for walkers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you for this feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Burren, John for the Ritchie Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect House in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is difficult to find a house large enough to cope with three families but the Burren covers it with class. The house is exceptionally well equipped with Sky, wifi, dishwasher etc, it was the perfect choice for the extended family. The location is stunning, you can walk to the beach and the views from the balcony in the morning are stunning. There is lots to explore from Tyrella beach to the Lighthouse at St John's point. 15-20 mins and you have the restaurants of Dundrum and the town of Newcastle.

The worst part of the weekend was having to leave at the end.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high quality of the property and equipment.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay P
Leek
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great house and beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We found this house through Tripadvisor reviews. We have just returned after spending a great week at The Burren. We are all originally from that part of Co Down and wanted somewhere to accommodate our family reunion for our mother's 90th birthday. The house was perfect for that occasion. Sleeping for 11 people plus a large open plan dining and lounge areas and large well equipped kitchen for 11 people made it so much easier to accommodate the family and the many relatives who joined us throughout the week. Our mother is in a wheelchair and it was so easy to accommodate her needs when we brought her out to the house on her birthday.
The location is great and sitting upstairs viewing the Mourne mountains sweeping down into Dundrum Bay cannot be beaten! We of course, indulged in many beach walks and drives around the area to lots of seaside towns.
Everyone agreed it was a great week undoubtedly enhanced by excellent accommodation of a high standard. Hopefully we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Creaky floorboards upstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2013
The Ritchie Family are delighted that The Burren was a good venue for your family event. We do hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing