We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Piece of Paradise.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Samadara Estate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Pool
Front View
Pool  & the garden
Pool and the garden
Bedroom
Twin Room
Drawing Room
Veranda
Dining area
Indoor Courtyard
View from the Yoga Room over the Paddy Fields
Bathroom
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Indoor Courtyard
Master bathroom
Master Bathroom
Outdoor Relaxation Area
Master Bedroom
Indoor Courtyard
Yoga Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Midigama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
SimonFras...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise.”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for a wonderful week, the estate is just incredible and I would highly recommend it. Perfect for a family with a fantastic pool and facilities. You can relax at the estate or easily visit the beach where the surfing is incredible. Already planning our next trip!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Dear Simon, Thank you for your comments on Samadara Estate at Midigama. We would like to welcome you again in our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickUAE1
1 review
“A fantastic place for a holiday”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed with friends for a week and wish we could have stayed longer. The house is still new and has clearly been built to a high standard, and is very well looked after. There were lots of little touches that showed the owners and staff really care, like fresh flowers on the bed when we arrived. The house manager and the staff were really welcoming, and were great to have around - they helped with organising transport, and when we were planning a safari. Plus the egg hoppers in the morning were a great way to start the day.

The estate is down a couple of smaller side roads, which gives the feel of being well off the beaten track, but actually the train station and beach is a short (and cheap) tut-tut drive away.

We visited Galle (nearby historic town) for a day, catching a bus on the way to town and a train on the way back. Both easy to get, though the train was less hectic. We also visited Yala on safari, which is a few hours away - lots of elephants but sadly no Leopards. Maybe next time...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harragin4...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the most magical place we have ever visited. If you are after a private and peaceful retreat in the middle of the most beautiful and abundant nature then this is the place. Whilst away from the hustle and bustle it is still within easy reach of everything (beaches/restaurants/ Galle/ Marissa) and massages/ yoga/ cooking classes can easily be arranged on site via the attentive staff. One you are sipping a sun-downer looking at a magical sunset over the unspoilt paddy fields below with the monks chanting in the distance you will thank your lucky stars that you booked Samadara.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Refined luxury”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had 9 days at Samadara with a group of friends that will stay in the memory for a long time, and for all the right reasons. The estate is as beautiful as it is elegant, located perfectly a short tuk tuk drive from the beach into the countryside. The villa and pool overlook palmtrees and a green valley. In the morning buddhist chants drift on the breeze from a local temple and peahens shuffle across the garden. In the evening, fruits bats fly over your head at dusk as you float in the pool sipping from a king coconut harvested by the staff in the grounds that day. The place is pure bliss.

And the icing on the cake is Madura who manages the villa. I have never met a more friendly, relaxed, and can-do person. He and his family provided the breakfasts and evening meals which were excellent, and he can arrange anything from a driver with an air-conditioned car for longer days out, to visiting masseurs or chefs for a special banquet Sri Lankan style.

Sri Lanka has so many sights and sounds to experience and Samadara Estate was the perfect home from home to base ourselves.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation is 5*
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you for all your comments on Samadara Estates and the staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaPCG
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Hidden gem ”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is what you need to know.

Samadara is a beautiful property very well kept and I expect it to become a very sought after place. It is still new as a rental property and I think there are small improvements still to be made, but we had absolutely no complaints.

We stayed here for a week, three adults and two young children, age 2.5 and 1. The property has many little steps and split levels as well as living space that opens beautifully to the outside, so if travelling with small kids you do need to be alert at all times.

There is a gorgeous 25 metre pool with a shallow ledge on one side which my toddler enjoyed playing on. There is no fence around the pool though, so again. If travelling with kids you need to be vigilant.
There is a wonderful water feature outside the tv room (which has cable) with little fish, which turned out to be a great attraction for the kids.

Three bedrooms (all ensuite) are clustered together, opening directly on to a small 10 metre path leading to the main house. The other bedroom is on the opposite side of the main house above the tv room.

The house manager, Madura, is very helpful and there is an amazing chef in the kitchen ready to prepare any meals for you. We feasted on Sri Lankan curry and rice which was to die for, and he also prepared less exotic food for the kids. You can go to the shop and get the groceries and he will cook, or just give them money to shop for you.

Madura was able to arrange a local babysitter for us, and the management company arranged for a yoga instructor to come to the villa. The villa has yoga mats to borrow.

Midigama beach - only for advanced surfers - is 10 minutes tuktuk away, Weligama is maybe 20 minutes, and Galle was around an hour.

The villa is inland, in the middle of the jungle really, so you might see plenty of wildlife. We saw squirrels, birds, lizards, including a giant monitor lizard, a snake and frogs. They also have a few cows wandering around and two guard dogs.

Things that could improve: pre travel information could be better. A standard information pack with details of distances to beaches, shops, trains etc would be great. The house had no back up generator when we were there and there was a power cut the day we left. Hopefully this will be changed before long.

Overall an amazing place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;