We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveller rating
711
273
99
48
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
273
99
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea country house hotel first class stable block stately home dining rooms superior room public rooms huge room cherry orchard drawing room lovely grounds high standard petit fours the main house herb garden golf course
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We stayed for 4 nights in the Gallery Room. Vrery quirky but very enjoyable. The food was excellent and the service very good. We would certainlt recommend it to others, though perhaps not the Gallery Room!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Good Afternoon Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here, it was a pleasure to have you both staying here at Hintlesham Hall.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the food and service you received was so good.

We do very much look forward to welcoming you both back to Hintlesham Hall again soon.

Kindest Regards

Zoe Bell
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Great value

Recently visited Hintlesham Hall for Sunday lunch. Just driving up to this beautiful house one already feels special. Greeted at the door on arrival and shown to the bar/sitting room. As part of the set lunch menu we were offered canapes while we decided what we were going to eat. About 10 minutes after our orders were taken we were shown to the stunning dining room. Our food did not disappoint.

It was a beautiful day so sat out in the gardens to have our coffee and homemade chocolates all part of the set menu.

All in all a great experience and definitely worth a visit - absorb the ambiance of the Hall and enjoy.

Show less

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank missbrowneyesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Miss Bowneyes,

Thank you for your review of our wonderful Sunday lunches. We are all pleased to hear that your experience from start to finish was so positive and that everyone had a lovely time.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hintlesham Hall again soon.

Kindest Regards

Zoe Bell
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

No association to the previous review - however more or less exactly the same experience, the wanting of a small fridge would have been nice.
+ve -Nice and quiet when we stayed.
Staff very accommodating and good communications with hotel before arrival.
No Aircon so would have been very hot during summer months, no dedicated disabled parking and the inconvenience of dragging bags across gravel is no joke.
We thought the food was OK (expensive for what is was) and £18:50 very pricey for a breakfast.
3 electric charging points for TESLA's but none for ordinary EV's
Thanks for the 4 nights but doubt if we would return.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good Afternoon Roy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am please to hear that your experience with our staff was so warm and accommodating. I am however, sorry to hear that you stay was not 100% satisfactory. Unfortunately due to our building being grade 1 listed it does cause problems installing air conditioning, we do have a small fridge available upon request I am sorry that no one mentioned this to you, if you did request this while you were with us. Although we do not have designated disabled parking spaces, guests who require disabled parking are able to park ask close to the building as they like, as long as they have displayed their blue badge, I do wish that you had requested some assistance with your luggage as one of our staff would have been more than happy to assist you. If you did happen to return to Hintlesham Hall please do note that we do offer breakfast at a reduced price of £13.95 if you do pre book this. We do indeed have three charging points for electric cars, one of which is TESLA only, however, the other two chargers will support other makes of cars, there are some older models that are not supported.

Again I am sorry that not everything was perfect for your stay and thank you for your comments they have been noted by our management team.

Kindest Regards

Zoe Bell
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here just for one night and had a a very relaxing time. The staff were welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the room called ‘Rialto’ - a lovely comfortable superior room overlooking the garden. Luxurious bed and most importantly - very quite.

We had dinner and breakfast and both did not disappoint. The dinner is not quite fine dining. However, everything was well cooked and tasty.

We took advantage of the spa and had one treatment each which was very good value and worth every penny. One of the best massages and facials we’ve ever had.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Portabud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Portabud,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here with us.

I am so pleased to hear that you had such a great time here and got to enjoy all aspects of the hotel, the spa treatments are a favourite of mine as well.

We do very much look forward to welcoming you both back to Hintlesham Hall again soon.

Kindest Regards

Zoe Bell
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We were attending a family wedding. The venue was lovely, full of character with wonderful decor. The staff were very friendly, polite and attentive. We stayed overnight in a lovely room which was a good size, the bed was very comfortable and very large. The decor in the room was beauitful and in keeping with the rest of the Hall. Food at the wedding and breakfast was delicous.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank MandyH1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer S, Guest Relations Manager at Hintlesham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Mandy,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay.

Hintlesham Hall really is a special place for a wedding and it is always lovely to hear that our wedding guests have enjoyed their time her with us so much.

We do very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hintlesham Hall again soon.

Kindest Regards

Zoe Bell
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews