We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“2 Day Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“2 Day Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Were greeted with utmost warmth and courtesy. A suitable room was offered to repalce the one booked. Bed was one of the most comfortable ever. Dinner from Table D'Hote was not the best we have ever had but quality was improved second night from the A 'a Cart. Breakfasts were excellent and freshly cooked. Fruit Juices all looked the same and would have benefitted from labels. A grand building with a touch of class. Looking forward to the next visit. Pity the spa was closed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    212
    74
    36
    17
See reviews for
102
579
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Rialto was our room - booked for 2 nights on the dinner on one night (table de ote), and breakfast on both, with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine. Liked the low profile booking in process, and the room, with views over the garden. But it needs another wing chair. Shower was a touch small. Complimentary sparkle was very decent quality. Late lunch in the Garden was delightful, some nice short walks around the hotel. Fabulous location, noise free, great sleeps in our king size bed. I don't know why they have 2 menu's - why not offer "package`` guests a discount on the "a la carte". Following dinner, go to bed, or visit the local pub. Entirely lacking in atmosphere. We got back from the local at 10.45, and everyone had gone to bed !! The central heating was not on, so we had to request a fan heater !! The lack of the spa as cited by some reviewers as a big negative, well ok, but we never stayed for a spa. The owners should sell the spa grounds for housing.

Room Tip: Rialto is good, but only if the heating is turned on !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armanleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We got a fabulous deal through Secret Escapes and had a midweek 2 night stay at this hotel. First impressions were excellent. Reception had the room ready for us and took us up two flights of stairs to the " Heart of Oak " room. A lovely old 4 poster bed in a room full of charachter high in the roof of the building. Its main feature apart from the huge bed was the oak beams, they looked original and added to the romantic feeling of theroom. It was furnished beatifully and had a large ensuite bathroom with a large shower and equally large bath. Unfortunately we weren't blessed with good weather during our stay so were unable to take advantage of the gardens other than to have a quick look around but what we did see seemed beautifully kept. We did feel that there could have been one or two improvements to the service. After ordering an expensive bottle of wine we weren't offered any nibbles to accompany it and on enquiring were told all they could find was some Pringles. Bar service was often slow, simply due to the fact there was no-one around and could have been far more attentive. No coasters for our glass's etc. We ate in the restaurant from the Table D'Hote menu and were very disappointed indeed. The food was mediocre at best, although presented very well it lacked taste. The second evening we decided to try " Harry's " menu in our room. This was a very pleasant suprise. Much, much better than the previous evenings meal. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent, again I would highly recommend it My husband and I both had treatments during our stay and found these to be excellent value. Mine was a destressing massage which certainly did the trick, I would highly recommend it. Overall the hotel was lovely but it did have a tendancy to appear a little pretentious and although the reception staff and the lady who did the massages were excellent the waiting staff could be better. They should maybe take a look at somewhere like Langshott Manor in Surrey for tips on what good waiting service should be. Gentlemen, one thing worth noting is that although in the hotel literature it states gentlemen should always wear a jacket in the restaurant, during the week this isn't required. We had a great stay on a good package which included a free bottle of " Brut " on arrival, 3 course meal on our first night and a free bottle of wine on our second night if we ate from the A La Carte menu. I don't think I would pay the full price to stay here again but if another good deal cam up I would definitely snap it up.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaspa41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

WE booked with Secret Escapes...SUPERIOR ROOM etc etc. However tap marble tops fell off...stuck on with tape...carpets soiled (apparently with self tanning lotion!) evn out=r two well behaved dogs were horror stricken!! Soiling elsewhere on carpets...poor decor in shower areas and service required constantly. TV didn't work for Paralympics Open Night!!. Got laundry wrong...had to check everything and to top all insults we were told on our last evening that a couple had complained about our barking dog (for an hour!!) 8.30 to 9.30 (breakfast closed at 9.30) and we had two dogs!! Apparently only one was heard! We asked why we weren't told immediately and would have put them in car. Soap shortage.Potentially nice setting but not up to what it claimed. We were compensated for our troubles. Bath was dirty.Pool etc was out of order.

Room Tip: Don't know didn't try...accepted a 'dog friendly' room of which there were 4 and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eggtimer186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on Sea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I hope I don't sound contradictory, however, there were some negative points about our time at Hintlesham Hall here even though we enjoyed our stay. The room was very nice, the breakfast and service in the dining room was good but we were most disappointed that the pool was closed and this was the main reason why my husband had booked this hotel. Nowhere on the website was this pointed out and potential customers need to be aware of the situation, in fact we didn't see any evidence of work being carried out so you might want to ring ahead to find out the current position. Front of house didn't seem totally professional when we arrived and during our stay there seemed to be only one lady who seemed alert and fitted to this role. This was mostly satisfactory but not quite befitting to the group to which this hotel belongs. We have stayed at two other hotels in this group this summer and the service there was exemplary. The floral displays were magnificent and deserve a mention.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoupouneLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
17.5 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
8.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
17.4 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
13.4 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
15.3 km away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,631 - ₹ 13,429
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing