We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Stunning, Delightful Hotel - Excellent Service and Amazing Rooms”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Stunning, Delightful Hotel - Excellent Service and Amazing Rooms”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is the place to stay if your going to Ipswich or the surrounding areas.

The hotel is faultless - great service, unique rooms, very quirky, lots of feautures, great room service menu, very clean.

Only problem - I struggled to get 3G and a phone signal... just beware !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    227
    79
    38
    19
See reviews for
114
615
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Set in the most beautiful grounds and rolling countryside - this hotel is a real find! The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. We were shown to our rooms - think we were upgraded to the top floor! Huge room with free standing bath over looking the grounds + lovely modern bathroom. Yes a bit tired in places but what do you expect with beautiful old buildings. Gym facilities and pool still closed, but managed to get a few games of tennis in - although you could barely see any lines in the court - that really could do with addressing! In the evening we met up with rest of family - had superb canapes and drinks whilst choosing from the wine and evening menu. Went through into the restaurant - so atmospheric - flowers candles - beautiful crisp linen - fine dining at its best. We all had amazing food and service - completely faultless - a proper English country hotel. In the morning were greeted by the same high level of service and sat down to a excellent freshly cooked breakfast - top marks again! Absolutely loved it and all agreed we would return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

So disappointed, this was a long awaited treat for my wife, we splashed out, specified our room with its own court yard, the room was damp, poorly maintained, stained carpet, the valance on the bed was covered in shoe polish, and the wall paper hanging off. We politely complained but the staff were in denial, they said our room was just refurbished, and the carpet was new, we were moved to a better room, but even this was below average for £250 per night. We chose this Hotel for the Pool, it was closed for refurbishment, when we inspected, it looked like it was full of last years leaves. Dinner on the first night was good, the steak on the second night was rough. Front of house reception was rude, no eye contact, and when I paid the bill (that they got wrong), not even "did you enjoy your stay" NEVER AGAIN - Restaurant Manager, and Richard the Porter, were nice.

Room Tip: Do not go for a ground floor room with external access, they let people with dogs use these rooms, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed here a few times over the past few years. This time was up to the usual high standard. Staff friendly and helpful. The room very nice. And this time I thought the food was better. Excellent full English breakfast! Very extensive wine list but (owner please note!) they could do with more wines from the PFV.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Although we have spent time at Hintlesham Hall before, a birthday party and a Sunday Lunch, we have never stayed there, so we were looking forward to a lazy Sunday and a leisurely Monday.
It's a very pleasant drive to Hintlesham, along leafy lanes, then a wooded drive up to the lovely house. Ww were welcomed at Reception and taken to our room by a charming porter. Our room was not in the hotel building but in an attractive wing nearby. Our room was very spacious and painted cream with a decent sized bed, although my husband found it a bit small after our own huge bed!
The bathroom, or rather wetroom was gorgeous with good sized bath, big basin, huge loo (my feet didn't touch the floor!) and spendid shower, plus big fluffy towels and bathrobes for both of us. Another massive plus was the QUIET! Not a sound all night long,wonderful. We had a three course dinner included in our package, a very good asparagus soup for me and a chicken terrine for my husband which he thoroughly enjoyed. We both had a steak and some rather fat soft chips, which i didn't really like, i like chips to be a bit crispy and these were a cross between
a chip and a roast potato. However, my creme brulee was delicious and my husband's pavlova
was 'perfect'. After a fab night's sleep we found our way to the breakfast room, with views across the garden. I always ask for coffee and hot milk which many hotels and restaurants for some strange reason find impossible to manage and invariably bring cold milk. Our charming waiter
did not turn a hair and said coffee ALWAYS came with HOT milk! I then had a fairly tricky breakfast- poached kipper, grilled tomatoes and brown bread and butter. The kipper was PERFECT and a dear little pile of brown bread and butter (crusts off) accompanied it. 5 stars!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and spent a happy half an hour walking round the gardens before leaving. The hotel has several public rooms, a well stocked library, a bar and a lounge with newspapers etc. There is a golf club nearby- just a walk away, and also a health spa although this was closed when we stayed.

Room Tip: Our room was called Gloria , on the ground floor was very quiet and roomy, altho maybe on a busy ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crystalpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
17.6 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
8.5 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
17.5 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
40.0 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
989 reviews
13.3 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,786 - ₹ 15,081
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing