We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gem Field Rest(Ratnapura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ratna Gem Halt(Ratnapura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Gem Land(Ratnapura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
71
42
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
42
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea plantationnice placepaddy fieldsorganic farmsri lankabeautiful settinginfinity poolstayed one nightducks and swansroom for improvementorganic foodprivate balconieswalk aroundprecious stonerelaxing atmospherenecessary amenitiesrelaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We stayed here one night in one of their balcony rooms which is actually more like the upper level of a two story cabin. we don't often stay in 3 star properties but this really was up to the mark. The room is pleasant, sort of log cabin, with an adequate bathroom.
The only we couldn't understand was this hotel provides no blankets!
When the arrived late at night the check in desk was closed and the guide called the young man to check us in. He was very helpful, took us to the room and showed us the features including mosquito warning and also got us some extra towels and water.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kovit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Serenity R, Manager at Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We are indeed very glad that you had a memorable stay at our hotel and your comments are highly appreciated by the team. It was gratifying to read about rooms and the property. Our caring associates and our personal service is a foundation of Lake Serenity Culture. We are not placed any blankets in the room, but on request we provide. Our front office closed at 10pm, but when we have a late check in we keep a person in the hotel. Comments such as yours are definitely encouraging and always pleasing to everyone and thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Serenity once more, hopefully in the near future.

Ayubowan.

Suraj Pius.
Resident Manager.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We were on a family trip with our kids to this hotel in last December and we were quite surprised that there is such a peaceful place not so far from busy Colombo.

It was very easy to get there, just few kilometers away from the main Colombo Ratnapura highway.

When you enter the place you see a beautiful lake and nice green scenery of a adjoining paddy field. The welcome was nice with a fresh juice and the manager made sure to talk to everyone of our group, introduce himself and give and overview of the hotel. The check in was quick.

Food-
We straight away headed for lunch, but slightly disappointed to hear that there is no buffet. It was a-la-carte lunch, but they had whatever the items we ordered and the food was delicious.

Rooms-
They arranged us four rooms which were grouped together and it was very close to the pool and the kids pay areas. Very convenient. Rooms were quite spacious and all necessary amenities were there.

General-
There is organic farm inside the hotel which is maintained quite well. Some chalets are located in there if you want to have all organic food.

You have so much of space that you can walk around and enjoy the scenery.

If you utilize the bar near the pool, it might take a while for the food to arrive as it's getting prepared at the restaurant which is quite further away.

In general, very nice hotel managed by nice set of people. Exceeds our expectations for the price we paid.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nilupa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Serenity R, Manager at Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your experience at Lake Serenity and we are very happy to note that it has been a memorable one. We always endeavor to achieve the highest possible standards, and I will not miss to share your lovely sentiments with the team which will definitely encourage them in our endeavors to achieve highest quality of service standards.

We do look forward to the day when you will be returning to us for a much longer stay so that we get the opportunity to serve you even better.

Ayubowan,

Suraj Pius.
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The care of staff and owner and the facilities were superb. It was relaxed and private yet we always felt there was someone available to help. We would stay again for longer if we were travelling to Sri Lanka in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread out on the property.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r059-r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Serenity R, Manager at Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Lake Serenity.Thank you for the recommendation and your lovely comments posted on TripAdvisor.

Our greatest mission is to make your stay with us as comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable as possible, and to achieving this is certainly a reason for us to be proud of our team.

Thank you once again and trust you will be returning soon for yet another unique experience at Lake Serenity.

Ayubowan,

Suraj Pius,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the ride to the place through the tea and rubber plantations. It was well sign posted and the approach was good from the A1 highway.
It was a warm welcome and friendly staff. Service was prompt. We were never kept waiting. Rooms were clean and comfortable and view from the Upper floor was good.
The lake was beautiful and we enjoyed the sight of thousands of birds arriving at the lakeside to roost for the night.
The only downside was that the peace and quiet was completely destroyed by a group outing of about 100 people who played very loud music for the whole valley for almost 5 hours!!!
This place sold us the lake but took away the serenity they sold to us without any prior warning.
I did comment on it on departure and the answer made the management culpable of negligence. I was told the party organized the music band implying the management had no control over it. It seemed as if the management bends backwards to appease large groups who disturb the serenity others have come to enjoy. I was disappointed by the incident as well as the impression their explanation created.
All in all it was a good break away from the busy life.
I recommend this place but caution travellers to enquire about groups and loud music before they book it.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Daminda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Serenity R, Manager at Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Dear Guest.

Greetings from Lake Serenity! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of my team for the disappointment which you experienced as mentioned in your review. We welcome and appreciate your feedback.

I have shared all these points with my team to ensure that we remain consistent with the service. Thank you for this feedback as your thoughts are very important to us and provide not only a true barometer of our performance, but also give us guidance as we plan to serve you better in the future.

Thank you once again for the constructive feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the true spirit of hospitality which Lake Serenity is renowned for.


Ayubowan! (May you live long)

Suraj Pius.
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

One of the best boutique hotels I've ever been in. The reception was welcoming and warm. Throughout our stay service was excellent and fast. They have an awesome small lake with plenty of birds all around it. The restaurant is just next to the lake with views over it so be prepared for a scenic dinner :)

I was most impressed by their eco-friendly aspects (organic farm & organic tea plantation) and the layout of the hotel. They have rooms, surrounded by tea plantation with a pool, and cottages which are next to the organic farm. We went on a tea plucking tour which was a great experience. The local ladies were crazy fast at plucking btw :) Also you'll learn heaps about local veggies and fruit while walking in the farm - the staff is very informative and helpful.

We stayed in Pink Sapphire. The views are absolutely stunning!! The rooms are very big and clean. I would totally recommend this to anyone looking to enjoy some peace&quiet in a paradise.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank hallkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Serenity R, Manager at Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Lake Serenity Rathnapura in Sri Lanka.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were overall happy with the personalized services and product. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for at Lake Serenity Hotel.

Your gracious comment is highly appreciated and shared with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Ayubowan!

Suraj Pius,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews