We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Puglia for everyone...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mare

Casa Mare, the perfect Puglia villa, for relaxing, exploring, enjoying.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Mare, the perfect Puglia villa, for relaxing, exploring, enjoying.
With a large private solar heated swimming pool, just waiting for you. Enjoy the private, solar heated pool at any time, day or night. Solar lighting, pretty gardens.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Casa Mare, the perfect Puglia villa, for relaxing, exploring, enjoying.
With a large private solar heated swimming pool, just waiting for you.
Enjoy the private, solar heated pool at any time, day or night. Solar lighting, pretty gardens.
Alternative al-fresco dining, under a leafy arbour. Large marble table, seats 8 to 10 comfortably.
Casa Mare is a spacious beachside villa, large pool in a beautiful garden
The garden is full of colourful shrubs and greenery, perfect for relaxing
Verandah with pool, garden and sea views. Perfect for al fresco dining, complete with gas BBQ
Take time out on the verandah overlooking the garden. With ceiling fans and lights.
Completely uncommercialised beaches 1 minute from the door, lidos and other beaches close by
Fully equipped spacious kitchen, everything you need to conjure up an Italian feast.
Light airy dining area looking out on the verandah and garden.
Large airy living room, dual aspect, ceiling fan, large flat screen tv
Large master bedroom with queen bed, light and airy. Plenty of storage space.
Ensuite bathroom, superking or twin beds and one single, A/C
Bedroom 3, bright and welcoming
Sunny, modern bathroom with bathtub and walk-in shower
Large, heated swimming pool for your exclusive enjoyment
Relax by the pool, wooden sun recliners with comfortable cushions
Soak up the sun, wherever you choose, cool off in large pool for your exclusive use.
Casa Mare, spacious villa, private heated pool and close to the beach - literally a few steps away.
Lido Cipolla (Onion Bay) just a few steps away
All sorts of activities available. Our local, English speaking, events co-ordinator will help.
We can arrange activities from seeing the grape harvest to wine tastings and so much more.
Take a guided tour of local wineries and sample the excellent wine
Shop in the local markets for fresh produce, speciality meats and cheeses
Take a boat trip on both the Adriatic and Ionian seas and see Puglia from a different perspective.
Beachside villa with large (12m x 6m)pool surrounded by patio and garden areas. Perfect,day or night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Amulus
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Puglia for everyone...”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful to be back in Puglia this summer, this time with twenty-something daughter and her friend. Perfect home from home, with great facilities for shared cooking and of course the welcome basket made a perfect kick start! It is great to have the comfort of the villa and pool with the beach nearby so plenty of choice. There are also wonderful villages, towns and beaches in the area for visits. The link up with the local tour specialists lead to some truly magical experiences from wine tasting to passata making. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Wonderful accommodation and great days out
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat R
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only choose if you like LOTS of cats!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was meant to be a special trip, a last treat before my husband retires in November and we can no longer afford private villas with a pool and it turned out to be so very disappointing. We realised within minutes of arriving at Casa Mare that we had a problem - cats. Whilst we knew that the owners had cats, nothing prepared us for the sight that greeted us inside the gates - 20 cats!!
The owners clearly take in cats, something that is not stated anywhere beforehand. We first saw the villa with holidaylettings.co.uk where it says:
"all the comforts of home (including cats) in the heart of Puglia".
And their own website says:
"flatscreen TV & satellite TV (and the Casa Mare cats), Casa Mare is the perfect place to relax"
Nowhere does it say 20 cats!!
On our return we have put the question to many friends and family, many of whom are cat owners and cat lovers, as to how many cats they would expect given the descriptions and no-one has said more than 3 - and all were horrified when they heard 20! We believe the owners are being disingenuous by not stating clearly that they are rescuing cats and how many they have. The cats are everywhere, therefore their hairs etc are everywhere - over outside tables, chairs, loungers and the gas barbecue. I am not an overly particular person, and have had cats and dogs myself, but I don't expect to pay a considerable amount of money to hire a property to share the outside space with 20 cats and have to clean a seat or table before sitting down. The only reason the cats do not go inside the villa is because the door has to be kept shut all of the time - otherwise they would be in.
Whilst we accept the opinions of other tripadvisor reviewers of this property and the comments regarding the helpfulness of the owners, we personally would never have booked it if we had previously been given any idea of there being 20 cats. We looked at the cost of early flights home but sadly couldn't afford it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
We are sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay here. We do make it clear that there are cats here; we cross link to the Casa Mare cats Facebook page which shows all the cats that either live here our visit here. Most of the time there are very few cats around in the summer as they most mainly only visit when they need feeding, in the off season when there are no other people in the area.

We were here at the time that the guests were here and they did not once mention they had a problem with the cats. If they had we would have done what we could to mitigate any disappointment, or impact of the cats.

We have had many guests here over the last 7 or 8 years, including those who have cat allergies, and they have all been happy with the facilities provided and the presence of the cats.

It is a shame that the guests were disappointed with their holiday; had they spoken to us we could have offered them alternative accommodation or found another way to ameliorate their disappointment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl l
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A brilliant find - great holiday location and great villa - don't miss this one”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Great opportunity to have a local Puglian experience in a well set up Villa. Positives - next to a beach, great for long walks, kids toys etc provided (great bucket and spades), not too busy, not many tourists (set up for local Italians but not too commercial) but all very welcoming, good road connection to Lecce (25 mins away), Ostuni (40 mins away), Brindis (20 mins away), fabulous welcome pack with local ingredients - loved the green tomato chutney and marmalade, local Puglian chef can deliver to your door - we had meatballs for 7 (5 kids +2 adults) and lasagne - great experience to take home, great pool (very clean and warm), nice large kitchen, free wifi, TV, DVD, ipod coking station to play music, fully stocked kitchen,washing machine with powders, owners of this villa have gone to a lot of trouble to cater for every detail all you need to do is sit back and relax, we had a flat tyre on our people carrier and the villa owner sorted it all for us - really nice people who are very helpful and unobtrusive. Great information in English on local area, everything is well set up and children friendly, air con is great, extremely safe environment. We have visited Italy over 20 times and this is one of our best holiday experiences.
Negatives - absolutely none. Owners have every detail covered.

That welcome pack is brilliant, pasta, breads, home made chutney, jams, crisps, butter, milk, breakfast cereals, local wines (white, rose, red), lemonchella, and a local dish to put in the oven - aim is not to have to dash off to the local supermarket as soon as you arrive. Brilliant!

Tips: We took a flight from Paris to Brindisi (we live near the channel tunnel in Kent). For a party of 7 this saved £1,800 in flight costs (UK Bank Holiday weekend) and we found parking costs much cheaper. Brindis airport is a medium sized airport that you can step off the plane, walk to baggage reclaim in 2 mins and as soon as your bags are delivered you can be at car hire in under 5 mins. All very easy. Brindisi airport is 25 mins from the villa via the main road that runs through this area.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSLonUk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing hoilday!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Most amazing welcome pack ever... Wine, first meal, breakfast!!

We had a great time at casa mare.. The beautiful cats were an added pleasure, all the children had their favourites!

Pool was great. Only thing that stopped me giving 5 stars was the heat exchanger was broken, so the pool was a little chilly in May/June. This was the main reason we chose this villa, but having been there, there are many other reasons to stay!!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
It was unfortunate that the heat exchanger failed just as the guests arrived. The temperature of the pool water was 28+ and we put the pool cover on every night to help keep it up as much as possible. The heat exchanger was replaced as soon as we could get delivery of a new one and all is now back to normal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor S
Reading
1 review
“Glorious”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at Casa Mare .... couldn't have asked for anything more. The brilliant welcome basket got us off to a great start and it was good to taste local products, We were celebrating several birthdays and anniversaries; Debbie and the Puglia Chef made sure they were more than special. Also days out arranged for us including wine tasting and a boat trip added to our enjoyment.

The pool was a great hit, especially with the children, and still warm even late in September. The kids loved the beach too which is literally a minute from the gates of the villa.

The comprehensive information in the visitor guide made a real difference and helped us make the most of our holiday.

Thank you, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location .... the pool ... the beach ... the food, wine, weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing