We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic couple of days”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cortijo Piedra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villanueva del Trabuco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cortijo Piedra
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“An idyllic couple of days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We recently spent two absolutely delightful days visiting Cortijo Piedra, near Malaga in Adalusia, Spain. The welcome received from our hosts, Ann and Jim, was warm and sincere. The accommodation was superb, and the setting could only be described as idyllic.

Relaxing and thrilling at the same time. The breakfasts we enjoyed were outstanding. It was a little bit of Spanish heaven. We heartily recommend it to anybody wishing to experience the grandeur along with the tranquility of Spain.

Room Tip: View the website, as it contains pictures of all the rooms to give guidance. We chose The Cordov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpeterhickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham,UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a really fantastic place - Anne and Jim are really great hosts. The house has been lovingly rebuilt/restored (Jim will tell you all about it if you give him half a chance!). The rooms are very comfortable, the gardens are beautiful and the swimming pool is good for relaxing. The breakfast is also amazing! We told them we wouldn't write a review because we wanted to keep it our secret!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at Cortijo Piedra in November 2011 and so this review is well over due! This holiday was a late booking and we definitely made the right choice.

Cortijo Piedra is a lovely Spanish retreat with traditional Spanish features, a great garden and pool. It is surrounded by olive trees and mountains to one side. We stayed in the Sevilla room and not only was it spacious with its own sun terrace, the room décor was exquisite. The view from the terrace is lovely, overlooking the fresh water pool and the hills/mountains in the background. There is a lower sun terrace which would be so enjoyable during the summer months.

The nearest town is Trabuco, which is 5-10 min drive away, where you’ll find cafes and restaurants. We strongly recommend hiring a car. Alternatively, you can take a 25 minute walk each way to the local village which has about 2 restaurants to choose from.

Jim and Anne are your hosts and are a great couple, who go out their way to ensure their guests have a enjoyable stay. They really made us feel at home and helped us so much, and we were very sad to say goodbye to a wonderful couple.

Hopefully, one day we can return and enjoy the experience once again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCGOAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed with Anne and Jim for ten days in january looking for a quiet break, what we found was the magic of Andalusia and the beauty of their home. Set in the heart of olive country was the perfect centre for discovering Andalusia, the beautiful south coast and the interior where the roads wind through farmland dressed withe olive trees.We were drenched with sunshine each day bar one which was a surprise, January turned out to be the best time for us because the beaches were quiet as were the roads, days warm and nights cool.
Jim and Anne were great hosts and the conversation full of laughs and information, the room was cleaned every day and well tended. We would love to visit again. Carla and John

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olumio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Cortijo Piedra over the new year for part of our honeymoon. We hoped for somewhere beautiful, quiet and relaxing after wedding hustle-bustle. Cortijo Piedra is all of those things - but excels at each - and then is so so so much more besides. The house is beautifully presented, full of little touches that add up to a really atmospheric and welcoming whole, and surrounded by olive groves (but only a 5 min drive from the nearest motorway, for easy day-trips to some of Andalucia's stunning historic cities). What really makes it so special though (and I see I'm not at all the first to say this!) is the welcome from Ann and Jim. As friendly and kind and helpful and warm as your own family - possibly more so depending on your family! - full of helpful tips, and stories, they made us feel so welcome, and feeling so welcome redoubles your enjoyment, relaxation, and all the rest. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cortijo Piedra to anyone. Absolute bliss.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swbucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villanueva del Trabuco
13.5 km away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
8.7 km away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
8.8 km away
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan
Cortijo La Canada del Sacristan
#3 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.0 km away
El Capricho
El Capricho
#3 of 4 in Villanueva del Trabuco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Piedra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Piedra

Property: Cortijo Piedra
Address: Buzon 46 Cortijuelo, 29313 Villanueva del Trabuco, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva del Trabuco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villanueva del Trabuco
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old cortijo is a traditional farm house that has been extensively reformed with tender love and care where all rooms are light and airy and individually styled. Each room has its own luxury private bath or shower and some have balcony’s offering views over to the ancient monastery, which is illuminated every evening in the quaint village of Archidona. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing