We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bakewell Barn

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
T00thie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved our stay at the Dutch Barn. The property was lovely, spacious and clean with all the facilities needed for a comfortable stay. The hot tub was perfect after the long walks in the day and really made the place extra special. The location is beautiful and a great place to get away from it all. The owners (Jonathan and Gill) are also very friendly and available if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill I
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing a stylish celebration”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked The Dutch Barn for a celebration of a special birthday. We wanted somewhere comfortable that would easily accommodate 6 for a week, and thought that the hot tub would be fun.
The property is in a pretty and peaceful village with lovely walks and glorious views. It's a couple of miles to walk to Bakewell across fields, although it's a bit up and down! There is a pub in the village though.
We were very pleased with the accommodation - everything was very stylish and finished to a good quality. There was plenty of room for relaxing and the hot tub was a delight. The drinks fridge was great too!!
It was really good to have somewhere to sit outside at both the front and the back of the property - meant that we could make the most of the sunshine. The room with the single beds was small - we had hoped to be able to push these together, but the size and shape of the room makes this impossible. However, we managed with this, and the lovely accommodation elsewhere in the property more than made up for it.
A lovely rental, and we would certainly recommend it and book again should we revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall style and presentation
Liked least: Smallest bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds...
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted for our weekend break”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Dutch Barn suited our schoolgirls' reunion perfectly. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds with beautiful linen, a well equipped kitchen, big sofas and an ipod dock. We had brought everything we needed, but the owners provided a welcome pack (with wine!), and fresh flowers, which is a lovely touch. From the Barn you can do lovely circular walks from short to strenuous (OS map 24 The White Peak - there's a copy in the kitchen) and there's a tea room as you come back up the hill into the village. We ate dinner at The Lathkil twice (great food) and returned for an evening in the hottub. Fabulous. We couldn't have wished for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub, bedding
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we may be able to welcome you back to Dutch Barn some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemmakirk...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it so much!!! Didnt want to leave!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed mon- fri, a lovely barn everything you need it there all ready my family really enjoyed it had a bbq one night, couldnt get enough of the hottub. The local walks were lovely lots of hills though theres some like mini waterfalls to find bakewell is lovely too and full of pubs bonus!! Went into buxton for the day too visitited some caves. Would 100% go back again loved every second some happy memories were built there!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn and do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub was amazing and it was a great base.
Liked least: No staples provided, eg oil, tin foil, tea, but not a deal-breaker and meant we ate out all the time (lovely but not always great for the waistline)!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing