We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
133
17
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
17
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesswimming poolgames roomtable tennison arrivalpeak districtthe kitchenlocation is greatfamily holidayall ageshome from homemany thanksyoung childrenlovely weekbig hitreal bonusan enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful hidden gem , the cottages which take you back in time are tastefully decorated but have modern touches . Jo, Barrie and their team go that extra mile to make your stay memorable . What lovely place to relax and unwind Thank you 10/10.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 2017tippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dawn & Steve,

We are so glad that you had a really lovely stay with us and that you got to experience all that the team have to offer. Your 10/10 is a real vote of confidence in what we do at Haddon Grove

We hope that you get the chance to come back and see us again

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

These are potentially lovely cottages, but let down by a lack of customer service and attention to detail. As a result, felt sucked in by clever photos and that overall it was overpriced.
A warm welcome on arrival, but then no staff presence on site for the entire long weekend. A contact number was given, but no mobile reception in the cottage makes this pretty useless.
The heating was very hard to control, each room had a radiator on a separate thermostat and timer, so we were constantly adjusting them as either too hot or too cold.
The underfloor heating in kitchen and bathroom put out no heat at all.
Smart induction hob, but the biggest and most useful saucepan not compatible with it.
Shower didn't drain properly so overflowed into bathroom unless pressure kept very low.
We also found it very strange that the large window in the front door leading straight into the main living area was completely uncovered. Draughty and no privacy.
Kids had fun in the pool, but pretty chilly for adults.
Overall, disappointing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Musatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

I find it quite "remarkable" how different your Trip advisor report is relative to almost anyone else who stays with us.

The cottage that you stayed in has a brand new bathroom and a brand new kitchen both installed in the last 2 months.............how can that possibly represent style over substance?

The underfloor heating in the bathroom is brand new and it works . It is set on a timer that comes on at 6:45am. It goes off at 11am ( when people are out enjoying the Peak District) ) and then comes back on at 4:00pm until 11pm. This saves energy costs for us as well as resources for our planet ( we try to be as green as possible at Haddon Grove ). However, anyone of our guests can either override the heating settings themselves by simply reading the instructions that are left for you in the blue folder in your cottage (along with all the other information of how " various things" work and recommendations on a multitude of activities available in The Peak Park.) Or you could simply call us and ask for help. You obviously did neither.

Shower issue...........you never told us until you were leaving. Obviously its brand new and obviously we fully expect it to work. Why didn't you call to tell us?

The saucepan that didn't work on your induction hob.............. We have no gas supply at Haddon Grove so all of our cookers are either electric or in the case of our refurbished cottages ( like yours ) they are induction hobs. From time to time when large groups book multiple cottages they move saucepans around between cottages when they are having group meals. That's probably what happened in your case. We are obviously extremely sorry that this happened but as you can imagine it would be impracticable to conduct an inventory check on every single pan being in the right cottage every time we have a changeover. Therefore, usually what happens with such minor events is that we are told in person or by phone that the pan doesn't work. We then immediately change it for one that does. Problem solved!
Ironically, we are not usually told Ex-Post about this type of issue via Trip Advisor. But now that you have " made the effort" to tell us i must thank you for the information. We will make sure we switch the pans back for our next guests so that they don't have the same experience.

You are right we were not in reception during the weekend as many of our guests want privacy for their SELF CATERING holiday. However we were available to deal with all/any of the issues you have mentioned if you had called us.

As you have mentioned style over substance , I would strongly recommend that the next time you book a SELF CATERING holiday maybe you should show a little more Style on how to deal with issues. I guess only you know why you want to choose the public window of Trip Advisor to highlight your issues after you have left instead of calling us when you were there. They were all minor and could have easily been remedied

You would have enjoyed yourself more if you had.

Im glad the kids enjoyed the indoor pool. After-all, it is heated to 29 Degrees !

Sincerely,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We stayed in cuckoo cottage. Nice decor, comfy beds and new kitchen. Requested microwave as not usually available due to small kitchen. Kitchen really is very small, fine if you don't wish to cook very much, but otherwise bit tricky. We moved the toaster and coffee machine to make more space. The microwave was on a separate table.

On arrival cake and pumpkin making kit available (as close to Halloween) which our little one loved. The welcome email stated bottle of wine provided but alas advised this had just changed.

The owners advice bringing own towels etc which is fine and that there will be one toilet roll provided. Given the cost of the holiday an extra toilet roll would seem a small addition.

When we arrived, day after usual check in, the cottage was freezing. There were loads of signs all over the place saying not to touch the radiators. After trying to adjust thermostat we finally realised radiators downstairs were switched off. Very cosy after that.

It said there were TV instructions available but couldn't find any. We worked it out but had to move scarp lead between DVD and TV set.

The lighting in the lounge is either main light or one small lamp. There was only one plug socket. Extension/multi socket was in drawer. There were a few extension leads in use in the cottage so wouldn't advice this one for small children.

Dishwasher broke, though only used twice. Let owner know who said would take a look. But later that day advised unable as had no spare key to cottage. They suggested we hand key in following day but no one round to hand it to. The owner did provide a makeshift washing up bowl on request and was very apologetic.

One great thing about cuckoo is its the only cottage with wifi, though you have to move round rooms to connect.

The pool was lovely. My daughter loved it. Only downside is the female changing room is unheated and like an ice box. As no one else was around we changed by the poolside.

Having said all above the location is great. Cottages look idyllic. Wouldn't take much to keep visitors happy and bring few things up to expected standard.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Emma

Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor report on your recent stay. Obviously we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us but we have to be realistic and understand that things do happen that are sometimes out of our control.

As you stated the kitchen in Cuckoo Cottage and ALL its appliances are brand new. As such there should not have been a problem with the dishwasher. We did come to the cottage to take a look at this issue but you told our handy man, Joe that you probably would not use it and that you were happy with a washing up bowl. Which he immediately provided for you.

With the heating issue, we came to your cottage on request and immediately sorted it out.

We checked the female changing rooms and you are right about the temperature. Unfortunately, the fuse in the heater had tripped. What is more unfortunate however, is that If you had come to see us or indeed if you had called us ( we are always available even if we are not at Haddon) we would immediately have arranged to deal with it there and then. It was a simple fix but we new nothing about the problem.

When/if things do go wrong we ask our guests to let us know immediately.......If you had done that Im sure your experience and stay would have been even more enjoyable.

Obviously, as you can see we get many visitors to Haddon Grove and we receive many trip advisor reviews. While a number of your comments are in sharp contrast to the experience of many other guests who have stayed with us, I do want you to know that we will be addressing all issues.

Finally, however, you are completely incorrect about the WiFi reception. Although there is no Super-Fast Broadband in much of the Peak Park Countryside, we have none the less gone to great effort and expense to make sure our guests have quality WiFi reception. That has included running dedicated Cat5 cables to most of our cottages allowing them to have their own WiFi address and Password. Most cottages experience between 5-7Mmg 0f internet speed, which is more than ample for everyday use. Of course if we have all cottages full and many children downloading and streaming then internet speed can vary.
With this in mind, we have made sure that there is a dedicated "internet cafe" type place in both our reception lounge and in the the pool games room area. This is to make sure there is ALWAYS excellent internet reception for any important business matters etc.

We hear from many guests who comment that getting away to the English countryside is a fabulous way to spend quality family time.........In the fresh air. Haddon Grove, with its heated pool, beautiful cottages and excellent position, in the Peak National Park is widely acclaimed as a perfect place to take advantage of all things outdoors. WiFi is not and should never be the number one reason to come to the countryside. But none the less WiFi reception is not an issue at Haddon Grove.

We hope that we have been able to address some of your issues or concerns and that you will consider us again if you return to the Peak Park.

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

17 of us stayed in 3 of the cottages for a long weekend. The recently renovated cottages were very comfortable and the little touches added to the luxury, a bottle of wine and nibbles on arrival, underfloor heating, very comfortable beds!! We also ordered the food from the menu which was delicious. Definitely coming back. Thank you Barry and Jo.

Liz, Tynemouth

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank elizabethlittle607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you Liz for your Trip Advisor Report.

It really is nice to host a group who appreciate what we have done and what we continue to do at Haddon Grove. We can't possibly get everything to be perfect. But we do go out of our way to get it right.

From the refurbished cottages; the well stocked kitchens; the uber comfortable beds; the " hot water on demand" and the very " English Country Cottage" Decor, its all part of what we are trying to achieve at Haddon Grove. We want our guests to have a home away from home experience when they stay with us.........In their own little stone hamlet in the middle of the Peak National Park.

Im glad you have been able to experience and recognise what we have done. Our property is now such a far cry from the one that we bought 18 months ago! (which was in very dire need of a total overall). Our guests ( especially returning ones) are now seeing the results of all that effort and of our vision.

When you do return you will see that we have continued on our upgrade of our overall property. We took the decision to have a specialist waller take down and re-build all our dry stone walls at the front of the property. Including replacing the stone gate posts at the front entrance......which will be gated when complete. I must say they now look fabulous!. You wouldn't believe how many children ( and fathers! ) came out to what John, our dry stone wall specialist at work.........Its such a drying craft and amazing to watch in person.

We have also completed most of the finishing touches to our new reception building which is now both cozy and welcoming to our guests.

We are currently working on another bathroom in one of the cottages.........new fittings, new shower, underfloor heating. All the modern needs that you experienced during your stay with us.

As a vast majority of our properties have been upgraded the next project will be an upgrade of our swimming pool building! Stay Tuned, you can follow our progress on our website.

We do hope that you and your family come back to visit with us Elizabeth. We would very much look forward to your return. Please try to call us in advance and we would be happy to update you on our progress.

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

An old farmhouse which has been renovated into individual cottages home from home, indoor swimming pool love by the children. Plenty of open space for them to enjoy" we will return for a weekend so we can explore the area as its not far from Bakewell and Matlock ,

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages. We have worked hard at upgrading Haddon Grove so your comments are very much appreciated.

We hope you do get the chance to come back and visit with us again and that you do get the chance to visit the many attractions on offer in the Peak National Park. We would be more than happy to give you advice on things to do and places to visit if you would like to contact us in advance when you do visit again.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team, HGFC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews