We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 15
Pitchup.com
View Deal
US$ 210
US$ 205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 289
US$ 248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
US$ 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Matlock(Matlock)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
122
16
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
16
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolgames roomon arrivaltable tennispeak districtthe kitchenlocation is greatfamily holidayplay areaan added bonusall agesfarm cottageslaundry roombig hitfamily get togetherhalf terman enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We stayed in cuckoo cottage. Nice decor, comfy beds and new kitchen. Requested microwave as not usually available due to small kitchen. Kitchen really is very small, fine if you don't wish to cook very much, but otherwise bit tricky. We moved the toaster and coffee machine to make more space. The microwave was on a separate table.

On arrival cake and pumpkin making kit available (as close to Halloween) which our little one loved. The welcome email stated bottle of wine provided but alas advised this had just changed.

The owners advice bringing own towels etc which is fine and that there will be one toilet roll provided. Given the cost of the holiday an extra toilet roll would seem a small addition.

When we arrived, day after usual check in, the cottage was freezing. There were loads of signs all over the place saying not to touch the radiators. After trying to adjust thermostat we finally realised radiators downstairs were switched off. Very cosy after that.

It said there were TV instructions available but couldn't find any. We worked it out but had to move scarp lead between DVD and TV set.

The lighting in the lounge is either main light or one small lamp. There was only one plug socket. Extension/multi socket was in drawer. There were a few extension leads in use in the cottage so wouldn't advice this one for small children.

Dishwasher broke, though only used twice. Let owner know who said would take a look. But later that day advised unable as had no spare key to cottage. They suggested we hand key in following day but no one round to hand it to. The owner did provide a makeshift washing up bowl on request and was very apologetic.

One great thing about cuckoo is its the only cottage with wifi, though you have to move round rooms to connect.

The pool was lovely. My daughter loved it. Only downside is the female changing room is unheated and like an ice box. As no one else was around we changed by the poolside.

Having said all above the location is great. Cottages look idyllic. Wouldn't take much to keep visitors happy and bring few things up to expected standard.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Emma

Thank you for taking the time to write a trip advisor report on your recent stay. Obviously we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us but we have to be realistic and understand that things do happen that are sometimes out of our control.

As you stated the kitchen in Cuckoo Cottage and ALL its appliances are brand new. As such there should not have been a problem with the dishwasher. We did come to the cottage to take a look at this issue but you told our handy man, Joe that you probably would not use it and that you were happy with a washing up bowl. Which he immediately provided for you.

With the heating issue, we came to your cottage on request and immediately sorted it out.

We checked the female changing rooms and you are right about the temperature. Unfortunately, the fuse in the heater had tripped. What is more unfortunate however, is that If you had come to see us or indeed if you had called us ( we are always available even if we are not at Haddon) we would immediately have arranged to deal with it there and then. It was a simple fix but we new nothing about the problem.

When/if things do go wrong we ask our guests to let us know immediately.......If you had done that Im sure your experience and stay would have been even more enjoyable.

Obviously, as you can see we get many visitors to Haddon Grove and we receive many trip advisor reviews. While a number of your comments are in sharp contrast to the experience of many other guests who have stayed with us, I do want you to know that we will be addressing all issues.

Finally, however, you are completely incorrect about the WiFi reception. Although there is no Super-Fast Broadband in much of the Peak Park Countryside, we have none the less gone to great effort and expense to make sure our guests have quality WiFi reception. That has included running dedicated Cat5 cables to most of our cottages allowing them to have their own WiFi address and Password. Most cottages experience between 5-7Mmg 0f internet speed, which is more than ample for everyday use. Of course if we have all cottages full and many children downloading and streaming then internet speed can vary.
With this in mind, we have made sure that there is a dedicated "internet cafe" type place in both our reception lounge and in the the pool games room area. This is to make sure there is ALWAYS excellent internet reception for any important business matters etc.

We hear from many guests who comment that getting away to the English countryside is a fabulous way to spend quality family time.........In the fresh air. Haddon Grove, with its heated pool, beautiful cottages and excellent position, in the Peak National Park is widely acclaimed as a perfect place to take advantage of all things outdoors. WiFi is not and should never be the number one reason to come to the countryside. But none the less WiFi reception is not an issue at Haddon Grove.

We hope that we have been able to address some of your issues or concerns and that you will consider us again if you return to the Peak Park.

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

17 of us stayed in 3 of the cottages for a long weekend. The recently renovated cottages were very comfortable and the little touches added to the luxury, a bottle of wine and nibbles on arrival, underfloor heating, very comfortable beds!! We also ordered the food from the menu which was delicious. Definitely coming back. Thank you Barry and Jo.

Liz, Tynemouth

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank elizabethlittle607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you Liz for your Trip Advisor Report.

It really is nice to host a group who appreciate what we have done and what we continue to do at Haddon Grove. We can't possibly get everything to be perfect. But we do go out of our way to get it right.

From the refurbished cottages; the well stocked kitchens; the uber comfortable beds; the " hot water on demand" and the very " English Country Cottage" Decor, its all part of what we are trying to achieve at Haddon Grove. We want our guests to have a home away from home experience when they stay with us.........In their own little stone hamlet in the middle of the Peak National Park.

Im glad you have been able to experience and recognise what we have done. Our property is now such a far cry from the one that we bought 18 months ago! (which was in very dire need of a total overall). Our guests ( especially returning ones) are now seeing the results of all that effort and of our vision.

When you do return you will see that we have continued on our upgrade of our overall property. We took the decision to have a specialist waller take down and re-build all our dry stone walls at the front of the property. Including replacing the stone gate posts at the front entrance......which will be gated when complete. I must say they now look fabulous!. You wouldn't believe how many children ( and fathers! ) came out to what John, our dry stone wall specialist at work.........Its such a drying craft and amazing to watch in person.

We have also completed most of the finishing touches to our new reception building which is now both cozy and welcoming to our guests.

We are currently working on another bathroom in one of the cottages.........new fittings, new shower, underfloor heating. All the modern needs that you experienced during your stay with us.

As a vast majority of our properties have been upgraded the next project will be an upgrade of our swimming pool building! Stay Tuned, you can follow our progress on our website.

We do hope that you and your family come back to visit with us Elizabeth. We would very much look forward to your return. Please try to call us in advance and we would be happy to update you on our progress.

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

An old farmhouse which has been renovated into individual cottages home from home, indoor swimming pool love by the children. Plenty of open space for them to enjoy" we will return for a weekend so we can explore the area as its not far from Bakewell and Matlock ,

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages. We have worked hard at upgrading Haddon Grove so your comments are very much appreciated.

We hope you do get the chance to come back and visit with us again and that you do get the chance to visit the many attractions on offer in the Peak National Park. We would be more than happy to give you advice on things to do and places to visit if you would like to contact us in advance when you do visit again.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team, HGFC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We really enjoyed our week in Haddon Grove Farm Cottages. We stayed in Fruit Pip, a two-bedroomed cottage. It was extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet and very well equipped. The pool and games room were a big hit with all three of us (especially my four year-old son).
The cottages are very well positioned to explore the Peak District - Bakewell is just on the doorstep, along with great walking and cycling routes.
My only minor gripe was that the play area featured more weeds than would have been ideal, including some nettles. But in the grand scheme of things that's really rather trivial. It didn't put the aforementioned small boy off spending time there.
The owners were very helpful and welcoming and I'd thoroughly recommend staying there.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Fenbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us in Fruitpip. After a recent full refurbishment its nice that you were able to enjoy the cottage and all of the benefits of Haddon Grove and the surrounding area. As you mentioned we are perfectly positioned to take full advantage of everything that The Peak National Park has to offer.

Apologies about any excessive weeds near the play area. We are in the process of moving our play site to our top field. I don't know if you had the chance to go up to our field during your visit. There is significantly more room for children to play and run around so we think it is a perfect location for the play area. In fact we also plan on having a games pitch on the field ( for football, cricket, rounders etc) so that large family groups of all ages can join in organised games. We also plan to have additional BBQ facilities there. The views are truly stunning from this field so hopefully you will get the chance to come back and enjoy Haddon Grove again.

Kind Regards,

The management Team, HGFC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This was our third visit to Haddon Grove Cottage and we weren't disappointed. Since our last visit, new owners have taken over and are obviously working hard to redecorate and improve the facilities. We stayed in Fruitpip, which has benefitted from a lovely new kitchen, including a new window which lets some much needed light into the property. We were warmly welcomed at the new reception area and shown to our cottage. The welcome basket of nibbles, dips and wine was a nice touch! Our stay was comfortable, the new fluffy towels and the quality of the shower was a bonus. The swimming pool was used daily by our daughters, and although a little chilly on this occasion, did not deter their enthusiasm for a swim and splash around.

The location of the cottages is perfect for easy access to lots of areas of the Peak District. We brought our bikes and enjoyed rides along the Monsal and Tissington Trails - perfect for family rides, including a novice rider. An active week of week of walking, cycling, swimming and exploring, but we have come home feeling very relaxed. I am sure we will be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Nicky,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Its always really nice to welcome returning guests, especially ones that are returning for the first time since we bought Haddon Grove.

As you pointed out we have worked really hard over the past 17 months to make Haddon Grove the very special little place that it should be. Our vision for Haddon Grove has always been having English Country Cottages with Incredibly comfortable beds and hot water on demand (from our upgraded heating systems) all situated in an Idyllic surrounding of the stunningly beautiful Lathkill Dale. Welcome packs, Log burners ( for the none Summer months) and a tree lit courtyard are all part of that Home away from Home experience that we try to provide for all our guests.

From the moment of arrival, when guests are greeted in our new reception area to their departure, we are trying to make every Haddon Grove stay extremely relaxing and as stress free as possible.

We are so glad that you came back and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews