We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 206
Hotels.com
View Deal
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland(Stoke by Nayland)
US$ 222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
US$ 89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marquis(Layham)
US$ 231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mill Hotel(Sudbury)(Great Value!)
US$ 155
US$ 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
US$ 267
US$ 195
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Globe Hotel(Colchester)
US$ 98
US$ 93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
47
14
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
14
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelgolf coursesky sportssmaller oneshen doshuttle serviceweekend breakporterscarletbirthdayspamealferriedensuitevenue
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Pros: Worcester (1st floor - 1 bed) is very bright and spacious with a large balcony which catches the evening sunshine. It's beautiful. Pearmain (Ground floor - 2 bed) is spacious but dark. This was good for getting children to sleep later in the morning! The porters are fantastic. They are on-hand to taxi you to the hotel (see Cons re walking) and very responsive if something goes wrong. Following a power cut which rendered us without electricity or water, we were given free drinking water, free breakfast at the hotel and offered the use of showers in the spa. The lodges have a safe and an intruder alarm should you need them.
The hotel is friendly and the pool is great.

Cons: The lodges have no gardens so if you have children with you, there isn't anywhere for them to play. The lodges are surrounded by a very busy golf course so going for a walk is tedious and dangerous. A nice outside space would make such a difference.
During our stay, we had someone in to fix our TV system 3 times. The system that controls music, DVD and TV seems overly complex. The porters were great in sorting things out but this, together with the safe that suddenly broke and the power cut meant we had people in on a daily basis.

Overall, I would recommend the lodges. Maybe, we were just unlucky with things going wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Manager at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in the lodges. It is excellent to have such clearly laid out pros and cons. We value customer service above all else and any cons provide a chance for us to improve our service for guests. I am happy that overall you would recommend us. I do hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel . Grounds beautiful very busy in terrace bar with residents and golf members . Nice atmosphere. Food good. Breakfast nice. Room spacious very comfy bed! Spa/pool lovely. If I had to pick one fault would be the view of car park from our room. Would of loved view of the grounds! But overall lovely hotel ! Bar area excellent and trendy and modern decor great.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Mysteryshopper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We booked one of the fantastic Lodges for a hen weekend and it was absolutely perfect! We wanted somewhere we could all be together and the Lodges are brilliant.
The one we had opened up to accommodate all 11 of us and there was loads of space and the kitchen equipment was more than sufficient for all our food and drink!
The location of the lodges is perfect as you are away from the main hotel bustle and the porters are really knowledgeable and helpful - help or a ride to the hotel was just a phone call away,,,,thank you x
The receptionists were really helpful finding us somewhere to eat locally and booking taxis for us.... much appreciated, and we liked the tour of the old tower and finding out about the history of the place.
The pool and spa are very relaxing and it goes out onto a nice terrace so best of both worlds.
We didn't eat in the restaurant, though it looked really good but the shop saved our bacon (and eggs)
All in all we found the whole weekend perfect and thanks to all the staff.
Definitely recommend the Lodges for a special weekend or get together.
We can't wait for the hen reunion!

Room Tip: Lodges perfect for large get togethers
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Redfox58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Manager at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Thank you for such an amazing review! So happy that you had an excellent hen party! Brilliant comments about your stay in the lodges. I will make sure to pass on your lovely comments about the SbN team. See you for the hen reunion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We recently stayed for 3 nights in one of the lodges with our two friends and had a wonderful time. The lodge was lovely and the restaurant food was fabulous but what impressed us most was how friendly and helpful the staff were. Nothing was any trouble and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Two of us had a couple of treatments in the spa and they were great. The massage was the best I have ever had and I have had a few....The golf was challenging, from what was said.

The only tiny weeny negative was that the spa pool area was a bit tired and the Jacuzzi was out of action that day which was a shame but we all agreed we would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Theforsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Manager at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your 3-night lodge break. I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff. Hope you will return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

What a great find! Booked this as a last minute spa break for a mini honeymoon a few days after our wedding and were really glad we did! It was a very relaxing break, with great food, a really good spa and we will definitely be back!

The lodges are absolutely fantastic with huge big rooms yet lovely and warm with climate control. Beautiful views of the golf course and set out so that each balcony has privacy but still great views. We had a one bed lodge yet it still had a full size kitchen, a dining table with 10 chairs, and 2 massive sofas. There is a modern but cosy fire, a TV in the lounge and bedroom, a blue ray DVD player, surround sound, it has it all!

We arrived to find a bottle of bubbly on ice for us which was a lovely gesture. We got there late the first evening but ordered room service which was wonderful (and proper restaurant quality food)

The hotel is also very nice, a bit corporate looking (with 9 function rooms) but the staff were all fantastic and gave it a really friendly and family feel which I personally really liked. The hotel is obviously cheaper to stay in than the lodges but if it’s a special occasion or you are in a group then the lodges are a must! I believe you can also have a chef come and cook specially for you at the lodge (as long as you pre-book a few weeks in advance).

There is also a golf shop and a gift shop at the hotel which was nice to look around and we could also buy cakes/biscuits and extra milk etc. for the lodge so that was very handy.

The spa area was excellent. The pool was not at all busy and there were loads of chill out areas and sunbeds. There was a sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and we also paid for a long massage each which was great. There are also 2 championship golf courses at the hotel so it makes a great weekend away for both golfing and pampering.

The second evening we dined at the Lakes restaurant at the hotel. The décor I have to say is a bit corporate and they could probably do with working on this a little, but the food was fabulous and the main courses were on par with anything I have eaten in a Gordon Ramsey restaurant….yet a tenth of the price!

There was a mini bus on standby all day and night to transport us from the lodges to the hotel and back which meant we meant we did not need to take our coats with us or use the car. The car park at the hotel is pretty full at all times so having the mini bus on call was great.

Breakfast at the hotel is a buffet style and again we could not fault it and it did not end until 10.30 am each day (on weekends) which gave us a nice lie in!

Only one slight improvement for me would be to have complimentary bath robes to lounge about in at the lodges! (pretty please)

So all in all, a really great weekend. You will just have to give it a try yourself and see… We’ll be back soon too!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMJJ-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Manager at Stoke by Nayland Country Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

What an incredible review – thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a thorough account of your stay. Your comments regarding the lodges, dining in the Lakes Restaurant and the spa are excellent! I do hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews