We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've just returned from a stay at the Golf & Spa Hotel. The stay was arranged y friends so didn't really have much of a clue about the property. We did play golf there however due to the weather we never got to see it at its best. The grounds are very scenic and both courses are very well prepared. The golf course was also the only place where there was a mobile phone reception but have to say the hotel have dealt with the issue very well by giving free WiFi throughout so in these days of smartphones it's still very easy to keep up with your day to day life.
The spa was very nice and I did enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.
My room was good but nothing special and I did not feel it deserves the price charged having stayed in an equal golf a spa hotel 2 weeks ago, with almost identical facilities, for a little under half of the cost of my stay here.
Breakfast was not particularly good and certainly doesn't warrant the price charged (I think it's £10.50) Replenishment was an afterthought and several people gave up waiting for eggs to arrive.
The bar food at lunchtime was excellent and reasonably priced. I did hear people saying they had ordered room service but after an hour were cancelling because they had to be somewhere else. This just caused an inquest among the bar staff who then forgot that they were part of the way though serving customers. Indeed one of my own party ordered a coffee in the bar and after 20 minutes had to go back to find out what had happened to it .. with the barman stood next to the machine oblivious to the fact he should have made it y then.
These were only niggling issues however, and the positives far outweigh the negatives. My only real gripe is that I was also charged 3% extra to pay by American Express. Now this is an hotel that is going for the luxury end of the market and it is the first hotel worldwide that I have stayed in that has charged this premium. Now when you have paid £170 for a nights stay the extra fiver is rubbing salt into the wound but hey ho they are the rules and we live and learn.
Would I stay again? Probaly not by choice if it was coming out of my own pocket but if someone was feeling rich enough to pay for it for me or as part of a business trip then yes I would.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms and you don't get much more for paying for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubapro1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Sales Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa. I'm really pleased to see that overall your experience was positive. I have passed your comments on with regards to the breakfast, bedrooms and payment method- we are continually trying to improve on the service offered here and feedback from guests is an incredibly important tool in doing so. Hopefully we will welcome you back to the resort, be it for business or pleasure, in due course.

Rebecca- Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 794 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked to see Fleece Jazz act and booked a 1 night stay at hotel. Apart from a blip on checking in (the hotel had suffered a lightning strike and all systems were down) we had a lovely 1 night stay. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough. The swimming pool area is very good not crowded and with plenty of loungers.
The restaurant was excellent, fantastic views and the food was first class. As we were late for dinner due to late checking in, the staff were very accommadating and we were able to have desert at half time so we did not have to rush our meal.
Breakfast again was very good and extra order from menu was delivered quickly and cooked fresh.
Staff came and spoke to diners asking about their stay, which was a nice touch.
Our room was top floor in the eves, refurbished with a side view over lawns.
The setting is lovely close to lovely villages and countryside.
Thank you for a lovely stay, we will hopefully be back in December for party night with a group of friends as we have told them what a great place it is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyclimes2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Sales Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay with us- it's good to hear that the blip caused by the lightening did not diminish from the quality of your stay. I will pass your comments on to all concerned and we will look forward to welkcoming your group back in December for your Christmas celebration

Rebecca- Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I loved this hotel and would be an ideal wedding venue due to the beautiful grounds, catering facilities and lovely rooms. Me and my partner treated ourselves to an Easter break and stayed for 2 nights including breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful, we were lucky and managed to get an update to one of the bridal suits - the room was massive and had great views of the golf course, a lovely kingsize comfy bed and marble bathroom. Breakfast consisted of a large selection in buffet style but items like porridge, kippers, poached and fried eggs could be ordered separately, we thought breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel has a spa, gym, fitness classes which were all of a excellent standard and again the staff in the spa, gym and classes were very helpful and friendly. The worst thing about this break was that it had to end, we really had a lovely time. - highly recommended : - )

Room Tip: See if you can get a afree upgrade on your room by contacting the hotel a few days before you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divabling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Sales Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a lovely relaxing break- hopefully we will welcome you back to the resort again soon!

Rebecca- Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent the long Easter Weekend and my future In-Laws.
Have to say the staff and service were excellent the whole stay.
The gym is quite well equipped and a staff member available of you need to ask any questions and you can plug in your iPod/phone and record details of your wkout. With individual tv screens. Classes very good value also. Pool was usually quiet and jacuzzi and steam and sauna rooms were excellent.
The rooms we had were the modern ones facing the car park although the view wasn't good who's going to stare out for long anyway? They were clean and comfy with plenty of space and a wide screen tv.
Restaurant was good value for money and we'd already prepaid and got a discount. Soups were excellent but think some of the starters were poor value for money. Restaurant staff were willing to go out of their way to acccomdate our requests and offered us options not on the menu. Breakfast was buffet and well stocked we turned up quite late on our last morning and were not rushed.
If I had to recommend any improvements I'd suggest they make some changes to their starters and maybe add some child friendly dishes to the bar menu. There were a few fanilies there whod said there was nothing for the kids to eat. I'd also suggest you update the website with menu details and facilities available.
All in all, we all had a fantastic break and would recommend it to others looking to go for a quiet weekend with lots of R&R.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaritaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Assistant at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoy your stays with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stay here most weeks on business and each time I stay it's always good service, friendly staff, great food, relaxing bar area, great sports bar, superb spa, can't be beaten. Always treated well by all staff. Keep up the good work. See you all soon

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Assistant at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoy your stays with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
35.3 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.3 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,033 reviews
21.1 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stoke by Nayland Country Cottages
10.7 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,160 reviews
13.1 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range: ₹ 5,927 - ₹ 13,743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing