We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent short break to unwind and spend quality time with your partner.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
“Excellent short break to unwind and spend quality time with your partner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent the long Easter Weekend and my future In-Laws.
Have to say the staff and service were excellent the whole stay.
The gym is quite well equipped and a staff member available of you need to ask any questions and you can plug in your iPod/phone and record details of your wkout. With individual tv screens. Classes very good value also. Pool was usually quiet and jacuzzi and steam and sauna rooms were excellent.
The rooms we had were the modern ones facing the car park although the view wasn't good who's going to stare out for long anyway? They were clean and comfy with plenty of space and a wide screen tv.
Restaurant was good value for money and we'd already prepaid and got a discount. Soups were excellent but think some of the starters were poor value for money. Restaurant staff were willing to go out of their way to acccomdate our requests and offered us options not on the menu. Breakfast was buffet and well stocked we turned up quite late on our last morning and were not rushed.
If I had to recommend any improvements I'd suggest they make some changes to their starters and maybe add some child friendly dishes to the bar menu. There were a few fanilies there whod said there was nothing for the kids to eat. I'd also suggest you update the website with menu details and facilities available.
All in all, we all had a fantastic break and would recommend it to others looking to go for a quiet weekend with lots of R&R.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaritaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Assistant at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoy your stays with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    235
    103
    43
    18
See reviews for
112
302
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stay here most weeks on business and each time I stay it's always good service, friendly staff, great food, relaxing bar area, great sports bar, superb spa, can't be beaten. Always treated well by all staff. Keep up the good work. See you all soon

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottmaxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Assistant at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoy your stays with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

It felt like i had stepped back in time when i arrived at Stoke on Monday......round about 1987 i would suggest. The hotel is adequately appointed and the Spa is very good. The twin room with double beds was a misrepresentation as my one was two singles pushed together so i ended up falling through the gap!!

The scrambled egg at breakfast i am sure was reconstituted formica and Paul [...] at the bar looked like he had either seen a ghost or had been on holiday with my mother in law....he seemed disturbed and frankly out of his depth.....he kept walking round with plates of food handing them out to the wrong people.

My top tip is to take room only and pay for breakfast at the golf bar........

If you are a golfer then either take a buggy or better still Sherpa Tensig for the hills.....i am walking with a stoop having bagged for my son.!

I am sure on a Friday night that the cast from Dynasty might pop into the Constable bar and treat Paul [...] to a shoulder pad feast.....that or they will order a cocktail and he wont be able to find that on his keypad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonspeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just returned from a spa day with the wife and found the location and facilities perfect for a relaxing day together.

All the staff were very friendly and the the food very nice. The facilities were all maintained to a nic clean standard.

Will definately go again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wat1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Assistant at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

very relaxing long weekend. Good room service. amazing views.
Very pleasant staff

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBNHotel, Marketing Assistant at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Luke

Marketing Assistant at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leavenheath
13.2 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.1 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
35.4 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
30.5 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
21.2 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath, Babergh District CO6 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,005 - ₹ 13,342
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star award-winning Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa is situated in 300 acres of rolling countryside, in a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). The hotel is ideally positioned in the middle of the Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester triangle and is only 45 minutes from the M25 and Stansted Airport. The hotel offers 80 contemporary hotel bedrooms and a wide range of facilities including, the 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant, two 18-hole Championship golf courses and driving range, nine function rooms offering superb views over Constable Country ideal for weddings, celebrations and conferences and a hi-tech fitness centre. There is also a luxurious spa within the hotel, where you'll find a heated indoor swimming pool with spa temple, sauna, steam room, exotic Rasul and Hammam treatment rooms, a bistro and a whole range of health and beauty therapies on offer. There is extensive free parking, free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel and the Pippin Shop onsite provides all the essentials you may require plus an array of handmade gifts. Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa also offer a number of self-catering luxury lodges on site, which enjoy all the facilities of the hotel but with a private area to escape to. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing