We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Spotty: Needs a Pastry Chef”

De Grendel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Plattekloof
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Atmosphere and service 5 star! Starters well thought out however execution poor. Scallop and broth excellent but soft shell crab (which is delicate) was fried (overcooked) to beyond recognition. Should have been tempura-ed. The charge for the dish is high and one would expect all the components to be able to be appreciated. The mains were flawless. The strawberry panna-cotta dessert had absolutely NO flavor and the lemon curd was missing from the plate. Simply serves as a cold, gelatinous foil for the fruit that was on the plate. Ideas were good but the execution of the dishes was not consistent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degrendel, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you for bringing up these issues and we always like to get constructive criticism as it helps us to improve. We will definitely work on the scallop and soft shell crab dish and look at the cooking of the crab. We are also going to take a serious look at our desserts and will be working on them over the next fortnight to perfect our offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2016

We had a family celebration dinner at De Grendel, with 9 of us at the table. We started with a wine tasting on the terrace and enjoyed that immensely, especially since we could also watch the sunset across Table Bay, with Table Mountain to the left. Our party were aged from 11 to 73, and everyone found something tempting on the menu which doesn't limit itself to any particular cuisine but is obviously innovative fine dining. We tended to taste each other's starters, and all were pronounced fabulous. The mains were varied and beautifully presented. We sat next to the glass window that gave us a view into the busy kitchen, and enjoyed seeing the chefs at work. Everyone thought their main course was THE BEST, which is a huge compliment to the menu and the kitchen, and desserts were almost too pretty to eat. Getting food of such outstanding quality at such reasonable prices was the cherry on the top of an amazing evening. It is going to be very hard to even consider other restaurants next time we are in the Cape - we want to come back again and again and try all the other dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tinisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degrendel, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing De Grendel to celebrate your families special occasion. We are so pleased that you had such a memorable dinning experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Breath taking views, great wines and exceptional food. And to top it all off the service was brilliant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tillatulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degrendel, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Having visited before, we decided not to rush back. A year later we decided to try De Grendel again for Sunday lunch, and are we glad that we did! Service had massively improved, as did overall quality of food. Prawn started was especially delicious, and pork belly has to be one of the best I have ever tasted. Top quality estate wine now served by the glass, perfectly complementing a great afternoon.

Thank PatBar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degrendel, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

We are so pleased that you decided to try us again we work very hard as a team to continuously better ourselves and our offering. We are so pleased that it is paying off and that you experienced a true De Grendel dinning experience. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

This was an exceptional well balanced and tasteful lunch, with excellent wine. No words can describe this lunch experience. The service is also excellent. Please go and enjoy a great meal at De Grendel!!! Will be back soon with my wife to enjoy an unforegettable dinner!!

Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
degrendel, General Manager at De Grendel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch experience with us and it is always such a boost for the team when they see all of their hard work paying off. We look forward to seeing you and your wife very shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Grendel Restaurant also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Durbanville, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to De Grendel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing