We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
161
199
51
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
199
51
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood stove black necked cranes beautiful hotel corner room electric heater hot water dining room entire valley stunning views buffet dinner bhutanese architecture large windows spacious room log fire long drive bhutan hotels low season
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2007

Bhutan Scenic Tours booked our hotel here which is not in Thimphu. It is in Gangtey, which is a few hours drive from Thimphu. THis hotel is great and in the middle of nowhere, near the black cranes, though we went in May and did not see cranes. We loved the hot stone bath, the great view of the valley and the service. Take a walk in the area to the right of the hotel and you will meet tons of school children who just want to get their picture taken. The room was super clean, GREAT beds, great view, nice bathroom. This was the best hotel we stayed in Bhutan (that was included in government tariff). We heard this hotel is owned by the same owner as Zhiwa Ling in Bhutan, which we also stayed in.
the temperature of the room was fine, they turned the stove on to heat the room and gave us hot water bottles to warm our beds. it was great. no electricity after 9pm though, but we liked that aspect.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2006

The hotel is strategically located close to the black necked crane education/information center. My wife and I stayed at the hotel on 3/06 when the weather was still a bit cool. As a result, stepping into the dining room with the wood-burning stove/heater fired up with a cup of tea was very relaxing. The room is clean and beddings/pillows (Sealy) were comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom is clean and has modern facilities found in any N. American hotel. The wood-burning heater in the room has to be constantly fed with wood in order to maintain heat. If not attended as in when going to sleep, the temperature of the room will drop quickly. After dinner, the staff will light the heater up for guests. The hotel will also provide one hot water bottle per guest (you can ask for an extra one) to keep you warm. I gave mine to my wife and she could not stop talking about it in the morning. The hot water bottle was still warm when she woke up. The food preparation need some improvement but was fine with me. The staff and manager were helpful and accomodating. For folks who are interested in taking pictures of the black-necked cranes, you need to have a safari mentality and that means you have to go out early in the morning (better light) or late in the evening to see if a few cranes are hanging out in someone else's backyard. You would need a fast (preferred) and long lens (>400mm) for this endeavor. The crane center is worth a visit but I would not stay here if the goal is to get close enough to the cranes. Overall, the hotel is more than adequate and comfortable unless you prefer to stay at the Aman Hotel nearby. For those interested, I booked my tour directly with Sakten Tours and I would recommend them to readers. We were originally booked to stay at another hotel but was "upgraded" to Dewachen Hotel.

1  Thank rxchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 February 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag kamer met zicht op vallei
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews