We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Himalayan Village
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

its a lovely resort, the rooms r big and spacious. the rooms smell of pine wood =) later whn we spoke to mr sood, he tld us that the rooms dint hv any concrete and were made frm a technology that was ancient and natural. the food was excellent. at nite u can hear the river so clearly... will be definitely be heading bck the agn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shivanitalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you sir for such a wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could give you the peace and tranquality you were looking for. We are happy you loved each and every aspect of your stay with us and enjoyed the treks and walks around in the virgin lands around the resort. Rajinder joins me in thanking you for the appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    61
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
154
123
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

On the occasion of our 1st anniversary, me and my husband were looking for an amazing place where we can spend romantic, and peaceful time with each other. After an over night journey from Delhi, we reached a place that truly mesmerized us. The pine trees those are surrounded by, and the apple garden beside the suits, and the suits made up of pine woods giving a soothing aroma , all these just rejuvenate the entire body and soul. The essence and the pleasant stay of that place is still strong even after a year time. At night one can hear the beautiful sound of a river across the road in front of the resort.

If we could then, would have spent even the second anniversary also at HIMALAYAN VILLAGE. One must visit it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank aparnashree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for the warm reviews. We are glad that we could make you first anniversary memorable and you enjoyed the saty with us and the memories are still fresh and soothing even after a years time. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

After an 8 hour drive up from Chandigarh, what we needed was a sight that would blow our minds, and it did when we reached our hotel. The drive was nothing to really write home about. The last 6 hours were through the mountains but the last 20 Km were really difficult, almost torturous. The state of the road was really poor with the tarmac completely missing in some portions.

But all that was completely forgotten once we reached the hotel. Upon getting in we were greated by Mr. Sood, the GM, who immediately made us feel completely at home. The hotel itself is placed on the hillside and the 10 odd cottages are spread across a well laid out, spacious area worth lots of open green spaces. We were two families and both our cottages had a private lawn in front where we spent most our evenings chatting and taking in the cool summer breeze. The cottages and the area in general has a lot of detailing. Even the door handles and 'chitkini' were traditionally and tastefully done. The whole place had a nice rural feel to it with modern touches. We took a cottage with a built in kitchenette that allowed us to prepare small meals for our two year old. There were also plenty of safe places for our kid to run around.

A special mention on the GM. He took active interest in every guest staying at the Village. From recommending places to visit, to organising an evening of local cultural song and dance (which he actively participated in) to taking immediate action on any concern we had, he made the stay even more enjoyable.

Places to visit around the hotel:

1. Manikaran - The first Gurdwara that we visited that wasn't spic and span.
2. Kasol town - Small town with a lot of Isreli influence. We ate at this place called Bhoj restaurant which the Israelis called sammy boy's. Good choice, big portions and quite tasty. There is an option to hire a guide and try your hand at some angling.
3. Mojik valley - A good 2 hour trek through some really trecherous terrain to get to the glacier. Not recommended if you have young kids. We went in the last week of June and it wasn't cold as we were told and ended up carrying our warm jackets tied up around our waists. The views were really nice though and might want to try this in slightly colder months, should give Rotang a good run for its money.
4. Local handicraft - the local warm shawl is called the 'pattu' and is quite elegant. Besides there are the Kullu

There were a few disappointments that I should point out:

1. The view from the hotel. There was a rather featureless hill blocking the view and did not really get to see the snow caps from our hotel.
2. The approach to the river. The hotel should improve access to the river. There is a very nice rock on which we had as mall picnic right on the river, but getting to it is not easy or clean.
3. The hotel charges an extra 2.5% when paid by credit card. A hotel this expensive should absorb the credit card fees levied rather than transfer it to the customer.

Overall, A very enjoyable experience with a lot of activities made even better by the staff. Will definitely recommend to all my friends.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Amitayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you for the review . We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us and were pleased with the architecture , the landscape , the detailings and ethnicity of the place . We are glad that you enjoyed our planned trips to the serene mozik valley , our cultural programmes .
The road from bhunter to kasol which was not in such a good shape has now been redone and is a very smooth drive now.
We have taken note of the charges on the credit card charges and have hearby decided it to absorb the cost and not pass it on to the client, as suggested by you. Thank you for the inputs. Looking forward to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

where do i start from.... the resort, the owner or the waterfall.... all amazing

I have been to Manali few times before and its always very loud everywhere and too much traffic... therefore i was skeptical initially but when i arrived i was happy to see the place very quite and the environment very serene.... if u want peace and nature and sound of water... this is the only place for you in the entire Kullu Manali belt

We stayed at Kangra and not at Machhan because my family didnt want to climb the stairs (which was told to us by Aman on the phone itself), the cottage is so HUGE that even after putting 2 extra beds u cud play cricket in the room.... the temperature was high in days but Aman was very helpful in providing us the extra table fans... the food was as expected, very homely and they had local dishes in every meal... very nice.

They guided us to various treks during our entire stay, the guide Rajinder was very helpful, initially we went to river side and enjoyed the river and jungle view ....it was awesome

We had 3 other treks... apple orchids was really nice but the best was going to the WATERFALL..... all 5 stages of it... Rajinder and me went to the top.... i must say u have to b very fit to reach the top and thanks to Aman and team for discovering it........it was MERMERISIZING

We had bornfire and danced to folk dance, really cool feeling... it was sad to leave the place but i promise to come back soon and goto the other treks, which i missed this time

Thanks for a wonderful experience Aman... Cheers :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shobhit_Gupta_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you sir . We are so glad that we could come upto your epectation and you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The whole idea of making this property at such a offbeat location was to keep you away from the hustle and bustle of Manali and let you enjoy the real beauty of Himachal . We are glad that loved the architecture , the food and our out door activities which you so enthusiacticly participated . We look forward to hosting you again and do the trecks which you missed due to lack of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Himalayan Village Resort is a pleasant, beautiful and peaceful place. The beauty of the mountains makes one spellbound. The well furnished and tastefully decorated cottages are extremely comfortable. The lawn accompanying each cottage gives a panoramic view of the fast flowing Parvati river and the fir and pine forests. The amazing view is truly a feast to the eyes and the cool, refreshing mountain air a treat to the lungs. Apart from the amazing ambiance that the HVR offers a wide variety of activities like adventure sports, rafting, trekking and unforgettable walks in the forests.The helpful staff members and the wonderful service ensure that a person gets complete relaxation.The food is nutritious and very tasty. The cultural program is truly fascinating with enthralling and enchanting performances by the staff and participation by the chief host.The HVR provides a comfortable and luxurious hideout from Delhi's scorching heat and gives an opportunity to live in close harmony with nature. Hats off to the management and the entire HVR family and thanks for making our visit a memorable experience.
-Nikita Garkhel and Kunal Garkhel

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kunalg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
We are glad that you have always relished staying with us and enjoying our hospitality , the set up , surroundings. It is a big complimemt for us as our place has become a annual summer destination for you. We assure you we would always strive to live upto your epectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasol
16.5 km away
Heritage Village Resort
18.5 km away
LaRiSa Resort
LaRiSa Resort
#1 of 3 in Haripur
256 reviews
27.7 km away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 122 in Manali
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Apple Valley Resort
Apple Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Mohal
103 reviews
17.1 km away
Bharhka Countryside Cottage Resort
23.4 km away
The Anantmaya Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan Village

Property: The Himalayan Village
Address: Doonkara | Parvati Valley, Kasol 175105, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Kasol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,539 - ₹ 11,658
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made in very old architecture called Kathkunia style (without cement with mud plastered interiors). An eco-friendly resort. The resort is surrounded by pine and fir jungles, rivers. Has traditional Machans structures at 40-60 above the ground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Himalayan Village Kasol, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing