We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Memorable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Himalayan Village
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Me and my wife went to The Himalayan Village for our 1st Wedding Anniversary.
An amazing resort at an equally amazing location, with an even more amazing staff, is how I would describe The Himalayan Village.
Why I say this:
To start with, as you enter the resort, you just get struck by the glimpse of its wonderful architecture- a masterpiece, with a postcard-perfect view of the resort, its cottages and the machaans!
The next thing you get amazed by, is its location- silent, serene. The sound of the gushing Parvati river breaks the pin-drop silence and is indeed thrilling. The view of the mountains all around adds to the thrill of being at such an exotic place.
And last but not the least, the wonderful staff and service. The warmth of the hospitality of the resort staff would be simply unforgettable. It's been the best part of my stay here. The local Himachali staff was far more warm and hospitable than the trained staff of the best of luxury hotels in the metros. You can actually feel that each member takes the task of caring for you not as his job, but as if you are his personal guest. They would do all that is required to make and keep you happy. They'll help, serve, smile, and even sing and dance for you!
Thanks Aman for making our Anniversary wonderful and unforgettable.

Room Tip: Choose any cottage..... Each is unique in itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanay_Kulshreshtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you sir , for such praises . Me and my staff are so glad that you loved your stay with us and we were able to make your anniversary memorable. We are happy you loved the location , the serenity of the place . We are all here to smile and serve you. That is all the hopitality is all about. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 354 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

The resort has a fancy web site wherein all the cottages are listed along with the amenities it provide & you book the particular cottage that you like. Was very impressed & after talking around & also to the resort people booked the Shimla Cottage online. Also took a confirmation that the Shimla cottager has indeed been reserved for our 2 night stay. This booking was done in February itself as I thought that the resort must be getting sold out fast as it has very few rooms. The wait for the journey in June was a long one & finally when the time came we packed our bags excitedly. The journey from Shoja to Kasol was pretty uneventful & the resort just sprang up as soon as we crossed Jari. The guard at the resort disdainfully pointed to the restaurant when he saw us entering the resident area. The message had to be conveyed that we have a booking here. The reception was attractive & we were greeted by a cheerful employee in full Kullu attire. The check in was smooth & the feedback form too was got signed. However we were told that the Shimla cottage was not available as the guest there had decided to "overstay" & so we would be given an alternate & similar cottage, Kangra. I was irritated but still went ahead to the Cottage. Upon reaching the Kangra cottage I was pretty disappointed & asked to be moved to Shimla cottage. The guy promptly called in the Chief Host Mr Aman Sood. He came in & apologized for the faux paus but did not appear very impressed with our demand of moving is to the booked cottage. He insisted that both the cottages are the same. We demanded to be moved to Shimla cottage, he said that would not be possible. we demanded to be moved to a better cottage he declined. We demanded a refund so that we could move on to another hotel at Kasol, he refused. So there was no option but to check into the Kangra cottage. I found this to be highly unprofessional & unethical & thus started our long awaited vacation. To put in the right perspective for one and all, the Kangra & Shimla cottage are structurally the same but the Shimla is situated at a higher level in the resort & appeared beautiful. Infact Kangra is the only cottage that opens out into a wall. You go around the cottage all the way back & then you reach the designated garden. I found this to be an architectural flaw as the garden remained underutilized for its inaccessibility. & even otherwise why promise high on the web when you just dont intend to deliver.
The Room:
The Kangra cottage was spacious with a seperate seating area & a seperate sleeping area. A small space was also made into a kitchenette in which induction heater was provided for small chores. This was a big help as I utilized the same to the max for warming baby milk & for cooking maggi for the kids. The room was quite comfortable & was well made. It was clean & very plush. The cottage also had a small dressing area for the luggage. That was neat too. The bathroom was also spacious & clean, though the seat of the WC would just not stand up. The toiletries & the towels were all top notch.
Service:
Absolutely brilliant. The guys were hard working & ready to please. The minor mistakes such as giving us a broken bed as an extra bed, not knowing the exact time & venue of the buffet, was there but it can be ignored for the otherwise flawless services that they offered.
Food:
Mighty disappointing. The resort sells MAP packages & so the breakfast & the dinner is always to be had at the resort. We found the food to be passable at the best & moreover the buffet spread always had a tendency to get over to soon. Although the items were provided on request yet a buffet spread that gets over before all have their food is simply not acceptable for a place which charges a premium. The room service & the a la carte was very expensive. Maggi for Rs.97 :)
Overall experience:
Did not enjoy my stay there for both specific reasons, as pointed out before & also for general reasons. I was not very happy with the location of the resort as it is a truly highway hotel & just sprangs up on its own. Infact the beauty of the Parvati Valley starts beyond a kilometre from the resort & so for people for whom this resort is not a destination in itself would be disappointed. The Parvati river is not visible from the resort other than the Machan & is not accessible too. The other complaint that I have from the resort is that it is too loud & lacks the serenity of a Himalayan resort. The resort has loud activities & a host of activities on offer including folk dances, Bugle & what not. Infact the day I was there, the resort had organised an antakshari for the guests that lasted till modnight. So every time I came out to hear the Parvati gurgling, I had to be contended with someone shouting a song at the top of his voice & disturbing the entire ambiance. It felt as if I am in a resort located on the Delhi - Murthal - Sonipat highway. So to sum up I would not return to this place inspite of the fact that it is very luxurious & plush. Both for the lack of serenity & also for the fact that it does not offer the vibes of Kasol.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for taking out time to provide valuable feedback . Thanks for liking the cottages , our cleanliness and our services.
We appologise for the mistake in allotting you Kangra cottage instead of Shimla , though they are similar cottages . I had personally come to your cottage and appologised . To put things in the right perspective i never refused you a upgrade but expressed inability as the whole resort was sold out and you never asked for a refund otherwise we would have never refused as the mistake was on our part.
The river is mighty visible from each and every cottage and from Kangra a big big stretch is visible. I will be posting pictures with caption on trip adviser itself and it is something which is for everyone to see who visits this place .
We apologise if the birthday celebration of kid of one of the family of 7 people staying with us caused you any disturbance . We are very particular about maintaining the peace and stick to a big no for anything very loud . We thought they were very not loud at ll . I could not hear them even in my office which is much nearer to the lawns where the party was being held. Had you even complained we would have taken care.
We would like you to visit us gain ang give us a chance to make amends .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Having just come back after a week at the Himalayan Village resort resort, we must say it has been a truly adventurous and amazing holiday .The warm smiles of all the staff at the resort and the hospitable service ensure we do not forget this place ever!!


There is not much words can describe about this place. It rules as a unique holiday option with its lush greenery,secluded away from the maddening crowd and race of every day life. The picturesque beauty surrounding the resort is the stuff we see in picture postcards. Living in it is like a dream come true !!

Some special mentions here :

Having gotten back to their roots and showcasing the state's unique culture & ethnicity could not have been done better than it has been at the Himalayan Village resort. We truly respect this spirit .

The staff being trained to multi task is definitely worthwhile. We enjoyed their evening performances when they enthralled us with the folk entertainment.The well kept and unobtrusive service is a huge plus if one is looking at getting complete relaxation.

We liked the well planned off beat outings and adventure activities . Only wish we had a couple of more days to do a little more !!

Last but not the least , the very hospitable and involved couple that Aman & his wife are ,will always ensure that visitors have a great experience at the Himalayan village resort. Can not recommend it enough to all !

Hoping we can go back some day to visit this amazing place yet again...

Warm regards

Mrs. & Mr. Bhaskar Rai

Room Tip: The cottages with the sit outs are the best. They are a slice of private heaven all to your selves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhasrishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobby11kullu, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for the wonderful , elaborate review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It shows in the review . It was wonderful to have you for a week . We are pleased that you liked all the aspects about our property , the staff's warmth , our hospitality. We all were doing our respective duties and living upto our motto " ATHITHI DEVO BHABHA" . We hope to see you soon. Love to the naughty Kidos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Himalayan Village is a property that we have visited regularly since the past 3-4 years - sometimes alone, sometimes with friends - and its been a wonderful experience each time. Mr. Sood and Rashim, the hosts, leave no stone unturned to make your visit a memorable one and make you feel like you are visiting a dear friend's home rather than a hotel. The food from their restaurant - Sanjha Chula - is the best we have had in the hills and also includes certain Himachali delicacies. The cottages are styled as traditional wooden Kullu style homes and are named after places in Himachal. They have nice views of the mountains and are a complete treat to stay in. The Parvati river is just across the road and u fall asleep every night to the sound of its gurgling water. The resort is 5 kms before Kasol town and the walk to and fro is a delight and doesnt require a very high level of fitness. The resort also arranges day treks to Kheer Ganga (a meadow) which is a must-do when u visit the valley. In the evenings, Mr. Sood and the entire staff put up a Himachali folk song and dance programme which is a lot of fun and an eye-opener for those unaware of the local customs. In short, if you are looking for a refreshing break with an extremely comfortable stay+good food and really efficient & sweet staff, dont look any further - the Himalayan Village is all this and more!

Room Tip: Chamba is a personal favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lavz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobby11kullu, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you Mam for taking time out of your really busy sechudule and for the wonderful reviews about the property . We are glad that you have enjoyed each and every of your upteen visits to our resort , It has been a pleasure to host you on each visit .The whole idea about the property is to make you feel at home . You always so fondly refer to the resort as your second home. We are happy that the location , the views from the resort , the concept,always mermerise you . It is always a pleasure to host a lovely couple like you and my son always looks forward to the amazing cakes you get along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our stay at the HVR was unforgettable.. We went because we needed a break from our hectic routines & HVR is the ideal place for that..

Though I didn't indulge in many of the facilities available there because we rather liked our balcony & the view from there was amazing, so it was mainly ogling at the stream running nearby... hearing the birds chirp away.. the sound of the gushing water & the forest right behind us was all dark, mysterious & intriguing.. along with some amazing beer.

Coming to more important things.. the service is prompt & though the packages offered by them are nice; they are a little less detailed as per my liking. The staff & the owner Mr. Aman Sood were very polite, helpful & as involved as I was in trying to make this holiday a fabulous one. Also as I came to know from our driver, the hotel also provided accommodation & food for not just the staff but also the drivers accompanying the guest at a place near Mr. Sood's residence in the staff quarters free of cost. This gesture made me very happy as it was a constant concern for us. So a special thanks to Mr. Sood for his generosity & hospitality.

The restaurant experience for me, though, was a little less satisfactory even though the quality of food was good.

All in all, a great trip with a few minor flaws.

Room Tip: the machaans offer the bird's eye view... the best view possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shruti14gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobby11kullu, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for your generous and such wonderful reviews . We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us and it acted as a perfect balm on your tired souls. That was the whole idea of making this property totally offbeat and amongst nature . There is no better music than the sound od rivers , chirping birds , no better sight than the flowing river , sunrays fitering through dense pines . We are happy that you enjoyed each and every aspect. We would like to hear from your of minor flaws that you have mentioned in the last. We like to remove even the minor gliches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasol
27.7 km away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 127 in Manali
460 reviews
16.5 km away
Heritage Village Resort
18.5 km away
LaRiSa Resort
LaRiSa Resort
#1 of 3 in Haripur
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Apple Valley Resort
Apple Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Mohal
104 reviews
2.6 km away
Parvati Kuteer
Parvati Kuteer
#1 of 20 in Kasol
87 reviews
1.1 km away
Parvati Woods Cottage
Parvati Woods Cottage
#2 of 20 in Kasol
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan Village

Address: Doonkara | Parvati Valley, Kasol 175105, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Kasol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Price Range: ₹ 8,601 - ₹ 12,706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made in very old architecture called Kathkunia style (without cement with mud plastered interiors). An eco-friendly resort. The resort is surrounded by pine and fir jungles, rivers. Has traditional Machans structures at 40-60 above the ground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Himalayan Village Kasol, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing