We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
284
139
80
33
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
139
80
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool chalets sri lanka pigeon island the resort manager an open kitchen main building the general manager modern hotel fantastic beach wonderful hotel a la carte off season pool side seafood set menu house keeping private beach
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We came here to experience what Anilana promises - luxury.
What we met was a dirty room with an ant problem + a somewhat run down place. Paying premium money (much more than the far better resorts in Pasikuda) we expect to get premium quality - that certainly means a clean room with no ants and a hint of what they promise on their website.

The staff did come to clean and try to get rid of the ants by spraying some chemical where the ants were. They tried this three times. At night our daughter woke us to tell us that the sink was full of ants.

Two towels was provided each day even when they knew we were four (triple room booked so at least three towels should’ve been provided). We had to address the reception each day about this!

Further more we also had to notify twice about a clogged drain in the shower!

To top this we even found a cockroach underneath our bed.

Never once did they offer us another room or gave us some sort of compensation.

When we asked for an extra bed for our youngest they did not offer it free of charge rather just quoted the full price for an extra bed in the room.

This place is in need of some staff training and a thourough walktrough of what luxury is!

So long Anilana and thanks but no thanks for your version of luxury.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Santanos75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for choosing Anilana Nilaveli for your vacation, we appreciate you taking time to review us and for highlighting the over sights and short comings. We are currently carrying out staff training and will look into the concerns mentioned. Anilana looks to offering a seamless service standard across all our hotels, and we hope we will be able to offer you the service standards you have come to expect from us the next time you visit.

Regards

Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Spent 5 nights with family of four. After a good trek from Colombo (via safari) we arrived at night. We were greeted the next day with a stunning hotel, crystal Indian Ocean and exceptional service. Great pools, excellent choice of food and relaxed atmosphere. Rooms are uncluttered and contemporary with big bathrooms. Staff work tirelessly but are always positive and polite in the 36 degree heat. Unforgettable!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Zacster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for visiting Anilana Nilaveli and for taking the time to provide such positive comments about the hotel in your review. We very much appreciate it!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

We had 3 great nights at Anilana. We stayed a 2nd floor in the main building with a fantastic ocean view. The room was really nice and the cleaning guys did what they could to feel us at home. We had full board that that was worth the money. Quality of food not Michelin food but really good food and for a really reasonable price. Every night the dinner was served out side and they changed the buffet all 3 nights. The staff was really nice everywhere. I liked that they kept plastic wrap over the food for breakfast and dinner as everything is set outside and there are a lot of insects, so this is really great.
The pool looked fantastic, but we did not use it as the ocean was fantastic. Charming was the cows on the beach every evening going home (where ever that is). Go to the beach in the morning and see the fishermen coming in with all the fish - that is so authentic.
I like that the hotel save on the small soap dispensers compared to other hotels. They don't just throw half full bottles away but wait till they are empty. I also like that they serve cokes in bottles and not plastic bottles. The only down side was that the towels in the room were really old and not clean. I am not sure if they just don't was them with soap or if they use old used towels. They were just not nice and clean. The same goes for the beach towels. They were really not clean. It kind a looked like they just put them in a room each night and then hand out dirty towels the next day.

Even though the hotel was full and everybody was busy the staff made you feel very welcome.

Best of all they have accommodation for your driver if you have hired a private driver. We liked that a lot - to know that your driver is being taken good care of is important to us. It sounds like they had both room and board. Have in mind that the hotel is a bit far from the town.

We would suggest the hotel to open a gift shop. There is no shop at all in this area. As far as I know you need to go all the way to Trinco. You could sell post cards, spa things, swimsuits, sand things like small buckets and things for building sand castles, snorkle gear and many other things. I am sure that would be a success.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DorteRolvung17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Thank you for your visit and for your review. We appreciate your comments and assure you that we are in the process of getting new towels and our committed to improving our service standards.Due to the water condition in the area the towels discolor fast, we do maintain a high standard inhouse laundry.

Thank you for your feedback.

We woud look forward to welcoming you back to see our progress in time to come.

Regards
Anilana



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with family (teenagers) of 4 in 2 rooms. We really enjoyed staying here. What reaaly stands out is the amazing service of the staff, always willing to help to make your stay unforgettable.
The rooms were excellent, well equiped and clean. The food was excellent, fresh and served with a smile. A lot of choice:
Mix of buffet & showcooking on the spot meeting your requirements or a la carte. Local and international kitchen. 2 large warm infinity pools with shower and change facilities. Around pool many available beds and seating space. A stay on the beach is fantastic with plenty of beds and clean towels both in the sun or under the trees with a beautiful view on the sea and Pigeon island. The beach is empty and only there for you. No people trying to sell you stuff. Also a bar on the beach for drinks and lunch (enough choice on the menu).
Highly recommended place for a short relaxing and indulgent break during a 3 week trip accross Sri Lanka.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jan-Willem v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for choosing Anilna Nilaveli for your vacation; we appreciate you taking time to review us with such positive comments. We do hope that you will come back to Anilana sometime in the future.

Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on honeymoon towards the end of our time in Sri Lanka. We were upgraded on arrival to the suite which was a lovely surprise and had a fruit platter sent to our room, which was a nice touch. Hotel was clean, on a beautiful beach. The staff were all polite and attentive. Dinushan (one of the waiters) service was excellent and really looked after us during our stay. The food was excellent and catered well for vegetarians. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shemali S, Manager at Anilana Nilaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for choosing Anilana Nilaveli for your honeymoon; we were delighted to read your feedback and that you had a wonderful stay with us. We do hope you will come back to visit us next time you are in Sri Lanka.


Regards
Anilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews