We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here”

The Stone Horse Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Benijofar
Price range: US$ 18 - US$ 24
Description: The Stone Horse Restaurant has been open since December 2017. Run by Lorraine and Victor Peetoom. We serve a regular changing 4 course lunch menu incl. a drink for € 10.95, a 3 course choice menu for € 14, 95, an all day a la carte menu and regular specials. We use fresh ingredients and all our food is cooked to order. We cater for groups up to 44 people.
Restaurant details
Description: The Stone Horse Restaurant has been open since December 2017. Run by Lorraine and Victor Peetoom. We serve a regular changing 4 course lunch menu incl. a drink for € 10.95, a 3 course choice menu for € 14, 95, an all day a la carte menu and regular specials. We use fresh ingredients and all our food is cooked to order. We cater for groups up to 44 people.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Several friends have eaten here recently and so we thought we'd visit and try it for ourselves.
The choice on the menu del dia was sufficient for us all, and the complimentary cup of soup a nice touch.
The other courses were all nicely cooked and well-presented. There was only one waiter serving but with only 15 or 16 covers, he was well able to give efficient service.
Really enjoyed this experience and will visit again.

Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainepe, Owner at The Stone Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank youfor your review we look forward to seeing again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

Poor choice no English dishes on menu, it advertised English & dutch speciality .
Not my idea of English chips small portions and appeared as if they had been boiled then deep fried as skins were parting company. Shame I won't be returning as the staff were very friendly just the standard of the food let's the place down. Live locally and were looking for a decent restaurant but this is not the one. Service slow.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainepe, Owner at The Stone Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hello I'm sorry you was disappointed with the quality of food.
We do advertise our chips as rustic homemade chips, and you was informed that extra chips are available if wanted at no extra cost to yourself.

We are not a English restaurant as stated in our advertising we are a international restaurant and do over a variety of different food choices.

We feel our staff was very accommodating to your wife's requirements; as you was served by myself personally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Lack of choice on menu del dia, no fish dish apart from chili fish cakes, all choices were spicey, apart a beef steak, thought it was an English restaurant. Love salad but not drenched in balsamic dressing, oil and vinegar on the tables would be better. Small chip portions to share between two, in fact fish cakes were small as well. Thankfully I was offered hake, but not happy to find bones in it. Need more choice. Staff friendly. Seemed slow service but understand food is cooked to order.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yorkylass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainepe, Owner at The Stone Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

I'm sorry you feel there is a lack of choice on the menu del dia.
In fact you was offered a salad without dressing as you was unhappy, we also offered you two different choices fish, a tuna steak and the hake which you choose as for the bone you found In the fish, to the best of our ability there is always a chance of a bone or two as it's a natural product

We also changed your starter choice as you was unhappy with it, without any fuss.
We are not advertised as a English restaurant, we are advertised as a international restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

The food is amazing service fantastic thank you for a lovely evening good menu very reasonable price

Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainepe, Owner at The Stone Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Had lunch with four friends. We had the menu del Dia 9.95€ for a three course lunch with glass of wine. The food and the service were excellent and I have already booked lunch for 20 ladies in April.

Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainepe, Owner at The Stone Horse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for your review, it was nice to meet you all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stone Horse Restaurant also viewed

Benijofar, Province of Alicante
Benijofar, Province of Alicante
 
Benijofar, Province of Alicante
Benijofar, Province of Alicante
 
Rojales, Costa Blanca
Benijofar, Province of Alicante
 

Been to The Stone Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing