We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Lucchese Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
San Ginese, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Linda M
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Lucchese Home”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This summer our extended family of 9 (ranging in age from 80 to 11) spent a week at this beautiful property. We have previously rented two other homes in the countryside around Lucca (my parents were born nearby) and neither compare to this one. The home is newly constructed in a traditional Tuscan farmhouse style. You have all the rustic charm with every modern convenience. The house is beautifully appointed with every item you might ever need. It even has screens and air conditioning which are hard to come by in Italian homes. The house is spotless, the furniture comfortatble, the linens beautiful and the kitchen well stocked.

The owners Juri and Carla are charming and ask what they can do to make your stay better. Frankly, there is nothing for them to do, everything is perfect. The setting in the quiet countryside is gorgeous, the views charming, the pool very well maintained and the gardens lovely. The house is only 15 minutes from Lucca proper and has quick access to the freeway which makes day trips easy.

We had Carla cook dinner for us one evening and it was delicious. As Italian-American SF Bay Area foodies, we are hard to please food wise and we loved it! We cannot recommend this property enough. Everything about it is perfect, I can't wait to rent it again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iandastew...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful villa in the heart of the countryside.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family stayed in this superb villa to celebrate our mothers 80th birthday. Altogether there was 9 of us. The villa is spacious and very well equipped with 4 double and 2 twin bedrooms along with 5 bathrooms. A very well appointed kitchen in the house and another kitchen in an annexe. All the double bedrooms and the lounge and kitchen had air conditioning, also the wi-fi was very good throughout the house.
The pool is a good size and very well maintained with parasols and sun loungers and a very handy shower right next to the pool.
The host Juri is very helpful and attentive in every aspect. We asked for a meal on our first night and Juri's mother Carla cooked us a fabulous Tuscan dinner complete with birthday cake. It was so good that we asked if she could cook another 2 times, and both meals were equally good.
Ideally situated for Lucca, Pisa and Florence, yet very peaceful.
This Villa and the host's are second to none and we as a family had the greatest of holidays and will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the dinners we had.
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie M
Salinas, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home and views”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this new villa for 8 days and could not have been happier. The villa itself was exquisite and the grounds were peaceful, beautiful and so relaxing. The owners could not have made us feel more welcome and even cooked a welcome dinner for our large family. It was close enough to Lucca, Pisa and Cinque Terra that we were able to enjoy great day trips and always make it back for a relaxing evening to enjoy the pool and the view. The little town was welcoming and very beautiful! Highly recommend this villa and the owners.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickie A
Carmel Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Large Groups”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My father wanted to spend his 80th birthday in the Lucca area of Italy with all of his family. He has first cousins that live near Lucca and we've visited before, but because there were 13 of us staying together, finding the right home that would please everyone was a challenge. But we were lucky enough to stumble upon Casale Carla and couldn't have been happier. Juri and his mother Carla were incredibly welcoming and accommodating to our party. We were the first visitors to stay at this newly renovated property and while there were first time glitches, they couldn't have done more to make sure we were well taken care of and comfortable. The finishes in each room and on the outside of the house are top of the line and very beautiful. From Italian glass tiles in each of the beautifully appointed bathrooms (4 of which have showers with both rain heads and handhelds, the 5th has a Jacuzzi tub) to the top of the line appliances in both the main kitchen and the pool house kitchen. Each room is a mix of the old and new from Juri's grandparents furniture, perfectly restored, to the modern kitchen and lighting all blending together seamlessly.
The kitchens were fully stocked with dishes and silverware and they tried to think of everything a cook would need. We hosted a birthday party for 30 people and had no troubles. In fact, clean up was a breeze because of the two dishwashers.
We were there during the World Cup so we were able to enjoy the matches on the HD big screen tv. We had Carla cook a welcome dinner on our first night which was fantastic. She prepared a lasagna, with the lightest pasta any of us had ever tasted, along with a meat and vegetable in addition to the wines..all for a very reasonable price. This was a perfect segue to the cooking class we arranged with her a couple of nights later. She has a cute little "kitchen cottage" that stands above the house and 5 of us learned how to make her homemade pasta with a ragu in addition to a chicken cacciatore that we proudly served to the rest of the family for dinner, again for a very reasonable price. (less than what it would of cost for us to go out to dinner and 100x better!) Lucca is just a short distance from the house and we went in many times to shop, ride bikes and site see. It's also near the beaches and Cinque Terre was just a little over an hour away.
We've been to Italy several times and this is one of the nicest places we've stayed. Besides the fact that it was all brand new, the quality and the size of it would please anyone. The only downside, and it's really not even that, was that it is out in the countryside so you couldn't just walk into the village for dinner or a gelato. I would highly recommend this home, it really had everything anyone could ask for...and more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the sitting areas outside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bea550
Grassau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Freunden
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing