We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather keep this place a secret!”
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 36
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I'd rather keep this place a secret!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

There are so many nearly perfect pub/restaurants about, but they usually have some little niggle that makes you think twice about a second visit. The Moody Cow is faultless, so good that I'd rather not too many other people get to know about it. We visited for the first time last night, and received a warm welcome from the hosts. The atmosphere is relaxed country pub, with scrubbed wood tables and a cosy feel. The menu was exciting, with a range of dishes from smaller meals to steaks, venison and fish, all reasonably priced. Although changed every day, there are some favourites which regularly appear, such as pork belly on apple mash. The food our party of four were served was beautifully cooked and presented, and every dish tasted wonderful. I'm not a great pudding person, but my vanilla baked cheescake with boozy currants (or was it raisins?) looked and tasted fantastic. I tried someone else's creme brulee, and we all agreed it was one of the best we'd tasted, with a fantastic creamy texture. The new owners are just coming up to their first anniversary, and I hope they continue for many years delivering such a pleasant experience. I strongly recommend this place to everyone - as long as there's still room for me!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for not keeping it a secret, it is very kind of you to write your review and we are all thrilled that you enjoyed coming to the Moody Cow.

I don't think we are faultless, there is always something for us to learn every single day but we promise we will always try our very best to get the details right.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moody Cow very soon

Kind regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    135
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eat here if you're near Ross on Wye”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We ate here having looked at previous reviews on TripAdvisor.

The excellent reviews are well warranted. The food is excellent with a great selection of savoury and sweet dishes. The service is attentive and friendly. The ambiance is relaxed.

We'll be going here again when we're nearby. We recommend that you do too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller95_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are all delighted that you enjoyed visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A First Class Welcome and Excellent Food”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We visited this pub as a family group and were so impressed that we were back 2 nights later! The landlord and his wife provide a warm welcome and are supported by friendly staff and the newly refurbished surroundings are fresh but in keeping with the character of the pub and the area. The menu offers a wide selection of freshly cooked food and fresh fish is an absolute pleasure! The sea bass fillets on crushed potatoes were sublime whilst the steak and pie received rave reviews. Emphasis is on fresh and quality at a reasonable price. Recommend booking - if you have impaired guests beware of bistro style high tables and chairs in the bar, but only 2 or 3 tables are like that. Beer garden would be most pleasant in the Summer and parking is plentiful. Rooms are now also on offer but haven't checked those out (yet!)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoollyScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are all really pleased that you enjoyed our sea bass fillets and homemade beef and ale pie, our young and enthusiastic team in the kitchens just love it when I share our guests feedback, it really motivates them and puts a great big smile on their faces.
We would love to welcome you back to the Moody Cow when you are next in the area.
Thanks once again and kindest regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We visited this pub/restraunt on recommendation and was not disappointed,the service and welcome was 1st class,good variety on menu,the food was well cooked and presented.We went again the next evening and although we hadn,t booked a table was still found for us.All the staff were very pleasant,if we are in the area again we will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbwfeb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visits to the Moody Cow. and do hope that we will see you again when you are next in the area.
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We ate at the Moody Cow on a weeknight when it was well patronised and full of atmosphere. The staff were friendly the food was very good and reasonably priced. We ordered only a main course each but we had to wait quite some time before it was produced. However, the delay was fully explained to us and acceptable reasons were given so we didn't mind. The owner was aimiable and chatted to many guests. He was more than willing to receive 'feed-back' and talked about how various meals had evolved from an original idea.We sat on high chairs (!) - not the most comfortable of seating but OK. All in all a very good experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CoralReef67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review, we are all very pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us, and I am especially grateful for the considered and objective feedback that you offered, this kind of feedback we treat as a gift, it is so valuable to us and enables us to continually improve the experience that we give our guests.

I do take your point about the level of comfort offered by our leather bar stools, and will review how we use these in the evening

I do hope we see you again soon, and thanks once again for being fantastic guests
Kind regards
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing