We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wedding Buffet”
Review of The Moody Cow

The Moody Cow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 39
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Country Pub and Dining specialising in authentic, home made food using local, fresh produce as much as possible. Located in a delightful village setting just mintutes from junction 4 of the M50. Children, dogs and muddy boots are welcome as long as they are accompanied by well behaved adults!
Reviewed 14 April 2012

i know my dad has already written a review about the buffet we had, so I thought that I should also comment about the outstanding food which was very much enjoyed by everyone .(especially the beef) so a BIG thankyou to all the Moody Cows kitchen staff you did a great job. My husband (LOL) and I had a wonderful day,
I want to thank Chris especially as he is so friendly and welcoming and nothing is to much for him, a real people person unlike some.
We did have a few communiction problems but Chris still managed to keep me calm and all was perfect on the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank asilpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, the kitchen team were really thrilled that you enjoyed our food and Dawn and I are very happy that you enjoyed the Moody Cow experience, we all wish you and Martin a long, healthy and very happy marriage.

Best wishes

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

989 - 993 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Went for lunch with friends after being recomended by my my parents! Great to find a local pub serving really good food and beer with great service. Will be back. One slight complaint, no dressing on the salad, a pet hate of mine. But a great lunch none the less.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hungryboyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thanks for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Moody Cow but I am disappointed that your salad wasn't dressed, we should dress all our leaves, usually we use oakleaf, lollo rosso and curly endive and dress them with extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar, it seems that this didn't happen in your case. I will discuss this with our chefs at our team meeting later today.
Thank you for letting me know, and thanks once again for your kind comments.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We held Lisa's Wedding reception at the Moody Cow and I have to say that Chris and Dawn put on a splendid buffet. The food was excellent throughout nad the service from the staff polite and helpful.Everyone commented on the food especially the beef it couldn't have been better anywhere else and I shall be seeing you again when I am next down in Ross.Thank you once again for a most enjoyable day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maxie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, all of the team at the Moody Cow worked very hard to ensure that we played our part making sure that Lisa had a memorable day, and we enjoyed every minute of it too.
It was a privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moody Cow when you are next in Herefordshire.
Kindest regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We happened to be driving through the village at lunch time when we spotted this gastropub. We were a little unsure whether to go in as we were dining out that same evening and it was more a restaurant than a pub but the saving grace was that they served smaller portions of some of their main dishes. Our food was absolutely excellent, brilliant chips and for me the best ever cheese tart (with superb draught cider). A very lucky find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank davidandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you found us, and enjoyed our three cheese tart. I hope you don't think of us as a "gastro pub" though, although our food is prepared freshly, using the best ingredients we are still a pub, I love it when we have a battered old Land Rover (like mine) parked next to a shiny new Bentley!
Hope to see you again very soon, and thank you once again.

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked this for a meal for four having read the positive trip advisor reviews. We were certainly not disappointed. The food was first class, far better than the vast majority of restaurants. The host was very accomodating and friendly, spending exactly the right amount of time with diners without being intrusive and the environment was relaxed and welcoming.
The menu was fantastic and catered for all tastes and all at a very reasonable price.
This pub is worth travelling to and is probably one of the best pub/ restaurants that we have ever visited. We will certainly be going back when we are next in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dreamchasers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherBurgess, Owner at The Moody Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for travelling so far to visit us. we are all delighted that you enjoyed the Moody Cow and hope we will see you again very soon.

Thank you again and very best wishes
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moody Cow also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Moody Cow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing